We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, value for money B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldsmiths Guest House

Goldsmiths Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goldsmiths Guest House
Ranked #125 of 206 York B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, value for money B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed a couple of nights here as a solo traveller. The B&B was in a decent location, clean and I was given a warm welcome and great service at breakfast. Cost was very reasonable, and all in all a very nice stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    37
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
51
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

No problem with this b&b. Friendly welcome, clean room and standard English breakfast. Parking in designated spots opposite the road. Walking to city in 10 minutes is easy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgw5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed at Goldsmiths B&B for the bank holiday weekend in August and we were more than happy with our stay, the room was very comfortable with tea & coffee making facilites in the room and a hairdryer was also supplied, the full english breakfast's were absolutely superb and there was also a choice of cereals or grapefruit on offer too, George & Susan made us feel very welcome, I can see why guests return there time and time again, the location is perfect too as it is only a 5 minute stroll along the river and you will find yourself right in the center of York and all it has to offer, we really enjoyed our stay in York and would not hesitate to book Goldsmiths B&B should we wish to return in future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Lovely 10 minute stroll in the morning down by the river and through the park to get to the city centre. Steep narrow stairs to get up, but they didn't present us with a problem. Slept in two rooms as we had to change rooms during our trip so they could fit us in. We didnt mind and they moved all our stuff for us. Liked both rooms but the attic was by far the nicest. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fl594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Second stay here. Very handy for the city centre. Good space for cars. Very clean with very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Friendly people. Near the railway but not noisy. Walk into York centre through the park or along the river.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieMB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Beech House
Beech House
#54 of 206 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 km away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#45 of 206 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 km away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 206 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Lawrance York
The Lawrance York
#6 of 50 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.0 km away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
0.2 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#18 of 206 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsmiths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsmiths Guest House

Property: Goldsmiths Guest House
Address: 18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldsmiths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing