We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge into Kitchen The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Lounge into Kitchen
The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Communal entrance hall
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room
Mezzanine looking into Dining room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Nice apartment, very we'll equipped, comfy beds, a little small for my very tall husband who ended up on the floor downstairs ! The mezzanine floor for bedrooms means you can't really watch tv when people are trying to sleep so might not be ideal for younger families and the water heater arrangement meant when 3 of you wanted baths or showers you had to plan in advance. But a great alternative to a cramped hotel room which gave our pre teen a bit of space to chill and us somewhere comfy to curl up and watch tv. Arrangements for key pick up we're easy and apart from having to top up tea bags and loo roll we didn't need anything. Sainsbury right next door so if you need anything it is right there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa W
London
1 review
“Beautiful apartment, great location.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The purpose of our trip was to celebrate my husbands birthday and the apartment certainly did not disappoint. The whole family found it quite lovely. The apartment was furnished and decorated to a high standard. It was a great retreat from the cold, busy streets after a day of sightseeing.

We enjoyed wandering Yorks pretty streets. We recommend the Viking Centre and for fun York Dungeon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The layout and high spec of the apartment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HindleyGr...
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb modern apartment, 2 mins walk from monkgate.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my wife and my 2 daughters, aged 7 and 18 months stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. The apartment is situated in a converted victorian hospital, and is a charming building. You get the use a dedicated parking space in the secure gated car park.

From the start the communication with Bev from Mint Move who run the property was excellent. Bev was very friendly and was a great welcome to York. We exchanged phone calls on the way and met at the gates where she let us into the car park and showed us around the apartment.

The apartment itself is superb. It was spotlessly clean, very modern, and presented to a very high standard. There are 2 bedrooms, a dining room, sitting room , kitchen and bathroom. One thing to note is that the apartment is on 2 levels, with the 2 bedrooms having balconies overlooking the sitting and dining room. With the property being very modern and "open plan" there are no doors, so noise can travel quite easily throughout all the rooms. This turned out to not be much of a problem for us, but could possibly have issues if you put the children to bed and are being noisy in the sitting room.

We utilised the dining room as pretty much a 3rd bedroom by putting our travel cot in there. It was easily big enough to put the cot in and still eat a meal around the table.

The apartment is decked out with pretty much every facility you could wish for. It seemed like someone had really thought about what people would want on a stay on holiday. Everything from a bottle of milk in the fridge, to a selection of family DVDs in the TV cabinet. The apartment has it's own wifi, with the password next to the router in the hall (Bev showed us this when she showed us around).
The beds were very comfy and everybody slept well.

It is ideally located, it is just outside Monkgate, so you are a 4 or 5 minute walk from the Minster. It also has a large Sainsburys just behind the block of flats for anything you may need. (We actually cooked and ate in the apartment one night because it seemed less effort and the apartment was such a nice place to be).

I couldn't recommend this place more highly. It probably cost less than a couple of hotel rooms, and you get so much more for your money.

We will always try to book in here whenever we are visiting York in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general standard of cleanliness and appearance. Luxury!
Liked least: No doors. Although it didn't bother us that much.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesil
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“no doubt: it's perfect”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we spent 3 nights at the end of July. 2 adults and a 9 years old child.
We stayed in 6 different apartments during our travelling this summer and with no doubt this was the best of all. The flat is much better than it looks on photos. We loved the location, the building, the secured parking lot, the Sainsbury around the corner, etc.. and really a 3 nights stay is the minimum stay you need to visit York. The flat is on the top floor but there's a lift. It's difficult we will go back as we like to visit different places but for sure I would miss it. A tip: don't put "50 county house" on google maps but only "county house monkgate york" to have the correct position.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgw1983
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic City Apartment”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were warmly met at the property, on time, by the lovely Bev who explained everything to us in detail about the apartment and gave us recommendations for things the local area.

My partner and I were very happy with the apartment. It was spotlessly clean, well laid out with comfortable furnishings and decorated to a high standard. Everything you need is provided from towels to tea bags, our needs were fully met. The kitchen is particularly well equipped with everything you need. The bedrooms are on a mezzanine floor, but still maintain a degree of privacy. We felt comfortable at all times, better than a home away from home. We were pleased that we could leave at the agreed time with nobody breathing down or necks making sure we were out.

If you have never been to York before, this apartment is ideally located for your explorations, withing walking distance of York Minster, Jorvick Centre, Yorkshire Museum, York Castle Museum, The Shambles etc. The main shopping area is a few minutes walk away and there is a Sainsbury's supermarket right next door. The bonus of a car parking space was one of the reasons we chose this property.

All communication before we arrived was great. We emailed, phoned and text Bev who was quick to respond to any of our queries. We also feel the price we paid was very fair, considering the usual chain hotels were asking for a similar amount with far less comfort.

If you chose to stay at this apartment, please respect it so many more can enjoy it as we did.

We highly recommend this apartment and cannot pick fault with it. We will be back with our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the apartment met our needs
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing