We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly service”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very friendly service”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a well run hotel and an excellent place to stay for a business or leisure trip to York. Staff are proactive in their approach to service which is refreshing. Our room was actually a bit disappointing when I read about some of the other rooms on offer. However, it was clean, well organised and the bed was brilliantly comfortable. Breakfast was v good. and people we met who live in York all commented on the excellence of the restaurant for dinner. We went out so I can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask for advice on the rooms - tell them what you want. Wish I had - was too short of time checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longweekendsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    376
    174
    82
    31
See reviews for
159
735
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North wales
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have just returned from this hotel, ideally situated for town, parking car also wasn't an issue! Hotel staff really friendly especially the blonde girl who works in reception.... Sorry don't know her name!
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of selection but only downfall for us was we booked premier double but was disappointed with what we received, wasn't anything special! I had booked it as a surprise and felt a bit downhearted when seeing it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliqueime
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is very nice, old fashion, the rooms are a good size and comfortable. Position to city centre great, but the only thing to be aware of is parking as it is very limited, with having a restaurant open to the general public. If you can not get a space it is the Public car park at £25 a day and a few hundred meters away, which for older people like myself is not good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for you for posting the review. I am delighted to read the positive comments you made and for the sake of clarity any possible guests reading this review please do not pay for 2 days in the public car park as I am very confident that during your stay car park spaces in our car park do become available on regular basis. On road parking next to the hotel is also available for short term parking.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Grange in the very near future

Best wishes

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed at the Grange Hotel in York UK for 4 days for a conference at the University of York. It was a very beautiful hotel and what made the stay so wonderful was the very helpful and friendly staff. The hot breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent every morning. Peferct location and only a 5-10 minute walk from the Minster. I had a package mailed to me at the hotel and did not arrive before I left and they have mailed it to to my home in Canada. Would definetely stay there again. thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Grange. The staff were helpful and friendly and we had a pleasant, spacious room. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent. The hotel is well situated, in walking distance to the Minster / City Walls, etc.. Note that parking is limited.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry22131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,497 reviews
0.1 km away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,556 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing