We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raithwaite Estate
Nearby Hotels
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$120
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Estbek House(Sandsend)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,370)
Filter reviews
2,371 results
Traveller rating
1,551
491
221
79
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,551
491
221
79
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrace restaurantspa facilitiespoachers barexecutive roomsteam roomgolf buggyhunters restaurantthe main hotelturn down servicemain hallluxury hotelevery member of staffunderfloor heatingsmall balconybirthday treatfirst classrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 2,371 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Excellent service, outstanding staff, beautiful location, lovely food and relaxing spa! What more can I say! Thank you Rainthwaite for a perfect girly weekend we shall all definitely be back to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed in the gardeners cottage on the Raithwaite Estate over the Easter weekend. It was beautiful, we had a lovely relaxing time. Excellent location for Whitby, set in a beautiful location & really peaceful!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank supauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This spa hotel has pretensions to becoming a 5-star location but it has some way to go yet. We visited for 2 nights on a special rate deal with Secret Escapes and when we checked out neither of the discounts, amounting to over £100, had been deducted from our bill. Deliberate? Who knows but I do know we are not the only guests this happened to.
Our room was very clean and nice with free bottled water each day but otherwise nothing special. There was no air-con so heat control was by radiator. The room was much too warm so we had to sleep with the windows open, even with the rad turned off. Had we paid normal room rate (a lot!) we would have expected a higher standard of accommodation.
Food. Breakfast was fine, with a good selection of cooked food but certainly not up to 5-star standard in quantity or quality. Now for the worst aspect of our stay - dinner. The restaurant is a perfectly nice place and the staff are excellent but they need a new head chef. The menu is much too restrictive with not enough variety or real creativity. The worst aspect was my meal. I ordered sole and when I was filleting it I discovered that there was blood around the bones. This is the first time I have ever seen this anywhere and it was extremely off-putting so I sent the meal back. The waitress returned with the bones removed from the fish and a message from the chef that the blood was as a result of "how the fish had been killed". How many ways of killing a fish do you know?! This was obviously a very undercooked fish and it ruined my evening. Bear in mind that the hotel is not in a location where you can pop out to another restaurant, which we would have done for our second night had the option been available. Next night I chose Coq au Vin which had a peculiar flavour and is not coq au vin in the true sense of the word but it was eatable if disappointing. All in all eating here was a very disappointing experience.
The spa was OK but parts are looking a bit tired. Nevertheless we enjoyed it and both had a spa treatment. It appears that the sauna had been out of order for some weeks before our stay which should not have been the case.
It may seem strange that I have even bothered with a 3-star rating but despite our disappointments we did enjoy our break. Every member of staff knew how to please the guest and did it exceptionally well. Friendly, courteous and possibly the best in any hotel I have stayed in bar one. The hotel itself is in nice gardens and full of character. The surrounding area is beautiful and interesting.
Would we return? Probably not - certainly not before they have a new chef who knows how to cook properly and can put together a more creative menu. However, these things very well may not bother others. It is largely a matter of personal taste after all. The hotel is most certainly not worthy of the 5-star rating they aspire to. They will be able to get that rating but it will require some changes. The other problem is the room rate. I would not recommend anyone paying full rate to stay here - it simply is not value for money. Find a deal and you will probably have a nice break

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeteC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Raithwaite Hall has very good staff that make you feel extremely welcome while not being over the Top :) Its a great location and well worth a visit, Breakfast in the conservatory section is a nice touch

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My favourite hotel and spa. Luxury at it's finest, will continue to be a regular and recommend to all. Possibly the best service ever, puts other hotels to shame. Gardens are beautiful and perfect for a wedding setting.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews