We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
US$121
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$245
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$256
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$212
US$187
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$155
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$223
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$175
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,420)
Filter reviews
2,420 results
Traveller rating
759
954
481
153
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
954
481
153
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewcar parksuperior roomcity centrebreakfast was buffet stylereception staffrailway stationgreat central locationfire alarmsecure parkingper dayironing boardbreakfast roomwould stay againbooked this hotelshort stayone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 2,420 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3-5th April. When we arrived there were 3 check in desks which four members of staff were stood around chatting. All of the staff looked at us but none of them greeted us or attempted to check us in for a few minutes despite us being the only people there. The woman who gave us our room keys told us that we were on the second floor, but we had to walk up to the first floor and to the other side of the hotel to find the lift which would take us to the correct floor. We got a bit confused on the way and asked two women cleaners which way to go, who ignored us. Once we found our room, we opened the door and the carpet was covered in dark stains and the room was very basic, with a squeaky bed and thin bed sheets/blankets. We weren’t too concerned as it was only a room to stay in for a few days, despite not living up to pictures online. On our second day we returned to find our room “cleaned”, the bed was made and the quilt tucked in under the mattress. When we pulled back the quilt some clothes we had folded on the bed before we left (shorts, pyjamas) were there, messy and fossilised between the sheet and the quilt. I understand that bed linen may not get changed on short stays but you would expect the bed to be made properly, did the cleaners assume we wouldn’t see our belongings stuffed in between the sheets? Additionally, the room had a kettle and two coffee cups as a little drinks station. We had previously used these cups and they looked as though they had been replaced with clean ones. When we turned them over to use them again they were still dirty, discoloured and previous drink was stuck to the bottom of the cup. Cleaners made no attempt to even rinse or wash out cups, or replace them with clean cups, they just turned them over. These issues with cleaning made me wonder how long the bed or cups hadn’t been properly changed before we arrived. I was reading through other reviews to see if others had a similar experience. One said that rooms were soundproof, ours was not. We could hear the room next doors mobile phone vibrate when they had a text and also heard other guests having sex. We had no room view of the river or of York, Just of more rooms/brick. Upon check out there was only one woman at the desk, who mentioned she was on by herself and had over 100 check in/outs, and seemed very flustered and busy (but lovely). My stay here gave me the impression that the park inn has a real issue with staff and how the place is run. Staff don’t seem to care about the service they provide and the ones who do are given too much to do, probably to make up for the staff who slack. The positives of the hotel is that it is directly onto the river and a stones throw away from all of York’s attractions and train station. It is just a shame about its low standards. I wouldn’t stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rchllln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotelGroup, customer care at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,
We're glad to hear that you found the location to be favorable.
However we apologise that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations and that you were unhappy with the staff and housekeeping services.
We will take all of your comments and feedback into account to help us improve in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived early and was able to check in which was great considering the rain outside.
The car park was very convenient, although as previously mentioned, very tight to manoeuvre.
The room was very spacious with lovely views overlooking the river.
The shower was lovely and the towels a good size and soft.
The bed was comfortable but the duvet was thin and seemed short around the sides of the bed.
We couldn’t regulate the heating making the room quite cold.
The bar area was very relaxing but we didn’t try the food as we wanted a restaurant and not bar food. However we found the drinks quite expensive.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Hot and cold buffet with a good selection of fruit teas.
The staff were friendly throughout and very helpful.
The location is very central and everything within walking distance.
We wouldn’t hesitate to book this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 92linda62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We Arrived early and was able to Check in but was told our room would not be readt till after 3pm , So we went and had a look around York , On arriving back after 3 pm we went to our room overlooking the river all seemed well the room while not Massive suited our needs . After returning back after Dinner we went to bed and have to say the Bed was not that comfy and the Duvet was very thin ,this dad not make for a good nights sleep Perhaps the Raddison group should take a look at the Premier Hotel beds and Bedding ? Upon Checking out I was asked for £12 car parking fee which I has already paid when checking in ,Nice try but I don't pay Twice . Would we use the Park inn again ,Doubtful .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The key selling features of this hotel are the location and car parking (which is limited within the City walls). The Car Park is indoor, next to the hotel and is by far the worst car park I have ever encountered. How I got the car out without hitting other cars, pillars or barriers is a mystery to me. The route through the car park is too tight, requiring multiple point turns just to go round a corner. The spaces are tiny and many are impossible to swing into unless you have a Fiat 500 or a Smart Car.

The hotel is okay but a bit lacking in any character. However the rooms were nice and clean and the river view was good. Location for exploring York was excellent. Valus for money was also good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibbie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We liked:
-the view of river (for which you have to pay extra)
-bar area with friendly staff
-cleanliness of room and facilities including ironing board, iron and usb charged by the bed
-location
-excellent soundproofing meaning fab nights sleep
-excellent shower
-having to put our door card into the lift, meaning we felt safer knowing only hotel guests could enter

We did NOT like:
-temperature in room, very chilly, and difficult to control
-very cold in bar area
-having to pay extra for river view
-kettle kept cutting out
-no biscuits
-unpleasant tasteless decor
-reception area unwelcoming and long check in queue on arrival

As my husband said, “It is what it is....average!”

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Tracey

Thank you for your very detailed review. I am sorry we did not fulfil all your expectations but pleased you enjoyed the room and view. I am sorry there was a long queue on arrival but the Easter weekend was exceptionally busy and whilst we had all the team members on duty, the demand around 3.00 p.m. was high.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews