We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarset Holiday Cottages
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The holiday cottages at Tarset are absolutely wonderful.

Raechel and Nigel have done a wonderful job, to be welcomed with cake and tea is just what you need after a long drive.

Simply wonderful

Room Tip: There is little traffic so a wonderful nights sleep in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samlad31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

To sum our experience up: We had the perfect holidays! The accommodation is very nicely and luxurious furnitured and provides - as already mentioned by a review earlier - everything you would want and need during your time there. To watch the animals and explore the area provides so much joy and relaxation that by the end of our stay we felt like we had been on holidays for ages. The host family makes you feel very welcome and is more than happy to provide great recommendations on the area and restaurants etc. We recommend to everyone to take the opportunity and experience this great place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We went and stayed in the farm house with my husband and we had amazing time. The location is pitoresque set in a beutiful countryside postcard setting. The interior is very luxurious and offers everything for a week's break in the countryside. The kitchen has a cosy tradional aga, so i was able to cook for my husband all the time. It must be great for families with children! The dining room and sitting room both have a romantic wood burning stoves which really adds to the atmosphere of this stunning house. This is one of the best cottages I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The farm offers more space for larger parties than the stable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burita001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked late, only 3 weeks before we went and got the Stables. We have a holiday in England nearly every year and our kids are now in there late teens. I did worry that for the price that we might be dissapointed because personaly I am hard to please but I couldnt find anything wrong. It is set in beutiful countryside with fantastic veiws. The house was very clean, beautifully renovated, lovely big rooms, nice kitchen with everything you could want. Ensuite bathrooms to both bedrooms and all the lovely little touches like all the provisions you think you would have to provide yourself like coffee, tea and sugar, plus a lovely homemade sponge cake. Lovely to live on a working farm with animals everywhere to see. There is a road in front of the house but it isnt very busy, we never saw any logging lorries and its very quiet at night and indoors you cant hear anything. We were made so welcome by some very freindly owners. Took my computer and mobile phone, reception poor which was great, uncontactable and just relaxed. We played scrabble ( one of the many things supplied for you) which I havent done for years and realy enjoyed it. Local villages lovely, restaurants and pubs realy nice. Masses of things to see and to to the point that we couldnt see it all in a week and will be back next year. There was nothing to fault.

Room Tip: House has wooden floors throughout which I liked but should of remembered my slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foads04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in the Stables for a week as 2 couples , it was ideal with 2 bedrooms both with en suites. We were made to feel very welcome by the Moore family.
We have never been to the area before & it was stunningly beautiful
Hopefully we will find a slot & return to the Stables to see & enjoy more of the area.
Rachel's cake was divine & the tarset Marmalade truly the best I have ever sampled.

Trevor & Dawn , Pete & Marion , Sufolk

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevorcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
12.3 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
0.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
7.8 km away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,108 reviews
7.6 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.9 km away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarset Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarset Holiday Cottages

Address: Knoppingsholme Farm | Tarset, Hexham NE48 1JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful self catering holiday cottage situated in the Northumberland International Dark Sky Reserve. Pets and children welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarset Holiday Cottages Hexham, Northumberland, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing