We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words Failed US”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarset Holiday Cottages
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked late, only 3 weeks before we went and got the Stables. We have a holiday in England nearly every year and our kids are now in there late teens. I did worry that for the price that we might be dissapointed because personaly I am hard to please but I couldnt find anything wrong. It is set in beutiful countryside with fantastic veiws. The house was very clean, beautifully renovated, lovely big rooms, nice kitchen with everything you could want. Ensuite bathrooms to both bedrooms and all the lovely little touches like all the provisions you think you would have to provide yourself like coffee, tea and sugar, plus a lovely homemade sponge cake. Lovely to live on a working farm with animals everywhere to see. There is a road in front of the house but it isnt very busy, we never saw any logging lorries and its very quiet at night and indoors you cant hear anything. We were made so welcome by some very freindly owners. Took my computer and mobile phone, reception poor which was great, uncontactable and just relaxed. We played scrabble ( one of the many things supplied for you) which I havent done for years and realy enjoyed it. Local villages lovely, restaurants and pubs realy nice. Masses of things to see and to to the point that we couldnt see it all in a week and will be back next year. There was nothing to fault.

Room Tip: House has wooden floors throughout which I liked but should of remembered my slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foads04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in the Stables for a week as 2 couples , it was ideal with 2 bedrooms both with en suites. We were made to feel very welcome by the Moore family.
We have never been to the area before & it was stunningly beautiful
Hopefully we will find a slot & return to the Stables to see & enjoy more of the area.
Rachel's cake was divine & the tarset Marmalade truly the best I have ever sampled.

Trevor & Dawn , Pete & Marion , Sufolk

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevorcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Comfortably rustic but yet with all modern amenities. Nice layout with beautiful wood burner in the lounge. Nice to have two bathrooms. Well equiped kitchen.
No mobile signals had to travel several miles to get one!!
No internet connection either so we felt we were cut off! Couldnt book tables in restaurants on the spur of the moment or check out facitities at attractions due to no internet connection.

Room Tip: Close windows if in the front bedroom. The timber waggons thunder down the road from 6am onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Moore01, Owner at Tarset Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, we value all feedback from guests as it helps us to continually improve the service we offer.
We are sorry that there were a couple of things that you were not happy with during your recent stay. With regards to mobile phone reception, we appreciate that there are certain networks which do not get very good reception in the area, this unfortunately is out of our control. There have been improvements of late as now both Orange and T Mobile work within a close proximity of the cottages.
We are always happy for guests to give family our landline numbers so that we can take any urgent messages or if need-be allow guest to use our phone to make reservations etc, this is something we will look at when we review our welcome pack information to make sure it is more clear.
Re Wi-fi - although we do not provide wi-fi for our guests there are a few places nearby where wi-fi is available (for free), going forward maybe this is something we should emphasise more to our guests as we realise that people can sometimes feel a little isolated.
Finally, with regards to the timber wagons, there are busier and quieter times of year for the timber harvesting, as we are so close to Kielder Forest this is unavoidable. However, both properties are fully double glazed in an attempt to reduce any noise to a minimum.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It's only fair to say that one of the reasons it was pretty near perfect was that it was so close to two sections of the North Tyne we wanted to fish (Tarset and Carriteth Beats) - so we could walk down each day. That alone would be enough reason for us to come back. Add to that the lovely hush of the countryside, the mewing of buzzards, the friendly proprietors (yummy home-made cake and marmalade were lovely!) and the all-important wood-burning stove for drying out at the end of each day and you have a wonderful place indeed. The property was newly refurbished and so was all lovely and clean and comfortable too. Especially since we were there in summer and fished every day we were more than happy with the all-wood floors, though I imagine in winter a couple of fluffy rugs might be welcome. If the family plans to develop more of the buildings walkers and fishermen would probably value a drying room ... maybe even a hot tub! But basically - we loved it and will almost certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were looking for somewhere in the country that could serve as a getaway from the city but also a base to see Northumberland and surrounding areas including the Farne Islands. The Tarsett Holiday Cottages are ideal for this. Very clean and well appointed yet you are immersed in the countryside. Plenty to do and see. The local pubs and restaurants are great places to dine e.g. The Pheasant, Riverside and Battlesteads.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
12.3 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,182 reviews
0.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
7.8 km away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,108 reviews
7.6 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.9 km away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarset Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarset Holiday Cottages

Address: Knoppingsholme Farm | Tarset, Hexham NE48 1JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful self catering holiday cottage situated in the Northumberland International Dark Sky Reserve. Pets and children welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarset Holiday Cottages Hexham, Northumberland, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing