We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
29
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely cottage on arrival nigel amenities stable
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent cottage. Bottle of bubbly for the newlyweds and cup cakes for us all, delicious! Cottage was of a very high standard, on suites for all three bedrooms, which were of a good size, kitchen had all you would need, nicely finished. Choice of two seating areas. At night the stars were fabulous. We would stay here again without a doubt. A big thank you to the owners.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Booked the stable for Christmas.Last time we stayed it was in the farmhouse which is knowhome for Nigel and Rachael and their young family.Everything you could wish for when self catering in winter Warm cosy and homely and a gorgeous location

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Had a lovely half term week here, this delightful cottage is so homely clean and comfortable, well equipped with everything needed for your stay and the homemade cakes that are there for your arrival are delicious. The cottage is situated between Bellingham and Keilder which makes it the perfect location for touring the area. Bellingham has everything you need, there's a butchers, bakers, veg shop and a co-op. Keilder is stunning we visited the Falconry Centre at Leaplish and the Dark Skies Observatory (booking essential). Further afield you have Hadrien's Wall, Cragside and we had a day up at Dunstanburgh. There is so much to do in this area a week wasn't enough!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We spent a fantastic week staying at the Byres on Knoppingholme farm. Right from the freshly baked chocolate cake on the dining room table, alongside the handwritten welcome note, Nigel, Rachel and both of their Mums went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Half an hour after we arrived, Nigel popped over to make sure we were settling in, quickly followed by his Mum, who provided us with a parking permit for Kielder forest car park and an invitation to visit the ruins of Tarset castle just behind her farm and just a few hundred yards from Knoppingholme.

The cottage itself is beautifully furnished throughout and provides everything you need for a relaxing break in the heart of Northumberland. It’s close to Kielder reservoir, forest and observatory and the Roman archaeological sites of Vindolanda, Housteads and Hadrian’s Wall. A trip to the coast to visit the Farne Islands and Bamburgh castle is easily doable in a day. You will likely find that a week isn’t long enough as there is so much to see in this lovely area.

Tarset cottage and the Byres provide the perfect base for exploring the beautiful Northumberland countryside.

We stopped and picked up some groceries at Hexham on the journey up. This proved to be a good strategy. The cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, so we were able to cook for ourselves on most evenings. If you don’t want to cook, the farm is just a few miles’ drive from the wonderful Pheasant Inn with its impressive menu, real ales and super friendly staff. For essentials, the nearest Co-Op, bakery and takeaways are in Bellingham.

We were blessed with beautiful weather for the entire week, which allowed us to explore the mountain biking trails at Kielder and Glentress, just across the Scottish border. Having the luxury of the slipper bath and wonderfully comfy bed in the master bedroom allowed us to ease our aching muscles and get some much-needed rest.

The way that the bedrooms are separated by the central living area makes the Byres ideal for sharing with friends, or older children, and the snug upstairs would provide a perfect TV room for teenagers while the adults relax downstairs.

The mobile phone signal is none existent, but the WiFi in the Byres was strong enough to allow us to keep up with family and friends, look up weather forecasts for the following day and even hire a good film to curl up and watch to round off the day.

The huge arched windows treat you to some spectacular sunsets over Birks Moor and also heat up the cottage on sunny days, while the picnic table on the front terrace is a lovely touch for enjoying al fresco breakfasts or sundowners.

We would highly recommend the Byres to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, with a touch of luxury, in a convenient and beautiful location and run by the friendliest people.

Room Tip: Master bedroom is quiet and perfect for relaxing. The other ensuite downstairs bedroom faces the front, benefiting from all day sun.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

what a peaceful place to stay ,the owners are such nice people,on getting to knoppingham cottage,we where welcomed with a tin of choclate cupcakes,which our granchildren loved,we had a great time nice and peaceful,if your looking for peace this is the place for you ,we would recomand it to anyone,thanks rachael and nigel for a lovely stay,will be back.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank agnesbob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews