We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
366
69
32
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
69
32
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long gallery york minster clarins toiletries treasurer's house steeped in history edwards room recommend grays copper bath furnished with antiques wonderful building walled garden york walls old city walls wedding venue modern bathroom public areas eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Stayed two nights. Wonderful setting virtually in the centre of York. The building and it's gardens and courtyard are magnificent. The staff were a delight and so was the food ( English full cooked breakfasts). I have only one complaint, and it's simply the hotel could be better promoted , I am sure ( and I am one) who would love to know the full history, and even the trials and tribulations of converting the house from residence to hotel in the late 2000's. A second trip has already been booked !.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Grays Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We have found advertising a tricky one to be honest - it's so easy to spend a fortune and get very little return - but we have a fabulous Business Development Manager on our team who is working on the right angles.

Best wishes,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

What a wonderful weekend we spent at Grays Court hotel, the proximity to the centre of York is second to none and the hotel was delightful. Steeped in history but with all the modern luxuries.
All of the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful and nothing was every too much bother.
Our room, the Somerset, over looked the Minster which was amazing.
I have no hesitation in recommending Grays Court hotel and certainly hope to return there myself soon

Room Tip: the Somerset overlooks the Minster
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Conferencegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Grays Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

I absolutely loved staying in this beautifully renovated manor house. It has beautiful gardens magnificent views and a old world charm that can't be replicated. The only thing amiss was the many fireplaces that are no longer in use.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Guest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Grays Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and I'm so glad that you appreciate the style in which we have restored the house. We too are very sad that the fires aren't in use but we may be able to figure out a way to restore them. Watch this space..

Best wishes,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and it was a pleasure to stay there. Fabulous breakfasts in a dining room that overlooks a huge garden that backs to the York Wall. Service was friendly and efficient. The poached eggs in the morning were done just right and I just highly recommend this beautiful hotel. It is very close to the Minster.....

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pate-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Grays Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Gran's Court is a charming hotel in the heart of York. The room was fabulous. Even more so the rest of the hotel. The library is one where you could go to forget the hours, the evening would just flow by the bay window and there is never a long way back to the hotel. The hotel is seeped in history and beautifully maintained.

The tea in the evening with the scones is a treat and the cooked breakfast in the morning is a delight.

We stayed only for a night but wished it was longer

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NuDL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Grays Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, and please do visit us again soon. Perhaps a long weekend next time?

Best wishes,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews