We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,618)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveller rating
1,374
208
27
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,374
208
27
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews owners mark city centre yorkshire breakfast breakfast was delicious family room private car park bed and breakfast guest house top floor bottled water free parking on arrival visit york b bs railway station enjoyable stay minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Third time I have stayed here. Due to travelling early from the South, Melanie and Mark allow us to arrive early and book in. Also using the car park so we can get in and out to explore quicker. The breakfast is top notch with outstanding attention to detail. Only feedback I would say is to have bigger glasses for the orange juice. Will continue to book this every year I go up. Big thank you to your staff also, they do you credit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maca1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Melanie, Mark & staff provide great hospitality. The Yorkshire breakfast was wonderful.
The lounge was very welcoming after a very long day playing badminton in the superb venue at the Raikway Institute- a great credit to York. I thoroughly recommend York as a great place to visit & to stay at Carlton House, which is so convenient to all the attractions.

Room Tip: First floor front rooms
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 196rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

York has an abundance of hotels/b&bs and we're not creatures of habit so it's unusual for us to stick with one place for so long. However Carlton House is one on its own and we've sang it's praise to friends and family many many times.
I'm sure it doesn't but from the outside this bed n breakfast seems to run like clockwork, the hosts and staff are friendly, professional and obliging it's hospitality with a capital H. It's also lovely to see the same faces each time we stay, a sign of a happy ship.
The decor and atmosphere is restful and relaxed and you really do unwind there.
As I've said before little extras like magazines and flowers go a long way, they've even gone to the expense of having their own York map printed a lovely personal touch.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We decided to take our grandchildren to York during the Viking Festival as 1 of them was covering Vikings in history at school. Initially enquiring about a double & twin room not knowing they had 2 lovely spacious family rooms and luckily 1 was available.
Room 1 was perfect and fitted our needs, double & 2 single beds, large enough to swing a couple of cats simultaniously. Clean, warm, modern, a large tv for the children and most importanly for them a strong wifi signal.
Position there is ideal, walking distance of city and restaurants for the small legged ones.
Breakfast as always was delicious, the children had sausage muffins 3 days running, they´ve already asked if they can visit York again in the summer, so I guess they must have enjoyed their stay as much as we did.
At £120 a night bed & breakfast for 4, you´ll find a comparable B&B hard to find.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We booked last minute for short two day trip to York. Returning after some 11 years when we had stayed in a family room when the kids were small.
We managed to get a double room for a single night and arrived on Saturday morning at 10:30, despite being early the owner gladly checked us in and due to some rain damage to one of the rooms, gave us a choice of rooms. The room was spacious, and very well decorated with nice fittings, especially the bathroom. We had a very relaxed night, the bed was very comfortable and breakfast the following day was really very good. Overall we couldn't fault our stay, and we will be back when time allows.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hac1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews