We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place to Stay in York”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 4 Galmanhoe Mews

kitchen/dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen/dining
entrance hallway lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
kitchen/dining
entrance hallway
lounge
exterior
ensuite bedroom
house bathroom
ground floor plan
first floor plan
second floor plan
bedroom first floor
single bedroom
ensuite
ground floor bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Riverside walkway
Enter a caption for your photo
York Minster-5 minutes walk
York Railway Station - just 5-10minutes walk
The Museum Gardens
Museum Gardens- over the road
River Walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
ElvisPhis...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in York”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed here over a long weekend with family, house is very well equipped and laid out.
Felt very comfortable, was like a home from home, so much so that we stayed in to cook and eat rather than go out on a couple of the nights of our stay. DVD's library, Games, TV and Wifi were all excellent.
There were some very nice goodies left, (thank you) i've stayed in some 5 * hotels which offered less, and some nice touches like tablets for the dishwasher.
Having read a previous review about the water, we had as a family of 7 no problem whats so ever.
Location is superb as is the parking for two cars. The only downside is there's a social club at the back, where the members come out to smoke and are quite rowdy, this spoilt what would be otherwise an A* perfect venue, however i shall return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The Noise from the social club out back
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulV844
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb house, with one big problem for 7 adults”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is a beautiful house, well equipped, with parking for two cars and only minutes walk to the Minster area of York. There is a great '1950s' drinking style pub only seconds walk away, The Minster, who serve the most fantastic real ale.
My one and only issue is with the heating and hot water, or to put it another way, the lack of hot water and heating when you need it.
We stayed during a VERY cold spell and the heating and water is on a pre-set timer, which you need a degree in electrical engineering to understand and change, and when you think you've figured it out, well think again.
We were 7 adults who wished to shower (DON'T EVEN THINK OF TRYING TO USE THE BATH'S) in a morning and before going out to dinner in the evening, which when you rent a house for 7 adults you think is a reasonable thing to do. What we found is sufficient water in the tank for 2 or 3 showers then not enough to wash up after breakfast (we had to boil the kettle to do that).
We reported this to the Management company who suggested leaving 30 mins between showers (I work that out at 3.5 hours for the party to shower in a morning!!, a great use of your time when in York for just 3 nights). In such a modern property I can't understand why there is not a combi boiler so hot water on demand. (I was told it was a tank because it also used solar heating, which is a nice idea, but not in a property let to 7 adults)
Apart from this, I must say that this is a great property and would recommend to a family of 4.(I did email the management company asking for their comments but have not to date received a reply)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, well furnished
Liked least: Poor heating/hot water
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fantastic York rental”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Having stayed many times in York in everything from high end apartments to quality hotels & B&B's we finally discovered 4 Galmanhoe mews which is without a doubt the very best. Superb location, luxurious, spacious accommodation & excellent service. The house is immaculate - extremely well equipped & with the added bonus of parking (such a rarity in York). Only minutes on foot from the Minster & the lovely Museaum gardens the location doesn't get much better than this & the handy convenience store nearby means that you really don't need a car. Our family was extremely comfortable here. Loved the selection of games, books & DVD's & the welcome basket of goodies. Great toiletries, lots of fluffy towells & bathrobes - all the plusses of a great hotel but with the freedom & space of your own house. Definitely the very best self-catering property we have found in York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space & Luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Reviewed 10 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality.
Liked least: The cooker hood - ouch!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
24Mia777
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Fantastic property great location”
Reviewed 19 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Can not rate this property highly enough. It is modern,clean had everything we needed to have a wonderful stay. I would say this is a five star property. It was easy to book and Bev was very helpful. All seven adults and one baby were delighted with our time there to attend a family wedding. I would recommend the property to anyone thinking of spending time in York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very modern fantastic condition
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing