We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
317
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit cake peter paula kippers on arrival welcome drink sea front marmalade warm welcome nothing is too much trouble quiet location perfect hosts home from home little gem couldn't do enough toast home made comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful three night break in Whitby. we stayed at the lovely Riftswood, very well situated on the West Cliff, two minutes from the sea and a 10 minute stroll down to the harbourside. On arrival we were greeted with home made cake, tea and a glass of wine! Paula and Peter are such welcoming and friendly hosts..happy to share local knowledge and tips for places to eat,drink etc. There were plenty of local magazines and books to peruse in our room and the breakfast room. Peter gave us a walking tour guide to Robin Hood's Bay old town which proved invaluable on our visit there. The cooked breakfast each morning was second to none and set us up for the day. Also,in our room there was an ample supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate together with biscuits and Lindt chocolates replenished daily and more if we had wanted. Spotless room and parking was perfect..right outside. Denzil is one huge soppy poodle pooch! Thank you Paula, Peter and Denzil for helping to make our first visit to Whitby so enjoyable and memorable. We do hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 very good with ensuite
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleMFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Unless you visit Riftswood you could never truly appreciate what kind, thoughtful people Peter and Paula are. They left no stone unturned to make our visit a memorable one. We could not fault room two, the lovely breakfast they provided or the warm company that was there in the background.
We arrived as new customers, we left with precious memories. We shall certainly be returning soon.
How could I forget to mention Denzil (the dog), he's the star!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mylinda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

A lovely cozy bed and breakfast on the West Cliff side of Whitby away from the hustle and bustle but within easy walking distance of the sea front. Great hosts who made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tarquinius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Another stay at the Riftswood never fails to give us so much pleasure. Pete and Paula always make us feel comfortable and at home, even making you as an individual very special. The breakfasts set you up for the day and anything left (if anything) is soon spotted and gobbled up by Denzil the huge pooch. The rooms are large, comfortable and have everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble at the Riftswood and I could never find any fault (a part from Pete's jokes and singing). Lovely, lovely Yorkshire people. Thanks for another great stay. Cathy and Troy

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 540CathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We stayed for 3 nights and felt that in Paula and Peter we had found two top quality friends. Denzil the dog was friendly too!
If you wanted a masterclass in how to run a B&B come here and observe. All our phone conversations before arrival were warm and friendly. On arrival we were welcomed in with offers of wine, tea and cake. Denzil was pleased to make our acquaintance but would have been kept away had we said we preferred not to meet him. The room was very comfortable The little things made a difference, Lindt d'Or chocs replenished daily, flexibility with breakfast times, extra milk in the fridge downstairs etc. The breakfasts were superb. I wanted to take a picture of my plate on day one and it tasted as good as it looked, with local bacon, black pudding and sausage it was cooked to perfection. Paula's scrambled egg was top quality and apparently Peter's are not bad either! Engaging, humorous and intelligent conversation available over breakfast if you want it. Great local knowledge.
Quiet road just 5 minutes stroll along the cliff top to the centre of the action in Whitby.
We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Room 3 was grand
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Southernhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews