We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,765)
Filter reviews
1,765 results
Traveller rating
917
523
199
87
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
523
199
87
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite roll top bath four poster york suite park restaurant antique furniture free standing bath lovely hotel city centre double shower breakfast was excellent poster bed one night stay main building full english ten minute walk car park
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,765 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a double delux and it was a nice room. Only downside is they are on second floor with no lift so would not suit if you have mobility issues.
Friendly staff and good breakfast.

There is parking at the hotel and centre is only a ten minute walk.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Annette1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your short and sweet review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We are very lucky with our location, a short walk away from all of York's attractions but set back down a quiet street. We do have a small onsite car park which does need to be pre booked.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hearty Yorkshire Breakfast and liked your allocated room. We are a listed building and are unable to have a lift installed, we are more then happy to assist with any luggage.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The staff were really friendly and welcoming and the room was nice - I couldn't see in the bathroom mirror as I am only 5' 3" - but that wasn't the end of the world. We were a bit disappointed that the restaurant didn't offer the early bird Three-course Menu as stated on the website so it did mean going out every night, I have a small appetite so wouldn't have managed the four course or taster menu. Although there was a menu for room service it was very limited and no food served in the bar (well no menu visible anyway) which was a shame. I was a bit surprised at there being no restaurant facilities on Sunday and Mondays and lunch times as I thought the criteria for an AA Four star rated hotel specified this, plus choice of food - but perhaps I've got that wrong. All in all a good stay but I would have preferred to have been able to eat in the hotel and for that reason I would not return. Great staff though - well done.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and there was a fan type noise until late - not good if you want an early night.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaycee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Firstly, thank you for your kind comments regarding our amazing team who all work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you liked your bedroom, our apologise that you was unable to see in the mirror, we will look into this.
We are very lucky to have The Park Restaurant onsite, they offer a four course tasting menu and a seven course tasting menu. The portion sizes are small due to the nature of the menu. The Park Restaurant are also very popular so we do advise to pre-book a table. As mentioned we do also offer a room service menu which is available 24 hours. I am saddened to hear that neither of these was suited to your personal preference. We are situated less then a 10 minute walk away from all of York's attractions. York also had over 700 Restaurant which the team will provide recommendations.
We are saddened that you will not be returning in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We had a 4-poster double room. Room was nice and big and the bed was very comfortable. No shower cubicle though, only a very deep and narrow bath with a hand held mixer tap. OK if you want a long soak but a real pain if you want a quick shower. Breakfast was underwhelming and luke warm. Did not try the restaurant though which is reported to be very good. Parking was not a problem. Overall it was nice enough but not really value for money, so probably won't be back nor recommend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 545panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We do offer a variety of different room types. Our Petite Executive and Deluxe Double Rooms do have showers and baths, however our Four Post Rooms do solely have free standing cast iron baths with a shower attachment. We do ask to be advised to any specific preferences prior to check in so we can allocate you the most suitable room.
As you can see from our previous reviews our Hearty Yorkshire Breakfast always go down a treat. I am sorry that your encounter differed.
If you had of make the team aware of the your issues we could of moved you into a room with a shower and provided you with another breakfast.
I am saddened to hear that you will not be recommending us nor returning.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Marmadukes for 3 nights to visit family locally. The hospitable and helpful reception staff are great. Our trip was cut short by a night due to a family crisis. Kindly we were allowed to use the last night the following week when we returned.
Both rooms were comfortable, nicely decorated and extremely clean. Great showers and soft full towels.
The breakfast is fantastic and set us up for the day.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank demisimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for your perfect review of your stay with us at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you found both of your rooms comfortable, clean and loved the decor.
Hopefully our hearty Yorkshire breakfast set you up for your busy days ahead.
We have recently changed our linen supplier and are receiving much positive feedback which is great!
I am sorry that your stay with us was cut short by a family crisis but pleased that we could accommodate you for another night in the week.
All of the team at Marmadukes work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us, so they will greatly appreciate your kind comments.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

We only stayed 1 night and opted for the 4 poster bed, we were glad we did as the bedroom was ornately furnished. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable we arrived too early but they kept our bags till our return. They also kept the bags on our check out as we had a late train. They even contacted us to let us know a toiletry bag was left in the room which they held till our return. We never tried the food menu but we have it on good authority that they are applying for the Michelin star of excellence we wish them good luck. This is a great hotel to stay in nicely located to visit the town centre which you can access via Botham Gate. Taxis are also available if you dont wish to walk, and the train station is only 10 mins walk. We certainly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and are thinking of returning in December.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank dreid0207dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for your brilliant review,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your Four Poster room.

Thank you for mentioning our helpful team.

Our on site restaurant is fantastic and have just received 3 Rosettes for the 4th consecutive year. Who knows whats next ;)

We do hope you decide to return in December as the Christmas markets in York are truly amazing. Please call us direct on 01904 640101 or email the reservations team to receive our best possible rates.

Kind Regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews