We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
30
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely cottage welcome pack on arrival stable amenities
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in the Stables for a week as 2 couples , it was ideal with 2 bedrooms both with en suites. We were made to feel very welcome by the Moore family.
We have never been to the area before & it was stunningly beautiful
Hopefully we will find a slot & return to the Stables to see & enjoy more of the area.
Rachel's cake was divine & the tarset Marmalade truly the best I have ever sampled.

Trevor & Dawn , Pete & Marion , Sufolk

Date of stay: June 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trevorcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Comfortably rustic but yet with all modern amenities. Nice layout with beautiful wood burner in the lounge. Nice to have two bathrooms. Well equiped kitchen.
No mobile signals had to travel several miles to get one!!
No internet connection either so we felt we were cut off! Couldnt book tables in restaurants on the spur of the moment or check out facitities at attractions due to no internet connection.

Room tip: Close windows if in the front bedroom. The timber waggons thunder down the road from 6am onwards.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Moore01, Owner at Tarset Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, we value all feedback from guests as it helps us to continually improve the service we offer.
We are sorry that there were a couple of things that you were not happy with during your recent stay. With regards to mobile phone reception, we appreciate that there are certain networks which do not get very good reception in the area, this unfortunately is out of our control. There have been improvements of late as now both Orange and T Mobile work within a close proximity of the cottages.
We are always happy for guests to give family our landline numbers so that we can take any urgent messages or if need-be allow guest to use our phone to make reservations etc, this is something we will look at when we review our welcome pack information to make sure it is more clear.
Re Wi-fi - although we do not provide wi-fi for our guests there are a few places nearby where wi-fi is available (for free), going forward maybe this is something we should emphasise more to our guests as we realise that people can sometimes feel a little isolated.
Finally, with regards to the timber wagons, there are busier and quieter times of year for the timber harvesting, as we are so close to Kielder Forest this is unavoidable. However, both properties are fully double glazed in an attempt to reduce any noise to a minimum.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It's only fair to say that one of the reasons it was pretty near perfect was that it was so close to two sections of the North Tyne we wanted to fish (Tarset and Carriteth Beats) - so we could walk down each day. That alone would be enough reason for us to come back. Add to that the lovely hush of the countryside, the mewing of buzzards, the friendly proprietors (yummy home-made cake and marmalade were lovely!) and the all-important wood-burning stove for drying out at the end of each day and you have a wonderful place indeed. The property was newly refurbished and so was all lovely and clean and comfortable too. Especially since we were there in summer and fished every day we were more than happy with the all-wood floors, though I imagine in winter a couple of fluffy rugs might be welcome. If the family plans to develop more of the buildings walkers and fishermen would probably value a drying room ... maybe even a hot tub! But basically - we loved it and will almost certainly be back!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were looking for somewhere in the country that could serve as a getaway from the city but also a base to see Northumberland and surrounding areas including the Farne Islands. The Tarsett Holiday Cottages are ideal for this. Very clean and well appointed yet you are immersed in the countryside. Plenty to do and see. The local pubs and restaurants are great places to dine e.g. The Pheasant, Riverside and Battlesteads.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed for a week and wished it could have been longer. So many places to see! The accommodation, was newly refurbished and a lovely job has been done. It is difficult to imagine this place was a stable! A warm welcome was received from a very accommodating family. Lots of welcoming country pubs to visit with excellent food and local ales.

Date of stay: June 2011
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank janobish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews