We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
83
78
44
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
78
44
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree warm cookies monkbar hotel heating cooling system beautiful reception hotel appears to have overlooked the courtyard asked for extra pillows king room free parking space comfortable temperature squeaky floorboards first floor blue badge monk bar reception area is hotel is clean
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This hotel is immaculate. I could not fault the dΓ©cor or standard of upkeep in the communal areas or in the bedroom. The staff were helpful and polite. There is plenty of communal areas including a patio area for people to sit. It is opposite the city walls and a convenient location for restaurants and the city centre. My room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the ring road.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewr0se, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Good morning NandJM, thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Your business is important to us and we value the feedback, so we can keep delivering high standards of service and improve the overall experience in the future. Thank you for the high rating. We very much appreciate it. I do hope that you had a great time in the city of York, again, many thanks and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Matthew Rose - Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with some minor issues. When arriving we found out that there was a wedding, obviously this isn’t an issue but a pre warning would have been nice due the noise. After a lovely day in York we decided to eat in the resturant, the staff was rude when serving us at the bar. However, when bring these issues up to the manager, they was sorted in a friendly manner and we was offered a complimentary service for this. Again it is a beautiful hotel in a great location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank EMarie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewr0se, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Good afternoon EMarie45, thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are extremely satisfied. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Kind Regards, Matthew Rose - Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We had booked this Hotel as it was very near the centre of York. I had explained that I am disabled and would be bringing a mobility scooter. When we arrived we were offered a huge room in the Courtyard with plenty of space for the scooter. There was also a large wet room. It was ideal for my needs.
The room was spotlessly cleaned and comfortably furnished. We were given priority parking on site as I have a Blue Badge, this was very handy as I am unable to walk far. The Hotel was so handy for York City Centre and having my scooter meant we were able to visit all the things we had wanted to see.
Breakfast was a buffet style with a huge choice of cold meat, cheeses, pastries, full English, toast and copious amounts of tea, coffee and juice. The food was piping hot and well cooked and delicious.
We ate in the Hotel restaurant 3 evenings and found although the menu wasn't extensive, the food was well prepared and very tasty.
We hope to visit York again and would definitely stay in this Hotel again. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main road side of the Hotel are, I imagine, noisier than the rooms on the farside. Our room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewr0se, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Good morning Sharon, thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Your business is important to us and we value the feedback, so we can keep delivering high standards of service and improve the overall experience in the future. I am very pleased to hear you found the hotel to be excellent. Thank you for the high rating. We very much appreciate it. I do hope that you had a great time in the city of York, again, many thanks and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Matthew Rose, Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Perfect location, central to shops and bars. Rooms were lovely (not massive but fine), very clean and modern. Nice welcome on arrival including friendly and knowledgeable concierge. We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 221carlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewr0se, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Good morning 221carlan, thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. It is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are extremely satisfied. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Kind Regards, Matthew Rose - Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Very well located just off the city walls and walking distance to all tourist attractions. Lovely recicles house. Looks like an old man or house, with the news included. Breakfast is plentiful and varied.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ikurlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewr0se, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Good morning Lkurlat, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us at our property. Your business is important to us and we value the feedback, so we can keep delivering high standards of service and improve the overall experience in the future. Thank you for the high rating. We very much appreciate it. I do hope that you had a great time in the city of York, again, many thanks and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Matthew Rose - Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews