We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Thai restaurant for York”
Review of Khao San Rd

Khao San Rd
Ranked #30 of 887 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
York, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another good Thai restaurant for York”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It was our wedding anniversary this month and we decided to try this Thai restaurant which we had heard good things about. We were not disappointed and will be returning.

The food was very tasty and the service efficient. My wife enjoyed her starter, a spicy tom yum soup. My main, a duck green curry, was excellent with the meat having been cooked perfectly. The restaurant was full.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iasonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    189
    44
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Imagine a dodgy Chinese take away trying to do Thai food.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We never put a negative review up but felt we needed to so people weren't dissapointed when they ate here. The starters were both overcooked and the side salad was brown. One starter was described as something other than prawn and chicken sesame toast which it was! The chicken satay had been deep fried and was chewy. The Tom yum soup tasted like tomatoe purée. Then when the sirloin steak came out it tasted off and like it had been boiled and then microwaved so we didn't eat it. The fish Panang was ok but the fish had been deep fried and then the sauce pored over. The service wasn't great with staff not really paying attention to our feedback, infact they seemed like they couldn'tcare less. definitely not going back again, infact I'm simply amazed about the positivity of the other reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We dined here mid week of half term, there were 5 of us and we booked a table an hour before. We were glad we did as the place was packed with a constant stream of people asking for tables. It was fantastic. The food was excellent and authentic. The service great, and great with the children and the place was bustling and had a great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The weekend lunch menu is a bargain at £10 for two courses. The servers were attentive and polite, the food was great with a good selection available (each dish had a choice of different meats and a vegetarian option). I would definitely recommend for a luxury lunch!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Thai food at it's best”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great food. Lovely restaurant, if the staff could of been a little attentive then it would of been 5* without a doubt. You must book though as you don't want to miss out on this great restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank L_r_manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khao San Rd also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Khao San Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing