We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
389
615
364
119
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
615
364
119
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tadcaster road city centre race course executive room cross keys small bathroom free parking reception staff bus stop car park leave the car stayed one night good nights sleep tea and coffee breakfast was excellent the pub racecourse
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The room was clean, comfy & warm though the bathroom seemed very small. Good shower. Recently refurbished. Dining room not exciting but ok. The car park is dangerously pot holed. But why on October 15 is there a Christmas tree in reception?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 4wheelsonmywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We have the Christmas tree up with flyers and business cards to let our guests know that we are able to give them the option to book an Christmas event such as a party or another special event in the Christmas period. We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Good hotel within walking distance of York City centre.

Hotel is a bit dated in places but that is surpassed by the friendly and helpful staff on hand.

The Junction restaurant within offers two 10oz Ribeye or two 8oz Sirloin steaks + b
Bottle of house wine for £39, which is a good deal.

Leaving the hotel, turn right (off Cherry Land) and you have a 15 minute walk to the city walls passing many bus stops en route.

Parking spaces are a plenty, so best drive here, check in, leave the car and enjoy the city’s many restaurants and traditional pubs.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Ideal location if you are going to the races, nice size rooms, comfy bed, breakfast at extra cost but worth it. Easy to find with ample free parking. Nice size bar/lounge and not too expensive prices.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nfw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in October for some sightseeing and to attend the Yorkshire Marathon. 2 hours train journey from Kings Cross London and then an easy bus ride of less than 10 mins from York train station (look for buses to Tadcaster and get off at St Edwards Church, 2 mins from the hotel).
Upon arrival the receptionist was deep in conversation on the phone and we were kept waiting for 10 mins or so and then offered no apology when she finally finished; not the best of starts.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the back car park and was very clean and very quiet, we slept so well here! The room was a good size but the bathroom was ridiculously tiny though well equipped. The room was cleaned well each day though the sheets were not changed in the 4 nights we were there.
Breakfast on day one was a shambles! We were not directed to a table so had to find one ourselves and because all the mugs are set upright on the tables it is confusing as you think they are in use. Putting them upside down would look a lot better too.
At the hot buffet large plates had run out and we had to ask for them. Then bowls run out and we had to again ask for them. The milk ran out and guests were having to stand around before a staff member realised there was a problem. Teaspoons also ran out and long cafe style spoons were offered instead. We had to ask twice for a coffee top-up. Hot food items ran out as did the orange juice so although the food was good the whole experience wasnt good at all. Thankfully on the following days they redeemed themselves and all went well with good service. It was obviously a shortage of staff that caused the initial problem and an apology or explanation would have been nice.
We didnt eat other meals here and only had one drink in the bar on our last night. Good service but over priced. Go to the pub over the road!!
It was a good 30 mins walk into the city centre but we were fine with that and helped burn off the excess calories we consumed whilst in York! Regular buses also run along the straight route into the city.
Check out was a much better experience than check in. Very friendly and happy to chat about our time in York.
Overall a good stay though and much preferred staying out of town than being in the centre.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBG356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments please do not hesitate to contact me directly t hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk to discuss anything further.We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

To be honest this hotel doesn't look anything special from outside, but when you get inside your impression changes immediately.
Modern light and airy reception with lovely friendly, welcoming staff on reception.
Our room was quite compact but perfectly workable for a couple; because we didn't arrive til late evening it pretty much was just 'a bed for the night' rather than needing any space to relax and chill out so it wasn't a problem.
Very impressed at the modern feel of both the bedroom and bathroom - you can tell it's been refurbed and, importantly, well maintained.
The bathroom is again quite compact but with a great modern feel - well lit and oh that shower! Could've stayed in there for ages :)
The late checkout time of noon was very handy - I arrived suffering from a stinking cold so it was good to leave the alarm clock off, have a lie in and leisurely shower.
My husband noticed that the sink water was very slow to drain and wasn't sure that the bathroom fan was working - but we mentioned it at reception and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, making a note to ensure it got checked.
Holiday Inn York is in a great location - not far from the main A64 from the A1M, only 2 minutes drive to the Park and Ride, and not much further to York Designer Outlet.
The only one thing that let this hotel down is the state of the car park - uneven with some dreadful potholes!
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oldbrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will pass your feedback on to the relevant departments and we hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews