We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveller rating
912
521
199
87
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
521
199
87
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite roll top bath four poster york suite park restaurant antique furniture free standing bath lovely hotel city centre double shower breakfast was excellent one night stay main building poster bed full english ten minute walk breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

lovely hotel with helpful staff.
Breakfasts are very good
would stay again
easy walking distance to city centre
lounge and bar areas lovely to relax in after a days shopping
also kept our luggage all day until it was time for our train

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for you wonderful 5* review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hearty Yorkshire breakfast, and our cosy lounge, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We booked the four poster rooms as standard rooms had all been reserved and were not disappointed
The decor was amazing and fitted perfectly with the historic city of York
Bathroom had a rolled top bath which was lovely but no proper shower ...just attachment to the bath taps...maybe could do with an upgrade
Good choice for breakfast although the quality of the full English was very disappointing ....was expecting top end quality / local sourcing etc
Walking ‍♂️ distance of the Minster. We did come by car and the parking is very limited and has to be pre booked .....thought to charge £7 per day was excessive. I have never been charged to park in hotel’s own grounds before

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank StanyerCorporation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our beautiful Four Poster Rooms. These rooms are all fitted with sumptuous roll top baths, however if you prefer a shower in future please call us directly and we can recommend a room type more suited to your needs.
Due to limited parking within York you will find that charging is standard within the area and we recommend all guests traveling by car to call us in advance of there arrivals to arrange a bay. Alternatively, there is free on street parking available from 4pm onwards.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

I had a good stay at Marmadukes, the hotel, a Victorian town house has character & offers a personal experience with just 21 rooms spread across 2 buildings. The setting is a well heeled residential street, close to but removed from the full hubbub of the city centre, a pleasant 15 minute walk away. They offer limited on-site parking for a bargain price of £7 daily. Pre-book if you want a space. Alternatively there is plentiful free on-street parking after 4pm & before 10am (all day on a Sunday).
My room, the 4 poster suite was spacious & inviting, done out in period style with solid dark wood furniture & heavy drapes. The bed was super comfortable & the room thoughtfully equipped with biscuits & beverages. Any hotel that supplies you with 20 tea-bags gets a big thumbs up from me! The bathroom was nicely presented with roll top bath, good products but no shower. Reception staff were superb - friendly & sincere & breakfast was perfectly good with amiable, efficient service.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your recent review for Marmadukes Hotel, we are grateful of your kind description of characterful Victorian building offering personal service, I feel this is perfect way to describe us.

We are in a perfect sleepy grove, where you can unwind and not listen to city centre noise but still walk there within minutes.

I couldn't have written this any better regarding our car parking, we do strongly recommend that you pre-book this and as well we feel this is an acceptable amount compared to other local car parks.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team, as they are all so helpful and will genuinely try to please all.

We will hopefully look forward to you staying with us again very soon.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

no actual conplaints clean room, bed was a little broke and slanted one way but slept well, however for average hotel it was overpriced for an average hotel - honestly stay in a premier Inn better value for your money

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dreid659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

We are pleased you didn't have any issues with your stay and we are saddened to read you didn't believe it to be good value for money.

Hopefully you will keep an eye out as we have some amazing deals and at least you will receive great customer service, freshly cooked breakfast and a smile everyday.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights while attending Christmas market. Well situated for a comfortable walk into town. Room was warm whilst it snowed and was cold outside. Bathroom was a bath with no shower but we were informed of this when booking. The bathroom was huge.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Towel rail could have been warmer
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

What a charming review, we hope you enjoyed York's Christmas Market, I always seem to get distracted with the Mulled Wine stall before venturing any further.

Thank you for mentioning our great location, being only a 10 minute walk away from the city walls. We are pleased you appreciated our cosy, warm bedrooms and soaking in our roll top baths.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here, we all will look forward to you returning back to us.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews