We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steakhouse.”
Review of The Cut & Craft

The Cut & Craft
Ranked #128 of 937 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Description: Located in St. Sampsons Square, a historic part York's city centre, The Cut & Craft is an informal steak & beer restaurant specialising in delicious flat iron steak and craft beers. Comfortable, casual and stylish, our venue has been newly renovated to the highest of standards. From our in-house master butcher to our flagship flat iron steak, you'll find something to love at The Cut & Craft.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in St. Sampsons Square, a historic part York's city centre, The Cut & Craft is an informal steak & beer restaurant specialising in delicious flat iron steak and craft beers. Comfortable, casual and stylish, our venue has been newly renovated to the highest of standards. From our in-house master butcher to our flagship flat iron steak, you'll find something to love at The Cut & Craft.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the tastiest Flat IRon steak and T_Bone Steaks.
Very quick efficient service. The chips really hot and well seasoned. Great onion rings too.
Well worth a visit. Book online prior to visit.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank janetsG3982LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cut & Craft, Guest Relations Manager at The Cut & Craft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Janet for your review,

We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your experience with us, thank you for your feedback :)
We hope you will come and see us again soon!

The Cut & Craft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked our table on line as advised by the staff who show customers to there table who are positioned just inside the entrance ,this we did ,arriving for our table at 5.45 and were immediately shown straight to our seats ,where we it was explained that it was 1 hour 45 minutes we had ,plenty of time we thought .It was just myself and Hubby .We we’re positioned in the corner window at the front ,which we loved as we enjoy people watching .It was very busy ,the staff were very efficient ,and also very friendly ,which we loved .We both opted for the flat iron steak which had the seasoning on the side for you to add as much or as little as you wanted ,lovely touch ,we ordered portions of onion rings ,skin on chips ,and rocket and cheese salad .All our food was beautifully cooked ,medium rare for our steak and cut into beautifully presented slices .I had pudding “Lemon Meringue” served with fresh raspberries and a raspberry jus …WOW …There is also a very good selection of cold and hot drinks ,which we both had pints ,lovely and cold for a very warm Tuesday evening in September ..We know when we go to York again where we will be eating each night ..Brilliant evening ,fantastic staff ,fabulous food .

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenniferwZ7401YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cut & Craft, Guest Relations Manager at The Cut & Craft, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Jennifer for taking the time the leave us a review,

We are very pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed your meals and desserts with us,

We hope you will return to visit us again soon!

The Cut & Craft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

Exactly what it says on the tin and lived up to expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful, letting us change our booking when requested. The steaks were good quality and nicely cooked. Sticky Toffee Pudding was very good as was the cheese board. Be aware, the restaurant allows 1 hour 45 for the meal and they are fairly strict on that but it is explained when you go in and service is quick enough. It was a nice atmosphere and we would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Doug-Nicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cut & Craft, Guest Relations Manager at The Cut & Craft, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2021

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit, thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

The Cut & Craft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2021

honestly one of the best steaks me and my partner have ate. the ruffle cauliflower cheese was amazing aswell as the peppercorn sauce!
a stunning restaurant with amazing welcoming staff, especially Anton! he was the best!
Honestly so worth the money! Top class.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank sineadcarolsimm... x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cut & Craft, Guest Relations Manager at The Cut & Craft, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2021

Thank you Sinead for your rating and feedback.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your experience with us :) We will pass on your review to Anton & our team.
We hope to see you again soon!

The Cut & Craft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

When you go out, you like to know that you are going to have a good night. You hope for good atmosphere, ambiance, fantastic food and great service. This place has it all in bucket loads. Our waiter Anton was attentive, knowledgeable and completely on the ball. We had the flat iron steak and some extras. All were perfectly cooked and delicious. We are up on a short break from Bristol and when we come to York again we will be back for sure!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank andyb380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cut & Craft, Guest Relations Manager at The Cut & Craft, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2021

Thank you Andy for your rating,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit with us, we will pass on your feedback to Anton & our team :)
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to York!

The Cut & Craft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cut & Craft also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cut & Craft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.