We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Anchor(Haydon Bridge)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Newbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
29
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely cottagewelcome packon arrivalnigelstableamenities
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

To sum our experience up: We had the perfect holidays! The accommodation is very nicely and luxurious furnitured and provides - as already mentioned by a review earlier - everything you would want and need during your time there. To watch the animals and explore the area provides so much joy and relaxation that by the end of our stay we felt like we had been on holidays for ages. The host family makes you feel very welcome and is more than happy to provide great recommendations on the area and restaurants etc. We recommend to everyone to take the opportunity and experience this great place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We went and stayed in the farm house with my husband and we had amazing time. The location is pitoresque set in a beutiful countryside postcard setting. The interior is very luxurious and offers everything for a week's break in the countryside. The kitchen has a cosy tradional aga, so i was able to cook for my husband all the time. It must be great for families with children! The dining room and sitting room both have a romantic wood burning stoves which really adds to the atmosphere of this stunning house. This is one of the best cottages I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The farm offers more space for larger parties than the stable.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burita001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked late, only 3 weeks before we went and got the Stables. We have a holiday in England nearly every year and our kids are now in there late teens. I did worry that for the price that we might be dissapointed because personaly I am hard to please but I couldnt find anything wrong. It is set in beutiful countryside with fantastic veiws. The house was very clean, beautifully renovated, lovely big rooms, nice kitchen with everything you could want. Ensuite bathrooms to both bedrooms and all the lovely little touches like all the provisions you think you would have to provide yourself like coffee, tea and sugar, plus a lovely homemade sponge cake. Lovely to live on a working farm with animals everywhere to see. There is a road in front of the house but it isnt very busy, we never saw any logging lorries and its very quiet at night and indoors you cant hear anything. We were made so welcome by some very freindly owners. Took my computer and mobile phone, reception poor which was great, uncontactable and just relaxed. We played scrabble ( one of the many things supplied for you) which I havent done for years and realy enjoyed it. Local villages lovely, restaurants and pubs realy nice. Masses of things to see and to to the point that we couldnt see it all in a week and will be back next year. There was nothing to fault.

Room Tip: House has wooden floors throughout which I liked but should of remembered my slippers.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foads04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in the Stables for a week as 2 couples , it was ideal with 2 bedrooms both with en suites. We were made to feel very welcome by the Moore family.
We have never been to the area before & it was stunningly beautiful
Hopefully we will find a slot & return to the Stables to see & enjoy more of the area.
Rachel's cake was divine & the tarset Marmalade truly the best I have ever sampled.

Trevor & Dawn , Pete & Marion , Sufolk

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevorcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Comfortably rustic but yet with all modern amenities. Nice layout with beautiful wood burner in the lounge. Nice to have two bathrooms. Well equiped kitchen.
No mobile signals had to travel several miles to get one!!
No internet connection either so we felt we were cut off! Couldnt book tables in restaurants on the spur of the moment or check out facitities at attractions due to no internet connection.

Room Tip: Close windows if in the front bedroom. The timber waggons thunder down the road from 6am onwards.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Moore01, Owner at Tarset Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, we value all feedback from guests as it helps us to continually improve the service we offer.
We are sorry that there were a couple of things that you were not happy with during your recent stay. With regards to mobile phone reception, we appreciate that there are certain networks which do not get very good reception in the area, this unfortunately is out of our control. There have been improvements of late as now both Orange and T Mobile work within a close proximity of the cottages.
We are always happy for guests to give family our landline numbers so that we can take any urgent messages or if need-be allow guest to use our phone to make reservations etc, this is something we will look at when we review our welcome pack information to make sure it is more clear.
Re Wi-fi - although we do not provide wi-fi for our guests there are a few places nearby where wi-fi is available (for free), going forward maybe this is something we should emphasise more to our guests as we realise that people can sometimes feel a little isolated.
Finally, with regards to the timber wagons, there are busier and quieter times of year for the timber harvesting, as we are so close to Kielder Forest this is unavoidable. However, both properties are fully double glazed in an attempt to reduce any noise to a minimum.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews