We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money. Untapped potential. ”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night at the special rate of £69 for a double room. Dined in the restaurant and had a 3 course meal for £20 per person which was also amazing value and the food was excellent!

As constructive feedback I would say the hotel lacks attention to detail to make it special - numerous light bulbs needed replacing in the public areas, many cobwebs about the dining room, some cheap looking snd mismatching soft furnishings, absence of curtains in the bar room, cheap looking pictures on the walls. Also lacking in atmosphere - easily resolved - just light the fire in the sitting room, and have some background music playing. Service was very friendly but staff need further training eg waiter delivered our bottle of wine to the table and just left it unopened (screw top) and unpoured. This place just isn’t quite there but has the makings of a high quality hotel for which guests would be very happy to pay a much higher rate.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely friendly place staff great . Breakfast excellent loved the fresh fruit , poached eggs were just right. Evening dinner was also very good . It makes a great base from where to visit Whitby and surrounding areas

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 night,we took our dogs ,which I've read on here that they were a dog bed and poo bags and treats ,none of this in our room disappointed --the rooms are small ,but the hall is kept clean the outside area too,but the staff are rude especially in the breakfast and dinning area ,the staff just stood there talking ,when we went for dinner ,we had to beckon the staff across to ask were the pudding menu had not been brought across ,she just said omg I forgot ,she was doing nothing and dinning area not full at all ,rude staff in morning breakfast and not well dresses ,you would not think you would meet staff like that ,in a lovely manor ,like going in joes cafe,what a dissapointment would not return

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dearna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We booked Dunsley Hall on the reviews from trip advisor.
Yes the hotel is old but that’s the character and quirkiness and sets the feel of the place. Yes there was a stern receptionist but the rest of the staff were really lovely and helpful.
We only had breakfast and that was lovely, good choices too.
The hotel is a good walk into Whitby so make sure you are ready for that, but the walk along the beach is really nice. The hills are not for the faint hearted and you’ll feel it when you are at the top of the bank.
Definitely a comfortable bedroom and the room was clean and tidy.
Yes we would stay again, and this time we will try for the summer months as the gardens look lovely to sit outside.
Thank you for a lovely chilled overnight stay Dunsley Hall ☺️

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank iccletroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Booked a last minute winter bargain, one night dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 for £99.

Went this time last year, and not disappointed on our return. The value for money is excellent, considering the quality of the food at dinner.

We took our doctor the first time, and she was welcomed into a comfy dog bed, cosy blanket and treats.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.2 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,187 reviews
3.9 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
652 reviews
4.1 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,247 reviews
4.3 km away
White Horse and Griffin
3.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: €77 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing