We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
216
99
50
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
99
50
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum gardens well stocked mini bar jar of sweets undergoing refurbishment cowshed products marygate car park coffee machine place to sleep rainfall shower perfect location continental breakfast nice hotel boutique hotel basement room luxury room restaurants and bars quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The hotel was lovely and our room was in the basement but was clean and tidy but we could here people walking drunk on the pavement right next to our window though into the early hours and then was woken from what sounded like a delivery of bottles at about 6-7am on the Saturday morning. I would of complained at the time but the wife just said we won’t book again....

Room Tip: Don’t stay in the basement
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rikkifairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hi rikkifairfield,
I'm sorry to hear that the mindless few ruined your experiance at the hotel. Usually Marygate is an extremely quiet street from early evening. The delivery must have been a nearby business as we do not get any bottle deliveries on a Saturday. Should you be willing to give the hotel another try please give me a call direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I visited with a friend for a mid week city break. The hotel is comfy, modern and tastefully decorated. The staff are extremely friendly, giving a warm welcome and very happy to help. It is perfectly located with great views of the gardens, and close to the river.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Damien C,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and should you wish to book again don't hesitate to give the hotel a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We have just returned from a trip to York where we stayed at Jorvik House. The whole experience was faultless. The room (attic room) was beautifully appointed and spotless. The bed was comfortable, the views pleasant and the bath was to die for. All the staff we spoke to were polite, friendly and helpful. We honestly couldn't have asked for more. We'd stay here again without a second thought!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Lizzie W,
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed our Loft Suite and should you wish to book it again please do not hesitate to call the hotel direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

A lovely little hotel, perfectly situated for a casual wander into the city centre. Our room was compact, clean and beautifully decorated with a well stocked mini bar. Our only issues, and they were by no means show stoppers, were that our coffee machine didn’t work and there was a wet patch in the carpet near the entrance to the bathroom. One thing I would say needs looking at is the pillows on the bed. They were quite hard and we both woke a few times during the night because of that. In summary, a lovely stay and we would definitely look at returning.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Emma H,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We only had one night here but weren't disappointed. We had double and twin rooms on the top floor which were super comfy and cosy. The rooms have well stocked mini bars with drinks and snacks. The only possible improvement would be a small jug/carton of fresh milk in the fridge for the morning cuppa but really nothing to complain about at all. Will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank 902mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorvikNewManagement, General Manager at Jorvik House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi 902mary,
Thank you for your review. We have noted your suggestion, we like all feedback as it helps us maintain such high standards we set ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews