We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,772)
Filter reviews
1,772 results
Traveller rating
921
526
199
87
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
526
199
87
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite roll top bath york suite four poster park restaurant antique furniture lovely hotel free standing bath city centre double shower minute walk breakfast was excellent poster bed main building one night stay full english car park
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,772 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

this was my first time staying in a hotel. the town house hotel was a great hotel. the staff George and mamida was very welcoming and helpful in every way. the hotel itself is very professional and I would highly recommend a stay here. any enquiry and need was professional dealt with a great service. my stay here was very satisfactory. cannot not fault the staff or the hotel at all.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kerrylittle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you for your perfect review!
I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, however are you sure that you stayed at Marmadukes Town House Hotel as we do not have a George or Mamida.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we found that the radiator in the bathroom was turned on and despite the efforts of the staff could not be turned off. It was 25 degrees outside. We were given a four poster bed even though we were two women. The WiFi didn’t work in the room. The room faced the main road with no nets or blinds. There was nowhere near a mirror to dry hair. There was no shower only an ancient bath with a telephone type of arrangement. The walk into town was along a main road with endless traffic. The one saving grace was the breakfast and even then the coffee was weak.

It was very poor value for money as it was very expensive for what was on offer. We will not be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank marilyno764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
I am saddened reading your feedback Marilyn. I am sorry that you found our beautiful building old and tired.
Upon looking into your reservation I can see that you was given a free of charge upgrade into one of our best four poster rooms, you had booked one of our Petite Executive Rooms which are the smallest of our double rooms. We did contact you at the time of booking and stated we do not have any twin rooms on site, this was reiterated to you at the time of check in which you agreed this was fine.
As soon as the issue regarding the radiator was reported this was rectified within the hour and we have no further issues was reported to the team.
We did log the WIFI issue with the provider this has since been resolved.
I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a one night stay at the Marmaduke Hotel, and from beginning to end it was an absolute pleasure! Our room was spacious and decorated well, all furniture within keeping of the era. Our bed was so comfy, had a lovely nights sleep! We also had a bath in our en-suite which was lovely! Breakfast was delicious and served promptly. All the staff were friendly, courteous and knowledgeable, felt sad to leave, not only a beautiful hotel but a stunning city! Will definitely return and recommend

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lozza46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your fabulous 5* review of your recent stay with us at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
I am pleased that you loved our beautiful Victorian building and our gorgeous decor and antique furniture. We are pleased that you had a lovely nights sleep hopefully you woke up feel nice an refreshed.
Thank you for mentioning, our amazing team how are more then happy to help with anything.
We look forward to you returning!
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for just one night on one of the four poster rooms.

Check in was friendly and efficient.

Loved the use of antique and period furniture in the room. Room was clean and well appointed but we would have liked a shower rather than just a bath. A little impractical and the bathroom was big enough for both.

Slept well and the room was quiet despite all the windows being open on a warm night. Being on a side street really makes a difference.

Breakfast was excellent, hot and good quality ingredients. The best thing about it though was the lovely service from the waitress who was attentive and just really good at her job.

Nice ten minute stroll in to the middle of the action of York. We preferred being ever so slightly out of the centre as it made for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Checkout friendly, staff were very warm. The cleaner chased after us to bring me a pair of trousers I'd left in the wardrobe.

The only downsides were the lack of shower and parking was an additional £7 a night.

I'd recommend this hotel and we'll definately return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DollyJune74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We are located on very quiet street which is great especially on these warm summer nights! We are very close to all of York's attractions.
I am pleased to hear that receive our warm Yorkshire welcome and that our efficient housekeeping team managed to catch you prior to leaving.
We do have a small onsite car park, due to this been limited and our central location we do charge an additional £7 per night. Some of your rooms have baths and some have showers, please ensure that you call direct for your next stay not only can we offer a discount on the room and allocate you a room with your preferred bathroom facilities.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Lovely hotel in a quiet area, not to far from the city centre, staff all very friendly and helpful especially the man on reception that gave us his fan as our room was so hot, our room (on top floor of main building) was very nice only niggles were bed very noisy creaky so if you toss and turn could be an issue and no were to put anything in shower ie soap, shampoo which could easily be sorted. Breakfast was excellent and lovely staff and lovely garden and loved the local grey and ginger cats lol. This hotel has lots of character beautiful rooms.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rachelellisgrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes town House Hotel.
We are situation in a very quiet area of York but only a short walk away from all of York's attractions.
All of the team very work hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay.
I am sorry that you encountered issues with the noise of the bed. All of our beds are antique.
The neighbourhoods cats do enjoy all the attention that receive from our guests.
Kindest Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews