We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, upon check in staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Excited to be staying in one of the four post room with a roll top bath however this room sadly did disappoint, we stayed in the annex building adjacent the main hotel on the ground level. Very noisy with other guests as we were at the bottom of the stairs and the main door opening and closing was extremely loud. Plus the light in the Hall was on all night which kept us awake, along with the very noisy bed which at first looked so comfortable. Sadly also the base on the bed below the mattress was stained and looked unsightly.

Woke on the first morning to be covered in white fluff. It seemed like a napkin or tissues were washed with the bedding and felt it was unacceptable. And not something we’d of expected. Did let reception know and we had our bedding changed and room cleaned. No real apologies were received which let it down for us.

Decor of the room was nice although the the wooden join to the bathroom on the floor was broken and I tripped over it a few times.

Annoyingly the iron in the room ruined my outfit for our evening dinner as it poured out with stained water upon placing the iron down. Luckily I’d packed a second choice.

Breakfast had an good selection of hot cooked however continental lacked of presentation. And the pastries were poorly cooked. My bacon had foil pieces on it which was a little off putting and the sausage was a little anaemic. Waitresses very efficient and friendly.

We found the Hotel was a great location to what we wanted and the evening dinner in the Park Restaurant was truly amazing (left a separate review for that)

Paying for parking wasn’t an issue as we had previously looked into it.

Overall disappointed with our room we did have a nice break away and an exceptional dining experience in the evening. Had we received a sufficient apology upon check out and when letting reception know about the bedding, however felt and left very let down.

Would be grateful to be contacted by the Hotel to discuss our stay further. Although rated poor our stay was between poor and average due to the nicer parts of the stay unfortunately for us, we couldn’t rate our stay higher.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Craven_Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I sincerely apologise that you encountered an issue with your linen during your stay, this is a matter I assure you we are investigating, I am saddened to hear you were disappointed with how this matter was handled at the time.

I am however happy that your enjoyed your dinning experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future to show you our usual high standards. If you wish to book again please contact us directly on 01904 640101.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

lovely hotel with helpful staff.
Breakfasts are very good
would stay again
easy walking distance to city centre
lounge and bar areas lovely to relax in after a days shopping
also kept our luggage all day until it was time for our train

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you wonderful 5* review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hearty Yorkshire breakfast, and our cosy lounge, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We booked the four poster rooms as standard rooms had all been reserved and were not disappointed
The decor was amazing and fitted perfectly with the historic city of York
Bathroom had a rolled top bath which was lovely but no proper shower ...just attachment to the bath taps...maybe could do with an upgrade
Good choice for breakfast although the quality of the full English was very disappointing ....was expecting top end quality / local sourcing etc
Walking ‍♂️ distance of the Minster. We did come by car and the parking is very limited and has to be pre booked .....thought to charge £7 per day was excessive. I have never been charged to park in hotel’s own grounds before

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank StanyerCorporation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our beautiful Four Poster Rooms. These rooms are all fitted with sumptuous roll top baths, however if you prefer a shower in future please call us directly and we can recommend a room type more suited to your needs.
Due to limited parking within York you will find that charging is standard within the area and we recommend all guests traveling by car to call us in advance of there arrivals to arrange a bay. Alternatively, there is free on street parking available from 4pm onwards.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

I had a good stay at Marmadukes, the hotel, a Victorian town house has character & offers a personal experience with just 21 rooms spread across 2 buildings. The setting is a well heeled residential street, close to but removed from the full hubbub of the city centre, a pleasant 15 minute walk away. They offer limited on-site parking for a bargain price of £7 daily. Pre-book if you want a space. Alternatively there is plentiful free on-street parking after 4pm & before 10am (all day on a Sunday).
My room, the 4 poster suite was spacious & inviting, done out in period style with solid dark wood furniture & heavy drapes. The bed was super comfortable & the room thoughtfully equipped with biscuits & beverages. Any hotel that supplies you with 20 tea-bags gets a big thumbs up from me! The bathroom was nicely presented with roll top bath, good products but no shower. Reception staff were superb - friendly & sincere & breakfast was perfectly good with amiable, efficient service.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your recent review for Marmadukes Hotel, we are grateful of your kind description of characterful Victorian building offering personal service, I feel this is perfect way to describe us.

We are in a perfect sleepy grove, where you can unwind and not listen to city centre noise but still walk there within minutes.

I couldn't have written this any better regarding our car parking, we do strongly recommend that you pre-book this and as well we feel this is an acceptable amount compared to other local car parks.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team, as they are all so helpful and will genuinely try to please all.

We will hopefully look forward to you staying with us again very soon.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

no actual conplaints clean room, bed was a little broke and slanted one way but slept well, however for average hotel it was overpriced for an average hotel - honestly stay in a premier Inn better value for your money

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dreid659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

We are pleased you didn't have any issues with your stay and we are saddened to read you didn't believe it to be good value for money.

Hopefully you will keep an eye out as we have some amazing deals and at least you will receive great customer service, freshly cooked breakfast and a smile everyday.

Kindest Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
4.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: €56 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing