We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
1,303
428
98
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,303
428
98
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel peel street car park complimentary chocolate mini fridge rainfall shower sky tv fresh milk chocolate bar nespresso machine robes and slippers superior room city centre huge bed minute walk bars and restaurants would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Paid a lot for our stay in York and expected a top quality hotel from the previous reviews, would say this hotel was a good 3 star rather than a 4. Upon arrival we found a ripped towel in our bathroom and also had an opened bottle of sparkling water in our fridge, which was meant to be complimentary but had clearly not been replaced from the previous guest. We didn’t think this was much of an issue so didn’t say anything immediately as the room was lovely and clean. But the next day my boyfriend woke up and made himself a cup of tea to find the milk was sour in the fridge, which must have also not been replaced from the last guest. Also, the air conditioning in the room was either very poor or not working so on the first night it was uncomfortable as it was so hot, it was also incredibly noisy with the window open as a constant flow of drunk people walked to and from the halls behind. The next day we asked reception what they could do they did help and gave us a fan which made the room bearable to sleep in. Such a shame for the amount we paid especially as breakfast wasn’t included. The main selling point by far about this hotel is the location, other than that I would not recommend it for the price. The rooms are also small for the price you pay but the decor is modern and quirky.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beverly-Logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Receptionist at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Beverly-Logan,

I apologise that your stay did not fulfill your expectations. We are sorry to hear that the complimentary amenities in our fridge were not correctly replenished and your Air Conditioning was not working to your satisfaction. We understand this must have been quite disappointing for you and that you felt you did not get your money's worth.

If you would like to email our Front Office Manager Leanne Cooke, who is also in charge of Guest Relations, I'm sure she will be more than happy to help further discuss any complaints that you may have with regards to your stay. You can contact her at: grm@inyoryk.co.uk. I hope this helps!

Kind Regards,
Meg
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely stay with helpful and friendly staff! Our room was very comfortable and up to date. The location is perfect! We greatly appreciated the short walk to all of the key sites and the many really nice restaurants/cafes in the neighborhood.

Special thanks to Natalie on staff who went ‘above and beyond’ by picking up something I had left down the street and express mailing it to me. Thank you, thank you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deborah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Reception at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Deborah M,

Thank you for your lovely review :)

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was perfect.

It was an absolute pleasure to help get your things mailed to you, we do our best to go above and beyond for our guests.

We hope to see you here again!

Kind regards
Natalie


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for an event at The Barbican- great location for this and indeed the whole city. The hotel is very very good- modern, quiet, comfortable with staff who are friendly and helpful. Rooms are great with excellent bathrooms and great beds.
As you can see- can't compliment this place enough- we will definitely be back for another cheeky night or two!

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers are at the back so may be quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OscarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Receptionist at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello OscarYorkshire

Thank you for your lovely review and feedback regarding the great rooms and friendly staff, this is what we aim to achieve.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't compliment it enough!

We look forward to having you back with us for a cheeky night. ;)

Kind regards
Natalie
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely hotel within walking distance to the centre of York. Very friendly, helpful staff on reception, bar area and dining room. The rooms were immaculately clean and well presented. The bed was absolutely huge and was extremely comfortable. The hotel has a modern, funky feel to it and was very welcoming. The breakfast was superb . Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SaraC201766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Receptionist at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Sara,

Thank you for this fab review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, in particular, your room size and the hotel decor.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that the location was handy for you. We do hope you will return - we would love to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Best Wishes,
Meg
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel about a week before our stay and paid approx £450 for 2 night weekend stay (not including breakfast which was an extra £16pp). We arrived at the hotel and the location was great, very central however there was no room in the hotel carpark so we had to park in a pay and display which cost us an extra £18 for the duration.
Once we checked in we made our way to our room (standard room) on the 3rd floor where we found that out key did not work so I had to leave my partner with all the bags and return to reception. The lovely receptionist explained there had been an issue with the battery and she would let us in the room and get something sorted for us for later with a key that worked. We entered the room which was lovely clean and absolutely fine, unfortunately it didn’t have a bath which my partner was not aware of this when making the booking, you have to book a premier room to get a bath, this was a disappointment after the amount we spent I wouldn’t have minded a bath.
After we had unpacked we walked out of the room to go out and realised we had forgotten our umbrella but couldn’t get back in the room because of the key issue, we then when down to reception however the issue had still not been rectified so we agreed to wait and have a drink in the bar while something was sorted. After nearly an hour my partner went to reception and asked again and explained we need to get in the room to get the umbrella they then said they would come up and let us in but still couldn’t give us a key and would basically have to let us in our room every time we wanted to get in , this was not acceptable so 20 minutes because we had our meal booked I asked if we could move rooms!
A lovely receptionist then agreed to move us rooms and asked for us to pack our things up. We packed everything up again and left everything on the bed and quickly left for the meal we had booked. When we returned later in the evening we finally got keys for a room that worked and unpacked once again at around midnight. It was all very annoying and should have been sorted out straight away as they knew there had been an issue with the lock on the door when we had first said the key didn’t work.
Other than this the rest of the stay was fine but first impressions always ruin the rest of the experience.
The girl who finally sorted out the room for us was great and by far the best member of staff there I wish I could remember her name!
Sadly there was no offer of a discount due to the huge inconvenience of our first nights stay.
Positives are it is clean, beds are very very comfortable, great location and the decor in room looks great.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SAL2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoYork, Receptionist at Hotel Indigo York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

We apologise that your stay did not fulfill your expectations. We are so sorry to hear about the issues regarding your key and that you could not access your room for a long time. We were experiencing some technological issues with the door keys on this day, and our team did try their best to get this solved, but we are sorry that this was not done as quick as it should of been and that this put a downer on your stay. We understand what a disappointment this must have been and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

If you would like to email our Front Office Manager Leanne Cooke, who is also in charge of Guest Relations, I'm sure she will be more than happy to help further discuss any complaints that you may have with regards to your stay. You can contact her at: grm@inyoryk.co.uk. I hope this helps!

Kind Regards,
Meg
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews