We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Stalida Greek Taverna
Ranked #4 of 122 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A family-run Greek taverna offering moussaka, stifado and other favourites as well as our own specials, or dine traditionally Greek with mezes to share. Restaurant with first floor and ground floor seating. Children very welcome with high chairs, changing table and colouring provided. Party packages available. Greek beers, wine, ouzo and raki plus sparkly cocktails, baklava, and more...
Restaurant details
Description: A family-run Greek taverna offering moussaka, stifado and other favourites as well as our own specials, or dine traditionally Greek with mezes to share. Restaurant with first floor and ground floor seating. Children very welcome with high chairs, changing table and colouring provided. Party packages available. Greek beers, wine, ouzo and raki plus sparkly cocktails, baklava, and more...
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch we chose dishes from the special lunch menu - pork gyros, chicken gyros and chicken souvlaki. The dishes all came with salad, chips and a dip, large portions, the pork was over cooked and I think the chicken was frozen rather than fresh but overall for the price no complaints and would definitely return.

Thank Leeanne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selena A, Owner at Stalida Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a nice review. I think you visited on the first day of reopening after the holidays and we had a few events occur that morning that affected our usual high quality so we apologise for any disappointment, and look forward to providing you with a better experience on your next visit! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

As a vegetarian it is often difficult to find somewhere that suits all. My friend found this gem of a restaurant which has a great vegetarian options. The waiter was very attentive and was able to make great recommendations. Both the food and service was excellent and will definitely visit again when up north.

Thank traceyburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We had travelled to Hexham for the race meeting on 14th October, and having booked into our B&B we were eager to try out this restaurant, after reading all the good reviews on this site.
We were not disappointed. Even by 6.30 in the evening the atmosphere was good. Most tables occupied.
We ordered a meze of four dishes, three of which we’d never tried before, all were delicious.
We had a bottle of Greek wine to accompany the meal, which also was lovely.
The bill was very reasonable, and we would not hesitate to come back here next time we’re in the area.

Thank TravellingLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selena A, Owner at Stalida Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thanks for the great review, we're really glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again next time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We loved this family run restaurant. Taken by local friends on Hexham Spook Night, it was friendly, the service was excellent and the owners and staff attentive. The food was great - lots to choose from, tasty (the dolmades were really good) and the portions just right. The kids loved the Greek kids menu, with sensibly sized portions, and the amazing desserts (sadly I didn’t get to try the Toblerone cheesecake, it went too quickly). We drank a great house white, and the meal was finished with shots on the house - ouzo or raki for those of us who were on the booze, and cute rainbow juice shots for those who weren’t. Lovely little outfit which I hope we’ll return to the next time we’re in the area.

Thank ceejay48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selena A, Owner at Stalida Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a detailed and positive review. Sorry about missing out on the Toblerone cheesecake, it's very popular! :) We're happy you all enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again next time you're in Hexham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Food was amazing! They have always catered to our gluten free needs and have now identified in the menus all the gluten free options which is almost everything! The staff are always helpful and friendly and the prices are good!

1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selena A, Owner at Stalida Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! :) Looking forward to seeing you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stalida Greek Taverna also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Stalida Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing