We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
469
323
143
58
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
323
143
58
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middleton hotel lady anne lovely hotel city centre car park per night main building triple room buffet style quiet location stayed for two nights few minutes walk a lovely stay no lift cooked breakfast my mum tea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, including staff at the pool/gym. Only thing I would fault was the food. We had the Sun lunch which was 3 courses for £25. The main course we chose was pork with the trimmings. It had clearly been sat out all day as the meat was ok but the roast potatoes were a bit too crispy and dried out and the vegetables were terrible. Disappointing really. We did say to the waiter who said he would pass it onto the kitchen. Would stay there again, but just not bother having dinner.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddletonsYork, Receptionist at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and were able to make use of the on-site Gym.
We are sorry to hear that your meal was not up to standard and we trust that your waiter offered you a replacement.
We are due to refurbish some of our rooms in the New Year and we would love to welcome you back and would be willing to offer a discount on your food bill if you were to give us a second chance and dine with us again; If you choose to stay again and wish to redeem this offer, please contact us at the time of booking quoting your previous booking reference and this response.

Kind Regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We arrived at the published address in our rental car to find... 1. no parking. 2. and no indication of where to go for registration. So, I parked illegally and wandered onto the site to find registration in the center of the property WITHIN a gated parking lot, accessible only from a street that runs behind the property. I would have thought they would have published that information to ease the registration process. Desk staff didn't consider it an issue that guests couldn't find registration! Luggage transportation from the paid parking across the site and up 2 flights of stairs was a bit tedious for two septuagenarians... no help of any kind was offered. OK.. .those are the reasons they got only 3 stars. The rooms were quite spacious and well equipped including a modern bathroom. The location is quiet and there is an emphasis on room security.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddletonsYork, Receptionist at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room for the duration of your stay.
As you are now aware, our hotel is located between two roads and as a result we have two addresses, the one published for correspondence and those guests arriving by foot and a separate address for parking. At the main entrance we do have directions listed for the car park as well as signs to direct guests to reception, though this does sit at the center of the property and is not readily visible from either road and can be challenging if arriving after sunset. We will consider your suggestions and will certainly be reviewing our website to see what can be clarified.

We apologise that no help was offered with your luggage, as we have no lifts on site and do have rooms up at least one flight of stairs, this is a service that should have been provided both on arrival and departure.

We hope that you now know the way that you would choose to stay here in the future.

Kind Regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

This is a fairly modern and moderately priced hotel well-located if you are primarily a walking tourist. My room was clean and quiet. They are not equipped for cyclists but I was able to find a nearby fence on which to lock my bike.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddletonsYork, Receptionist at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. While it is true we do not have dedicated cycle stands on the premises, our onsite Gym does indeed have secure railings where people can lock their bikes; However, we do also have an external building with a lockable door that can house up to two bikes, though we cannot guarantee this space and would ask guests to contact us before travelling with a bicycle.

We hope you will think of us again if you choose to stay in York in the future.

Kind Regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a quiet spot only a few minutes walk to the City Centre. Good selection of food for breakfast and the evening meal in the restaurant was excellent. However, not many guests seemed to use the restaurant in the evening, which was a shame as it was more or less empty. The staff were all friendly and the rooms were well-equipped with comfy beds and pillows. Would strongly recommend to anyone planning to stay in York.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bunneylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddletonsYork, Receptionist at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for your comments and recommendation, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and your evening meal. While we of course extol the virtue of our own restaurant, York is highly competitive in this sector and we are located close to many viable dinner experiences both inside and just outside the City Centre.

We hope you choose to stay with us again when you next visit York and offer a 10% discount on advertised prices when booing directly over the phone.

Kind Regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The Middletons Hotel, York is a perfect balance of luxury and comfort. It's peaceful with beautiful grounds, yet a quick walk into town. The breakfast was wonderful and my husband and I enjoyed our coffee on the outdoor patio, soaking in the beauty of the landscaping and architecture.

AMAZING STAFF!!! CHRIS R, Maintenance Personnel, came to our rescue when we popped the tire of our rental car. He took the time to lend us a hand when he didn't have to. He drove us to town for a tire, then changed it for us. His care and generosity really saved our trip. He is a total sweetheart. The entire staff were all warm, welcoming and genuinely helpful. Thank you Chris R and Staff of the Middletons!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddletonsYork, Receptionist at Middletons York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for sharing your unique experience, its great to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

We are not at all surprised by Chris's actions as he always goes out of his way to help everyone, guest and staff alike; Shortly after your stay he took a two week holiday and the entire staff let out a collective sigh of relief when he returned.

We hope you choose to return to us in the future and wish you luck with any future car rentals.

Kind Regards,
Middletons Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews