We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park View Guest House
Ranked #172 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awfull”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at Park View for 1 night ,very small ensuite and very narrow stairs , they have no idea how to run a Guest House one guest asked for Earl Grey tea the young man hardly understood as to what the guest meant,he was also asked for yoghurt the answer was no, we asked for a bacon sandwich which was plonked on the plate not even cut ,we felt that our stay there was a complete waste of money and sure wont be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cazz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    42
    33
    10
    21
See reviews for
18
57
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Guest House for one night. The room was small, but exceptionally clean and tidy, as was the compact ensuite shower room. The bed was clean and comfortable and breakfast was cooked to perfection! The owners of Park View also own an Indian Restaurant which can deliver food to the guest house, but we chose to visit the restaurant and, although basic looking, served a delicious meal and a reasonable bottle of house red wine. Again the service was faultless and the staff very helpful and friendly. We would stay at the Park View again should we revisit the area.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the house and being on the top floor helped to reduce the traffic noise du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I booked the Park view for a weekend break for my husband and I. Having stayed in York many times at different hotels, I thought we would try a B&B this time.
We arrived early as to make the most of the time we had there, and we were told it wasn't a problem for us to park and the small parking area to the side of the building. The manager was very apologetic that our room was'nt ready (but that was because WE were early so it wasn't an issue at all).
Later that day we checked in and we were given a room on the 3 rd floor. Small neat and compact is the way I would describe it, also clean, functional and with a nice view of the park facing us.
Breakfast was very nice with a choice of full English, cereals etc......and as much toast as you want !!!
I would say it was about a 10 -15 minute walk to The Minster (depending on how fast you walk) ......
All in all it was perfect for what we needed, and the staff were more than helpful, polite and accomodating.
I would recommend this B&B, and thought it was fine for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelainelottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Easter at park view with my wifes family was a very pleasurable experience we was all made welcome and greeted by Halim the manager who was most helpfull recomending local indian cuisine offering 20% discount for residents and v.i.ps with funny hair cuts. Good breakfasts cooked by his own hands. Over all the rooms are very clean but they are not spacious. Only 10 min walk to the minster. So on behalf of the family thank you halim for being most helpfull. Rgds Steve.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Nice and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The top sheet on one of the beds was very grubby and it was obvious that it hadn't been changed. It spoilt would have been a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raj a, Owner at Park View Guest House, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
the bedding was all new and clean ther was just a wine stain mark wich we was not aware of at the time but now have replaced this bedding. all our bedding is washed on departure everyday by circle cleaners we spend alot of money to keep our bedding cleaned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 km away
Burton Villa Guest House
2.3 km away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#73 of 193 in York
27 reviews
0.4 km away
Dovecote House
Dovecote House
#54 of 193 in York
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 193 in York
622 reviews
2.1 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
1,390 reviews
1.2 km away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#3 of 193 in York
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Property: Park View Guest House
Address: 22 Haxby Road, York YO31 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing