We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
175
101
22
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
101
22
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingcar parkcosta coffeecity centreair confamily roomgreat nights sleepthe hotel managerlimited parkingtravel lodgewould stay againmins walk awaybudget hotelan excellent hotelstaff on receptionwithin walking distanceplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Excellent New Hotel, staff friendly, short walk to the town due to perfect location, room was immaculate, all together perfect stay, would stay hear again also free hotel parking. Costa right next door.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The hotel was clean, staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The family room may have been a little short on space but it was comfortable and perfect for a short stay and the breakfast the following morning was plentiful and hot. The on-site free parking was a big bonus as was the short walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Stayed for 1 night over Bank Holiday as a family of 4. Free parking was a bonus. Used as a base to explore York. Clean comfortable room. Room was 'snug' with 4 sleeping, but ok for 1 night. 10 mins walk to centre. Staff were friendly & welcoming. Manager & Assistant worked hard during a very busy breakfast. Could not fault & would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jhalpin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Really comfortable bed - slept so soundly. Everything was fresh and clean, especially the en-suite which looked like it had just been re-fitted. There was ample on-site parking, yet situated close enough to the city centre to walk in.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank patricia769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Three staff at reception. No recognition I was there, no words spoken, waited in limbo for at least 2 to 3 minutes. No ‘Sorry to keep you waiting’. Water glass used by previous guest left on the reception desk. Still there when I finally went with my key to find my room. Breakfast ‘acceptable’, mushrooms were dry/chewy due to preparation method.Charging extra for wi fi in this day and age! Cost of the room/breakfast/wi fi hardly any different to the Double Tree discount offered through conference organisers.No tissues in room. Soap dispenser needed fixing - I did it myself!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank ihaines2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards.

Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews