We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simple the best”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of the cottages & parking area - free parking directly outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Rear of the cottages & parking area - free parking directly outside
Meadowbeck
Forget-me-not lounge with patio doors to paved patio area - sea & countryside views
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining area
Kind Bedroom
King Bedroom
Twin Bedroom - 2 singles - can be linked together to create a superking
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom with separate shower cubicle & Bath
Bracken & Willow - looking forward to welcoming you!
Meadowbeck in Springtime
View to Robin Hoods Bay
Wonderful walks
Games Room
Games Room
Meadowbeck - Patio area with countryside & sea views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dfi592614...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simple the best”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What can I say that has not already been said about Lisa and Graham’s holiday cottages Meadowbeck. I stayed during the Whitsun holiday 2016, the weather was what you might call cold, wet, windy and foggy during the week that my wife and I stayed in the cottage called Forget me Not. The cottage is just off the A171 Scarborough to Whitby road, but do not worry you cannot hear any noise either from the traffic, other holidaymakers in the other 2 cottages or from Graham working on his new shepherds hut. The cottage itself is just superb, modern, and clean warm with comfortable furniture and beds. The shower had good water pressure. The views from the patio are good, but misty in the main during our stay and due to the weather we did not use the patio. Graham has created a playroom in another barn for use of the guests with bar football, pool table etc, would be very useful if entertaining children. I would return to these cottages without hesitation and would go as far as to say, that this is the best cottage/apartment/caravan type holiday accommodation that I have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kvaza
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure, lovely cottage ”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for three nights, button that was to short to visit all the things and places we wanted to see. The cottage itself is nicely decorated and ver light. I loved the Windows in our bedroom! If you book this cottage you should certainly take the public footpath to Robin Hoods Bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantasic Family Weekend”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and 11 other family members hired all 3 superb cottages over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. Due to my oldest brother and his family living in Spain we do not get together very often and this year we have a number of special birthday celebrations. My parents turning 60, one of My brothers and husband turning 40 and one my nieces turning 10, so we wanted somewhere special to go as a family. An I can certainly say that these 3 cottages are very special.
They are everything you could want when stopping away from home, from the pristine finish of the cottages right through the furnishings Lisa and Graham the owners have really thought of everything. other than our personal belongings, food and not forgetting the alcohol we didn't need anything else.
The cottages are set in beautiful surroundings along with a couple of Donkeys to play with (which the kids enjoyed). The kids also enjoyed the barn across from the cottages where they could play games including pool and table football. An we made use of for a small do on the Saturday night.
Dogs are welcome and there is a special wash down area for them after those long muddy walks over the fields.
The cottages are around 7 mile from Whitby, a 20 minute drive to Scarborough and a short drive or few mile walk to Boggle Hole where you can go crabbing and enjoy a fantastic coffee in the Café there.
A 5 minute walk from the cottages back up the lane there is a lovely pub that serves fantastic food
Overall we had a fantastic weekend away and nothing was too much for Lisa & Graham and we were well and truly looked after.
I 100% recommend the cottages to anyone.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
We are delighted that you chose our cottages, to bring your family together for birthday celebrations and made good use of the games room in our barn - which is quickly turning into a party venue.
Thank you for providing a detailed review of what you found to amuse yourselves in the area. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Meadowbeck and your special family get together - precious times!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerabi1...
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing second vusit”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Part of me doesn't want to write this review so that I can try to keep this little gem a secret! This is our second stay in Swallow's Rest and everything about it was perfect, from the sea view and donkeys outside our window, to the heated floors throughout the downstairs. We self-cater a lot and this property is without doubt one of the nicest we have stayed in, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and there is everything you need to be totally home from home. The owners are friendly and helpful, and always available in case of problems (not that we had any)! Perfectly located for Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby and the surrounding areas. 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Aah bless you - what a lovely remark to make!
We are thrilled with your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit. We're sure that Bracken & Willow have missed all the extra attention they received and they really appreciated the Hob Nobs you left for them.
Lovely having you all to stay again and we hope it won't be too long before you make a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
punto52
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday ”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed for my birthday enjoyed meadow beck the peace and tranquillity is lovely visited Staithes .Robin hoods bay Bella our Cockerpoo loved the beach .Meadowbeck☺is very comfortable .beautiful views from cowslip we watched sun rise and set .will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2015
Great to hear you enjoyed your birthday stay and appreciated the surrounding area. The sun rising and setting is definitely worth looking out for - we also have some fabulous night skies. Pleased Bella had a good time too - it certainly is dog friendly in the majority of places to visit around here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing