We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous property!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Lendal Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Mezzanine floor bedroom
Living room
Living Room
Spiral staircase leading up the 4 floors of the Tower
Original water meter
Solid oak dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace and Museum Gardens
The beautiful secluded garden
Lendal Tower from a distance alongside Lendal Bridge
The Tower in the snow
The Tower in the snow II
Visit England 5 Star Grading
Visit England Gold Award Winning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bondgirls
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous property!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with family members for 4 nights in October. Beautiful property in an ideal location for exploring York. The tower has all the amenities you could possibly need for a holiday. Outstanding value compared to a lot of the hotels. The tower oozes history but has modern amenities. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again in the future. The management are extremely helpful and ensure you have a pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Tower. I hope you made some lasting memories and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewque...
Yorkshire England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing, quirky”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is amazing and quite unique. We were met with a very friendly property manager, Nathan who kindly showed us around the property. It is in the heart of York and fabulously well placed. The ambiance of the tower is amazing and we really enjoyed staying there. I do think it is best suited to two couples though. My bedroom was on the mezzanine level and although the room was lovely, the bathroom/toilet was downstairs, through the dining room, through the lounge and into a stone flagged area. This was OK until we had a small 'flood' in that area on the first day. Nathan was great in trying to fix it for us but it couldn't be fixed until next day. This presented a problem as to go to the loo meant walking through one of the bedrooms above to get to the en-suite, and disturbing the person there-OK if it's 3 friends, as we were but would be very awkward if 3 couples. In the end we decided i would paddle through he flooded area (which smelled a little), step into a bowl of disinfectant and then step on a towel afterwards. There's nothing like stepping into a bowl of icy water in the middle of the night to wake you up! The garage was also flooded so we couldn't park there but Nathan kindly offered to refund our parking. Having said all that, the property is amazing and it wouldn't put me off staying again-we plan a summer trip next time to take advantage of the fabulous roof terrace-totally accept that flooding is part of the territory, but...we would come as two couples and skip the mezzanine level

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for any problems you experienced due to flooding.
Unfortunately the river was at a very high level during your stay which prompted the council to install a large pump at the front of the property in an effort to keep the flood waters at bay however this also meant that access to the garage was restricted. As a further consequence of the flood waters our on site pump was working hard to remove the water that had entered the lift shaft, however the pipe had split and started pouring the water all over the lift machinery room on the ground floor opposite the ground floor bathroom which would have been an understandably unpleasant experience.

I am glad to hear that you were all still able to enjoy the various features the Tower has to offer and it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Once again we apologise for the inconvenience and the awful weather during your trip and we would love to welcome you back in the future. If you do decide to stay with us again, please get in touch prior to booking and we will be happy to offer a discount on your stay.

Kind Regards

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Accommodation, Fabulous Location, Fabulous Welcome”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

York is a lovely city with lots to do and many lovely places to eat, drink and generally have a good time. However, the highlight of our visit had to be staying in Lendal Tower. Myself, my husband and our two boys stayed in the Tower for five days and it was a truly memorable experience. The facilities, the welcome and the ambiance of the Tower was just superb, very atmospheric and so much better than a bland hotel that would have cost the same. We were delighted to return the the Tower every day as we were with all our experiences, we all absolutely loved it. Thanks very much to Mike and to Nathan, we had an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
It is fantastic to hear that you all had such a great time in York and that staying in the Tower was your particular highlight!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, historic building right in the centre of York”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Met up with old friends for our annual reunion in Lendal Tower.
We really enjoyed our stay - lots to see and do, and all within walking distance. We were warmly welcomed by Mike, and found the property very comfortable. The views from the roof terrace were outstanding; enjoyed with a glass of fizz as the sun went down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about Lendal Tower. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that the weather was kind enough to allow you to enjoy the sunsets!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you for your annual reunion and I hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future.


Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
666Suzi66...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Luxurious unique Tower right in the middle of York - wonderful.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Greeted in person and showed all around - lovely touch. Unexpected luxury welcome pack left in the kitchen, with bottle of Prosecco in the fridge. A great start to a simply brilliant stay. HUGE bedrooms, beautifully furnished, it was better by miles than we even hoped for. Particularly loved the fantastic roof top terrace each evening for drinks overlooking the rooftops and river - what a place! (tip - take a shopping basket on a rope with you to get six glasses, a couple of bottles of wine, dip and crisps up there!) The garden was lovely for lunch and very private. Mezzanine bedroom has no bathroom and you have to go downstairs and across lounge to get to downstairs loo/shower. But it has screens to save embarrassment from lounge and was no problem whatsoever. Top bedroom is 39 steps up a wooden spiral staircase - we went and bought a kettle for early morning tea rather than disturb the two other floors with lots of creaking stairs but this was our choice. Lendal Tower is a superb place and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in York. Thank you Nathan and Mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and roof terrace
Liked least: size of dishwaster
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to make good use of both the roof terrace and garden for lunch and drinks.

Once again thank you for the kind review, we would love to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing