We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
679
336
128
50
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
336
128
50
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar jacuzzi bath character room main building garden room beautiful building top floor eggs benedict central location no lift lovely hotel york minster beer garden fresh milk car park train station cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2015

It's the first time we've eaten at the Judges' Lodgings restaurant, even though we've been for drinks beforehand.

We walked into the bar and were welcomed in less than a minute. Our table had been reserved and was waiting for us upstairs. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The service overall was excellent, we felt very welcome and were able to chat amiably with the waitresses. Our drinks and food were brought quickly, we were neither rushed nor left waiting which was very good.

We ate three courses while there and each course was honestly perfect. The starters were just the right size and tasted amazing. The bread board accompanied by a balsamic oil was perfect, as was the fisherman's board. My mother commented that she's never had onion rings as good as the ones we were served in this restaurant!

Our mains again were spot on, we had quite a difference in dishes - one burger, a rack of ribs, fish and chips, 2 moules frites - but every member of our party agreed that their food was amazing. When we were given our food we were asked if we wanted any sauces and they were brought to us quickly (unlike at other places where you only get your mayonnaise if the waitress bothers to remember).

When looking at the menu, you might think that it errs on the expensive side, however, given the quality of the food, the quality of the service, and the warm, welcoming atmosphere, it is entirely worth it!

We enjoyed our visit so much that we were planning our next visit before we'd even paid the bill!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Faith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for your 5* review. We are extremely happy that you chose to come and visit us on such a special occasion. It is great to hear such wonderful feedback from our guests. Our team work tirelessly throughout the year and they appreciate this positive feedback. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our simple and honest food. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Thank you for such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Pros. .....great location, lovely character hotel, food and staff excellent, very charming

Cons....bathroom constantly smelt of cooking and fat (room 3 the doctors office) therefore was unable to enjoy the benefits of the jacuzzi bath unless you wanted to smell of food, this was a real downer for me as it was one of the highlights I was looking forward to, bathroom in general gave the lower rating, black gaffer tape top of shower, broken floor tile, toilet roll holder coming off at the wall

Would recommend hotel for everything else but avoid or ask for rooms that are not above the kitchen and hope the bathroom doesn't let it all down.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed many aspects of our Inn such as our team and our food. It is always great to hear how well our team is doing and they will be thrilled to hear this positive feedback. We will address the issues in the bathroom and we apologise for any inconvenience in your stay. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future so you experience a high standard of comfort we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here mid week for our wedding anniversary break in york. The hotel is beautiful and modern with out ruining the traditional style. The staff are so friendly and breakfast was lovely too. The only negatives we had was that the bed and room in general was fairly small compared to others we had seen here, it had no milk in it and someone else's underwear in the bedside drawer! It is also very noisy in the early hours due to local deliveries. Obviously this isn't their fault and the central location more than makes up for it & it would probably be quieter on a weekend anyway. I would still go again though despite these issues as we regularly come here for food and drink anyway!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad that you chose to come and stay with us on such a special occasion. Whilst our building is very beautiful and historic, we do like to move with the times as well as keeping our character. It's great to hear we are doing this well. We are also very pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and found our team to be friendly. We profusely apologise that you found another guests belongings in the drawer, this is absolutely not how we maintain our bedrooms. Due to our rooms not having fridges in them, we do not keep milk in the rooms however any member of our team is more than happy to get some for you. We apologise for the noise but as you say with us being so central it can be difficult. We hope to welcome you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Booked a terrace room but we had to keep the blinds closed the entire stay to avoid people looking in, awkwardly close to people eating and drinking and felt quite claustrophobic as couldn't even open a window. There was a horrid damp smell in the bathroom too, although the shower was great. Bed comfy and staff lovely. Please give your breakfast waitresses oven mits as the plates were so hot one of them burnt her fingers trying to maneuver a very hot plate onto the table and the cloth slipped, ouch! Wish we'd booked a room in the main house now as they looked lovely and the reviews are great for those. Thank you for storing our luggage :-)

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kwenatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We appreciate your all of your feedback as this can help us improve and grow as a team and as a business. We are very pleased that you found our beds to be comfy and our staff to be friendly. We will look in thicker cloths for our team to use for hot plates, keeping our team safe and happy is paramount to our business. We do try to manage our guests who are staying with us and who are visiting us. We do close the terrace off in the evening for just residents though as we are a public house as well as an Inn it is open during the day. We will look into the damp smell in your room and we will address this. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

What a find! Tempted to keep it to myself as it's such a lovely hotel. Room beautifully furnished and comfortable (we had the Clerk's Office), lounge,bar and restaurant (the "Monkey Room") quirky and original. Very good location in centre of city close to the Minster. Staff, although young, are polite, helpful, efficient and so friendly. Will return!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank pattiboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRachel_Mayes, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. The Clerk's Office (room 18) is a lovely spacious room which can also be made into a twin or a double. Our dining areas are extremely popular and the quirky wallpaper just adds to the comfortable feel of it. Our team will be thrilled your found them polite, helpful and efficient. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews