We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sanders Yard(Whitby)
US$153
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$127
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
YHA Whitby(Whitby)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
232
111
48
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
232
111
48
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky tvsea viewcricket groundhonesty barnorth promenadecomfy bedshower roomroom numbersea frontbig bathroomtoastfull english breakfasttown centreshort breakbreakfast was excellentlounge areacooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel was super clean and so was room. Lovely lady on reception who greeted me. Got a parking space as arrived early and wifi was fast :)

Around 15 mins walk to centre nothing drastic

We had a very small double room really big shower though which was brill. Asked for a sea view but cudn’t see out of our window :(

Only thing annoying was room number 1 we were in is at the top of the stairs so we were forever disturbed by noise.

Breakfast was ok apart from the abrupt lady serving it us!!

Apart from that cant complain for a short stay it did the job not certain our room was worth the money paid for it though. Assuming this was due to the weekend been halloween and goth weekend.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank tigerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This was our third visit to The Wheeldale, and we weren't disappointed.

We stayed in a different room this year, which had a sea view. As always, the room was immaculately clean, with everything we needed for the weekend. The staff were as friendly as ever. The breakfasts are still great, with efficient and friendly service, with tasty full English breakfasts. The optional black pudding is still really delicious.

This is just a really great place to stay if you're visiting Whitby - it's on the sea front, it's only a short walk into town, and such a lovely place that stays consistently good.
We would certainly recommend here for a wonderful stay at Whitby.

Room Tip: All rooms here are great
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rose-Chris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Welcoming hotel. No problem parking in the hotel spaces. Our room was spotless, gorgeous sea view, warm and had every thing supplied that you could possibly need. Large bathroom. Wifi & Sky TV with full package. Delicious breakfast with plenty of choices and friendly attentive service. 10 minute pleasant walk into town. Would definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Hotel was fine not a very good welcome.Told room at top of stairs breakfast 8 till 9 have you come by car you might get blocked in that was it.No view but we did book the last room and did not bother us.Breakfast was ok nowt flash normal stuff the poached eggs on the second day were both hard and not nice.Overall there is nothing wrong with this place but have stopped in better places for less money dont think we will be rushing back sorry!

Room Tip: Our room was no1 and had no view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M3292WYpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We are so pleased to have found The Wheeldale - Peter, Rebecca and their staff made us feel really welcome, our room was great, very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the sea view amazing. There was always lots of hot water. Good TV and Wi-Fi, too.
We slept well and enjoyed our breakfasts, which were beautifully cooked.
very close to the Pavilion, and easy to get into town, or onto the beach.
All in all, we would describe The Wheeldale as a family-run, traditional B & B. There are no gimmicks, but everything that you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay is provided. The cats do add to the homely feel, too!
Thanks, everyone at the Wheeldale - you made our holiday so enjoyable, and we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are spectacular!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Islanders44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews