We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendliest and welcoming B&B ever!”
Review of Riftswood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riftswood B&B
Ranked #20 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Well I don't know where to start, Peter and Paula are amongst the nicest people we've met on our travels, they treat you as friends from minute one and make you feel at home straight away with a glass of wine and homemade fruit cake!. How many other B&B owners offer free lifts to guests? Or personalise each breakfast choice menu with your names pre printed for when you arrive? The rooms are lovely and clean, comfortable bed and even a corkscrew and wine glasses if you want to enjoy a relaxing glass of red. Now the food, unbelievable - home cooked, all fresh locally sourced, REAL mushrooms and tomatoes (not tinned!) , bacon, sausages, black pudding I could go on and on. Best of all the Whitby Kippers a la Riftswood with poached eggs and a special butter sauce, Michelin Starred! We will definitely be staying at the Riftswood next time we go to Whitby. Fabulous hosts, I can only sum up by saying if Carlsberg did B&Bs then this is it!

Room Tip: Room 2 was a lovely sized room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ericd542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful three night break in Whitby. we stayed at the lovely Riftswood, very well situated on the West Cliff, two minutes from the sea and a 10 minute stroll down to the harbourside. On arrival we were greeted with home made cake, tea and a glass of wine! Paula and Peter are such welcoming and friendly hosts..happy to share local knowledge and tips for places to eat,drink etc. There were plenty of local magazines and books to peruse in our room and the breakfast room. Peter gave us a walking tour guide to Robin Hood's Bay old town which proved invaluable on our visit there. The cooked breakfast each morning was second to none and set us up for the day. Also,in our room there was an ample supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate together with biscuits and Lindt chocolates replenished daily and more if we had wanted. Spotless room and parking was perfect..right outside. Denzil is one huge soppy poodle pooch! Thank you Paula, Peter and Denzil for helping to make our first visit to Whitby so enjoyable and memorable. We do hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 very good with ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleMFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Unless you visit Riftswood you could never truly appreciate what kind, thoughtful people Peter and Paula are. They left no stone unturned to make our visit a memorable one. We could not fault room two, the lovely breakfast they provided or the warm company that was there in the background.
We arrived as new customers, we left with precious memories. We shall certainly be returning soon.
How could I forget to mention Denzil (the dog), he's the star!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mylinda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

A lovely cozy bed and breakfast on the West Cliff side of Whitby away from the hustle and bustle but within easy walking distance of the sea front. Great hosts who made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tarquinius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Another stay at the Riftswood never fails to give us so much pleasure. Pete and Paula always make us feel comfortable and at home, even making you as an individual very special. The breakfasts set you up for the day and anything left (if anything) is soon spotted and gobbled up by Denzil the huge pooch. The rooms are large, comfortable and have everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble at the Riftswood and I could never find any fault (a part from Pete's jokes and singing). Lovely, lovely Yorkshire people. Thanks for another great stay. Cathy and Troy

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 540CathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.3 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
2.2 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,187 reviews
0.7 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 155 in Whitby
359 reviews
2.3 km away
The Penny Hedge Lodge
The Penny Hedge Lodge
#21 of 155 in Whitby
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riftswood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riftswood B&B

Address: 5 Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: €75 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian, family run B&B, quietly situated in a secluded part of Whitby, yet within close proximity to the sea front, beach and the bus & rail stations in the centre of Whitby. Guest facilities include 3 large double en-suite bedrooms, with full English breakfast using local produce, along with a selection of alternative items for those with a smaller appetite.Please note we are a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riftswood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riftswood Bed And Breakfast
Riftswood Hotel Whitby
Riftswood B&B Whitby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing