We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,183)
Filter reviews
2,183 results
Traveller rating
679
767
441
185
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
767
441
185
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews race course grandstand room leisure club balcony overlooking leisure facilities race track city centre the penthouse steam room and sauna two double beds lovely hotel reception staff public areas buffet style large room bus stop family room
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 2,183 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Booked this for two night social stay as visited family. We struggled to park and access from main car parking is a walk and struggle with baggage. No warning of this and no rear entrance to hotel. Room was an awful long walk away down miserable corridors, horrid. Room was ok, clean enough. Pillow were dreadful. Bathroom really boring. Tiles need cleaning better and it was a real struggle for me to get into the bath to shower. My partner is tall and he was just about ok but bath was slippery with the water running and it was decidedly awkward and dangerous. Lovely white fluffy towels though. Why to hotels so often not provide a bottle of drinking water and no warning we had no in room facility. There was great tea/coffee tray and fab biscuits.
The heat was turned off and downstairs facilities were very cold. We had a bar snack on our last night and we were both so chilly. I ordered chicken and received horrid dark coloured fish pieces....suggest not ordering this for your children.....it is on the children menu (could not find snack I fancied).
There is a swimming pool we noticed so this could be good.
Staff generally were helpful and friendly but this place was a disappointment.

Room Tip: ask for one closer to exits.....our room was such a long walk and our view was the car park.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Der Lyn M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies for these issues that you have brought to my attention.
I have passed these on to the relevant teams to ensure that they are rectified.

It is never our intention for our guests to leave our hotel dissatisfied in any way with there stay and I am sorry that this was the case for you on this occasion.

Please contact me directly at the hotel if your travels do bring you back to York and will personally ensure that you have an excellent stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, we had a family room with two double beds. The kids loved the pool area, they have a main 1.2m pool and a shallow kids pool. They also have a jacuzzi that kids are allowed in. The gardens are great fun for the kids to run around, plenty of paths and hiding places. Staff were very helpful.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank StuMC_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights at the beginning of the school easter holidays. Room was fantastic; lots of space and very comfortable beds. We had room 007 without doubt the coolest room number ever! Pool was good for the children. Only complaint was the tiles around the pool were incredibly slippery. Great breakfast, lots of choice for all the family and top quality. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Despite being on the outskirts of town location was good, only 25min walk to the city centre or 10mins on the bus. Was a little bit more expensive than some of the other chains but was well worth it. My 6yr old is keen to go back!!!! Definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The people the ambiance and the food were all first class. When we arrived in reception the staff were warm and friendly, shortly after arriving in our room we got a knock on the door and the receptionist brought us a complementary bottle of wine to celebrate my husbands birthday. The room was clean and well appointed the bed was kingsize and very comfortable. The breakfast whilst self service was very well organised and the choices were good and the food delicious

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avril149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Have stayed regularly at this hotel when in york but this time we were without kids so we were given a room overlooking racecourse . Great size room with outdoor seating and a small allocated grass area. Friendly staff. A great choice of continental food for breakfast. For dinner the very helpful waitress gave us her recommendations and got the chef to remove skin from the fish.very helpful. Plenty parking and bus stop across from hotel, cheaper to buy single trip tickets at £3.20 for a couple.
Nice pool area and plenty seating. Lovely garden area with seating and tables.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews