We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax for star gazers, history lovers and outdoor pursuits enthusiasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarset Holiday Cottages
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We spent a fantastic week staying at the Byres on Knoppingholme farm. Right from the freshly baked chocolate cake on the dining room table, alongside the handwritten welcome note, Nigel, Rachel and both of their Mums went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Half an hour after we arrived, Nigel popped over to make sure we were settling in, quickly followed by his Mum, who provided us with a parking permit for Kielder forest car park and an invitation to visit the ruins of Tarset castle just behind her farm and just a few hundred yards from Knoppingholme.

The cottage itself is beautifully furnished throughout and provides everything you need for a relaxing break in the heart of Northumberland. It’s close to Kielder reservoir, forest and observatory and the Roman archaeological sites of Vindolanda, Housteads and Hadrian’s Wall. A trip to the coast to visit the Farne Islands and Bamburgh castle is easily doable in a day. You will likely find that a week isn’t long enough as there is so much to see in this lovely area.

Tarset cottage and the Byres provide the perfect base for exploring the beautiful Northumberland countryside.

We stopped and picked up some groceries at Hexham on the journey up. This proved to be a good strategy. The cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, so we were able to cook for ourselves on most evenings. If you don’t want to cook, the farm is just a few miles’ drive from the wonderful Pheasant Inn with its impressive menu, real ales and super friendly staff. For essentials, the nearest Co-Op, bakery and takeaways are in Bellingham.

We were blessed with beautiful weather for the entire week, which allowed us to explore the mountain biking trails at Kielder and Glentress, just across the Scottish border. Having the luxury of the slipper bath and wonderfully comfy bed in the master bedroom allowed us to ease our aching muscles and get some much-needed rest.

The way that the bedrooms are separated by the central living area makes the Byres ideal for sharing with friends, or older children, and the snug upstairs would provide a perfect TV room for teenagers while the adults relax downstairs.

The mobile phone signal is none existent, but the WiFi in the Byres was strong enough to allow us to keep up with family and friends, look up weather forecasts for the following day and even hire a good film to curl up and watch to round off the day.

The huge arched windows treat you to some spectacular sunsets over Birks Moor and also heat up the cottage on sunny days, while the picnic table on the front terrace is a lovely touch for enjoying al fresco breakfasts or sundowners.

We would highly recommend the Byres to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, with a touch of luxury, in a convenient and beautiful location and run by the friendliest people.

Room Tip: Master bedroom is quiet and perfect for relaxing. The other ensuite downstairs bedroom faces the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2015

what a peaceful place to stay ,the owners are such nice people,on getting to knoppingham cottage,we where welcomed with a tin of choclate cupcakes,which our granchildren loved,we had a great time nice and peaceful,if your looking for peace this is the place for you ,we would recomand it to anyone,thanks rachael and nigel for a lovely stay,will be back.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank agnesbob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We have just stayed in The Stable for the week and neither of us wanted to ever leave. It is the perfect home away from home, with all the amenities you could wish for, in a beautifully picturesque setting. It's a great location for getting to Kielder, Hexham and other local towns but it's also far away enough from everywhere to get that 'middle of nowhere' feeling. There is no mobile phone signal and the wifi is patchy so it wouldn't be good if you need to stay in touch with people on a daily basis but that worked to our advantage as we had an excuse not to be reachable by colleagues. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank sophie_mcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed last year with my son we had the best time lovely cottage, great views, lovely walks, easy reach of Keilder and lots of activities in the area.
So much so we are booked for the same school holiday week as last year

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful cottage with our two young children and our dog.
On arrival we were greeted by a treat for the dog and some lovely home baked buns!
The owners had been fantastic and there was a high chair , two stair gates and a cot for our baby.
Everything about this place was pleasing - we could not fault anything ( and I am very particular!)
The owners were attentive to any needs and most helpful.
We stayed in the stable but were lucky enough to view the interior of the farmhouse next door which was also top class .
I would recommend this accommodation without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjws1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
12.3 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
0.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
722 reviews
7.8 km away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,111 reviews
7.6 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.9 km away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarset Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarset Holiday Cottages

Address: Knoppingsholme Farm | Tarset, Hexham NE48 1JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful self catering holiday cottage situated in the Northumberland International Dark Sky Reserve. Pets and children welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarset Holiday Cottages Hexham, Northumberland, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing