We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just returned from a one nght stay at Hedley House, and must say had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Arrived too early for check in but was able to park the car in the hotel car park situated to the rear of the house, the car did not move then till we vacated.

We had a large double room with a very spacious bathroom. The breakast was very nice and put you on for the rest of day. There is a sauna and jacuzzi available for guests to use, which we will certainly use on our next stay.

The staff were all very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slimelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thanks for your super review. The jacuzzi and sauna will be right here waiting for your next visit!!
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    503
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
243
875
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We checked in at around 2.30pm into Ebor, a self catering room with kitchen and bathroom. We walked into to room to find it hadnt been cleaned from the previous people. Dirty towels, bed linen and dirty cups in the sink. I rung to reception and within 5 minutes there was a member of staff at our room apologising. We went out to York for the afternoon and came back to a clean room! We were given a key for the front door so we could come and go as we please, but the front door key did not work! Hedley house was great for location, just 5 minute walk from the centre but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColetteLeeds89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,319 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Firstly, based on price paid on a KGB deal this place probably deserves four stars. But on the basis that most people reviewing this would probably pay full price my review is based on full rack rate. It is also based on my wife's expectations of cleanliness (I am sure she would stick me in the washing machine every day if she could!). The shower tray had a few stray hairs on arrival and the carpet was a bit grubby. The room was also a little small (room 5) with hardly any room to pass by the bottom of the bed.

The hotel is in a great location only a 5-10 minute walk to the Minster, provides free parking, a decent breakfast and good staff. The front of the hotel faces onto a train line, though trains were of the irregular local type and did not disturb sleep; and the bed itself was nice and comfortable.

So, if only the fine detail of getting the room spotlessly clean for arrival had been taken care of, and we had a slightly bigger room, we would have rated more highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

how do i begin clean / friendly staff / close to everything /less than 10 minutes walk to york minster the only problem was the car parking it is first come first served i was very lucky the lady on reception arranged for me to park on next doors space but once you are parked up you can forget all about the car for the full stay brilliant nice breakfast full english or cereal if you prefer one tip bring ear plugs if like my wife you are a light sleeper the floor boards creek like mad

Room Tip: if you don.t want to eat in the hotel as you walk though the arch into what is the old town of york...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsilverf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Ideally situated a short walk into the City, easy to find with a free car park which is a bonus in York. The staff were very friendly and breakfast good too, We spent two comfortable nights there and will hopefully return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,248 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
620 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,477 reviews
1.5 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing