We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$290
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Plough Inn(Sleights)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$893
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveller rating
504
307
95
40
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
504
307
95
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary sherrycountry housesingle tracklovely hotelpublic roomson arrivalminute drivefour poster bedpatio doorssunday lunchlots of characterone night stayoriginal featuresrelaxing breakshort breakbed and breakfastbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 980 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely friendly place staff great . Breakfast excellent loved the fresh fruit , poached eggs were just right. Evening dinner was also very good . It makes a great base from where to visit Whitby and surrounding areas

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 night,we took our dogs ,which I've read on here that they were a dog bed and poo bags and treats ,none of this in our room disappointed --the rooms are small ,but the hall is kept clean the outside area too,but the staff are rude especially in the breakfast and dinning area ,the staff just stood there talking ,when we went for dinner ,we had to beckon the staff across to ask were the pudding menu had not been brought across ,she just said omg I forgot ,she was doing nothing and dinning area not full at all ,rude staff in morning breakfast and not well dresses ,you would not think you would meet staff like that ,in a lovely manor ,like going in joes cafe,what a dissapointment would not return

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dearna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We booked Dunsley Hall on the reviews from trip advisor.
Yes the hotel is old but that’s the character and quirkiness and sets the feel of the place. Yes there was a stern receptionist but the rest of the staff were really lovely and helpful.
We only had breakfast and that was lovely, good choices too.
The hotel is a good walk into Whitby so make sure you are ready for that, but the walk along the beach is really nice. The hills are not for the faint hearted and you’ll feel it when you are at the top of the bank.
Definitely a comfortable bedroom and the room was clean and tidy.
Yes we would stay again, and this time we will try for the summer months as the gardens look lovely to sit outside.
Thank you for a lovely chilled overnight stay Dunsley Hall ☺️

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank iccletroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Booked a last minute winter bargain, one night dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 for £99.

Went this time last year, and not disappointed on our return. The value for money is excellent, considering the quality of the food at dinner.

We took our doctor the first time, and she was welcomed into a comfy dog bed, cosy blanket and treats.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday. When we arrived the room wasn't quite ready and so we were asked if wanted to wait in the bar are. We were provided with coffee, biscuits and some beautiful cake. I'd booked to stay in the same room that I had stayed in the last time I stayed here. It is a good room with our dog as it has doors leading to a garden area. When we arrived in the room there was a dog bed with a nice mattress, dog treats on the dressing table and poo bags which were helpful as I'd forgotten to bring mine with me. The evening meal was superb, the best meal I've had in a long time. I had the chicken for the main course, it was so moist and the vegetables were plentiful and tasty. Despite being quite full we had to try the cheesecake, it didn't dissapoint. The next morning we were still quite full after the evening Neal but couldn't refuse the cooked breakfast as it was so nice to have it cooked for you. Again the food was excellent and cooked as ordered. All of the staff we had dealings with were so friendly, efficient and helpful. We will definatley stay there again soon.

Room Tip: Room 27 is a good room if you have a dog.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank milligan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews