We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarset Holiday Cottages
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

What a lovely cottage!
We stayed at the byres, it was clean, spacious and very well equipped. A crib and baby bath were supplied for our newborn.
We arrived to fund homemade buns and a bottle of champagne as we were newly weds which was so thoughtful.
Can't wait to come back.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent cottage. Bottle of bubbly for the newlyweds and cup cakes for us all, delicious! Cottage was of a very high standard, on suites for all three bedrooms, which were of a good size, kitchen had all you would need, nicely finished. Choice of two seating areas. At night the stars were fabulous. We would stay here again without a doubt. A big thank you to the owners.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Booked the stable for Christmas.Last time we stayed it was in the farmhouse which is knowhome for Nigel and Rachael and their young family.Everything you could wish for when self catering in winter Warm cosy and homely and a gorgeous location

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank primlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Had a lovely half term week here, this delightful cottage is so homely clean and comfortable, well equipped with everything needed for your stay and the homemade cakes that are there for your arrival are delicious. The cottage is situated between Bellingham and Keilder which makes it the perfect location for touring the area. Bellingham has everything you need, there's a butchers, bakers, veg shop and a co-op. Keilder is stunning we visited the Falconry Centre at Leaplish and the Dark Skies Observatory (booking essential). Further afield you have Hadrien's Wall, Cragside and we had a day up at Dunstanburgh. There is so much to do in this area a week wasn't enough!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We spent a fantastic week staying at the Byres on Knoppingholme farm. Right from the freshly baked chocolate cake on the dining room table, alongside the handwritten welcome note, Nigel, Rachel and both of their Mums went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Half an hour after we arrived, Nigel popped over to make sure we were settling in, quickly followed by his Mum, who provided us with a parking permit for Kielder forest car park and an invitation to visit the ruins of Tarset castle just behind her farm and just a few hundred yards from Knoppingholme.

The cottage itself is beautifully furnished throughout and provides everything you need for a relaxing break in the heart of Northumberland. It’s close to Kielder reservoir, forest and observatory and the Roman archaeological sites of Vindolanda, Housteads and Hadrian’s Wall. A trip to the coast to visit the Farne Islands and Bamburgh castle is easily doable in a day. You will likely find that a week isn’t long enough as there is so much to see in this lovely area.

Tarset cottage and the Byres provide the perfect base for exploring the beautiful Northumberland countryside.

We stopped and picked up some groceries at Hexham on the journey up. This proved to be a good strategy. The cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, so we were able to cook for ourselves on most evenings. If you don’t want to cook, the farm is just a few miles’ drive from the wonderful Pheasant Inn with its impressive menu, real ales and super friendly staff. For essentials, the nearest Co-Op, bakery and takeaways are in Bellingham.

We were blessed with beautiful weather for the entire week, which allowed us to explore the mountain biking trails at Kielder and Glentress, just across the Scottish border. Having the luxury of the slipper bath and wonderfully comfy bed in the master bedroom allowed us to ease our aching muscles and get some much-needed rest.

The way that the bedrooms are separated by the central living area makes the Byres ideal for sharing with friends, or older children, and the snug upstairs would provide a perfect TV room for teenagers while the adults relax downstairs.

The mobile phone signal is none existent, but the WiFi in the Byres was strong enough to allow us to keep up with family and friends, look up weather forecasts for the following day and even hire a good film to curl up and watch to round off the day.

The huge arched windows treat you to some spectacular sunsets over Birks Moor and also heat up the cottage on sunny days, while the picnic table on the front terrace is a lovely touch for enjoying al fresco breakfasts or sundowners.

We would highly recommend the Byres to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, with a touch of luxury, in a convenient and beautiful location and run by the friendliest people.

Room Tip: Master bedroom is quiet and perfect for relaxing. The other ensuite downstairs bedroom faces the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
12.3 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
0.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
7.8 km away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,108 reviews
7.6 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.9 km away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarset Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarset Holiday Cottages

Address: Knoppingsholme Farm | Tarset, Hexham NE48 1JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful self catering holiday cottage situated in the Northumberland International Dark Sky Reserve. Pets and children welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarset Holiday Cottages Hexham, Northumberland, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing