We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had to book in a hurry due to a family funeral. Most of my family managed to book into the Holiday inn Express in York but my husband and I were too late, they were fully booked. We booked into the Holiday Inn instead (the other side of York). We weren't too upset about that but the problem was that my brother had booked my elderly mum into the Express with him for one night but discovered later that she needed to stay two nights.The hotel had no rooms for the second night though. The deal he had was no refunds and the hotel refused to help him in any way (we as a family had booked 13 people into both hotels) . I managed to move my mum into the Holiday Inn with me but my brother ended up paying for a room he didn't need, it remained empty all night. Not good. Our experience in the Holiday Inn was good,the staff were friendly, helpful (the kind girl in reception gave us a bunch of flowers, jar of sweets and card when she discovered we were going to a funeral). We all slept well, beds comfy. Room quiet. The only problem was that I felt the staff weren't trained properly, I had a problem in the bar with a young man who kept yawning, gave me the wrong drinks twice and was very inefficient and there was a muddle when we paid our bill at the end of our stay. BUT on the whole it was a pleasant experience and the staff we met were delightful. Maybe management need to re-assess how they train their staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jennysionidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Good Morning Jenny,

Thank you so much for your feedback i am glad that we were able to accommodate your visit. I am really happy to hear that you liked the flowers that i brought to you and i hope that they managed to last after your visit to the Hotel. I will certainly bring up the issues with the restaurant/ bar staff as this is not the standard i would expect any of our guests to receive. I can assure you that this is not company standard.

I hope we do get the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
If you require any further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me further on my email which is Hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

The room was clean, comfy & warm though the bathroom seemed very small. Good shower. Recently refurbished. Dining room not exciting but ok. The car park is dangerously pot holed. But why on October 15 is there a Christmas tree in reception?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 4wheelsonmywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We have the Christmas tree up with flyers and business cards to let our guests know that we are able to give them the option to book an Christmas event such as a party or another special event in the Christmas period. We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Good hotel within walking distance of York City centre.

Hotel is a bit dated in places but that is surpassed by the friendly and helpful staff on hand.

The Junction restaurant within offers two 10oz Ribeye or two 8oz Sirloin steaks + b
Bottle of house wine for £39, which is a good deal.

Leaving the hotel, turn right (off Cherry Land) and you have a 15 minute walk to the city walls passing many bus stops en route.

Parking spaces are a plenty, so best drive here, check in, leave the car and enjoy the city’s many restaurants and traditional pubs.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Ideal location if you are going to the races, nice size rooms, comfy bed, breakfast at extra cost but worth it. Easy to find with ample free parking. Nice size bar/lounge and not too expensive prices.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nfw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in October for some sightseeing and to attend the Yorkshire Marathon. 2 hours train journey from Kings Cross London and then an easy bus ride of less than 10 mins from York train station (look for buses to Tadcaster and get off at St Edwards Church, 2 mins from the hotel).
Upon arrival the receptionist was deep in conversation on the phone and we were kept waiting for 10 mins or so and then offered no apology when she finally finished; not the best of starts.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the back car park and was very clean and very quiet, we slept so well here! The room was a good size but the bathroom was ridiculously tiny though well equipped. The room was cleaned well each day though the sheets were not changed in the 4 nights we were there.
Breakfast on day one was a shambles! We were not directed to a table so had to find one ourselves and because all the mugs are set upright on the tables it is confusing as you think they are in use. Putting them upside down would look a lot better too.
At the hot buffet large plates had run out and we had to ask for them. Then bowls run out and we had to again ask for them. The milk ran out and guests were having to stand around before a staff member realised there was a problem. Teaspoons also ran out and long cafe style spoons were offered instead. We had to ask twice for a coffee top-up. Hot food items ran out as did the orange juice so although the food was good the whole experience wasnt good at all. Thankfully on the following days they redeemed themselves and all went well with good service. It was obviously a shortage of staff that caused the initial problem and an apology or explanation would have been nice.
We didnt eat other meals here and only had one drink in the bar on our last night. Good service but over priced. Go to the pub over the road!!
It was a good 30 mins walk into the city centre but we were fine with that and helped burn off the excess calories we consumed whilst in York! Regular buses also run along the straight route into the city.
Check out was a much better experience than check in. Very friendly and happy to chat about our time in York.
Overall a good stay though and much preferred staying out of town than being in the centre.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBG356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.3 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.4 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 km away
York Marriott Hotel
2.4 km away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: €64 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing