We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$205
US$159
View deal
Expedia.comUS$205
PricelineUS$177
Hotels.comUS$205
CheapTicketsUS$205
eDreamsUS$159
TravelocityUS$205
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
415
226
84
42
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
226
84
42
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park roll top bath theatre royal city centre eggs benedict lovely hotel large bathroom full english wedding party saturday night cooked breakfast yogurt receptionist minibar venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2020

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights during half term break.
On arrival, the receptionist, (Karen) was exceptionally welcoming. In fact, over the course of our stay, she was helpful, friendly, and we felt she couldn't have done more to make our stay really enjoyable.
The room itself was clean and comfortable, with a particularly lovely bathroom!
Central location was great, and a bonus was the free parking behind the hotel.

Room tip: No air-con (though not an issue for us as we stayed in October)
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Good afternoon James C M,

Wow, thank you very much for your very kind words, and for taking the time to leave this review.

All feedback good or bad is taken seriously and is shared with all of our team here at St Giles.

Karen is an efficient, productive and friendly staff member that plays a crucial part of our team, therefore, thank you again for noticing.

We wish you a very merry Christmas.

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

Check in was difficult as no reception staff available. Room was spacious a little tired but clean. Very hot bathroom, boiling hot water and no way of controlling temperature throughout our stay. Unusual 1 way system for covid which staff didn’t follow. Very poor mattress in bedroom and road noise and noise from upstairs creaking floor meant a poor nights sleep. On the plus side an excellent position, parking very handy and breakfast was lovely. Decor in bar and restaurant a bit at odds with the front area. Check our with Karen and lovey Ava was a nice end to our stay. Not luxury by any means but fine for a night.

Room tip: We were in 17 but wouldn’t want that room again
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewmB1694HE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Hello andrewmB1694HE,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take feedback very seriously so thank you for sharing yours with us.

I would like to apologise for your first impressions to find no staff member at the reception desk upon check-in.
I have followed this up and can assure you that this will not happen again.
May I ask why the one way system was unusual? I will be sure to share this with the staff.
Unfortunately, being located in the city centre, outside noise is something that is out of our control.

Could you kindly get in touch so we can discuss this further.

Karen is delighted with the mention of Ava and herself, thank you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Have a very merry Christmas.

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020 via mobile

Staff on arrival were friendly and professional
Car park and car park entrance not very nice or welcoming but upstairs to reception and it looks nice. Beautiful old building.
Room a nice size big more modern in style furniture and bedding clean, carpets a bit stained and bathroom a little tired but in all a lovely hotel for a night away. Sorry didn’t use spa as we was there to meet family.

Date of stay: October 2020
2  Thank Gingedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Good afternoon Gingedeb,

We hope you are safe and well.
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really do appreciate it.

All feedback is taken seriously and will be shared with all the team.

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a lovely stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Unfortunately, there is some work taking place in the building next door to us, therefore making our back entrance not so inviting. We are looking forward to when they have finished.

You have a great Christmas and all the best for the new year.

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Well-situated with free city centre parking. We had premium rooms that were spacious but plain. The public areas are a bit of a mish-mash of styles and need updating; lovely plant wall on the terrace. Both receptionists were good - in contrast with the breakfast staff. One was especially abrupt - no 'good morning' just a 'you haven't paid for breakfast' ( we had) followed by a stream of barked instructions and loads of attitude. A smile and a pleasant manner go a long way in the hospitality business - always amazed how many don't 'get' this basic skill.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank casperdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Good afternoon Casperdoggy,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We take feedback very seriously and implement any changes as necessary to fulfil a relaxing stay here at St Giles.

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy to hear that the check-in and check-out process was efficient and that you liked our live plant wall.

Our public areas were re-designed and updated in 2019. We have not had a mention regarding this before however we appreciate your opinion.
Sorry to hear you felt this way regarding the waitress. I will take action as necessary to prevent this from occurring again. However, referring to a human being as she was "BARKING ORDERS", is not pleasant and not appreciative.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Have a very Merry Christmas.

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

Great location, great free parking which is excellent in Norwich City Centre.

Nice facility and great breakfast

Staff helpful

Building very authentic classical situated in short walking distance form all of the main City shopping, dining and drinking experiences on foot no car required once arrived and checked in.

Rooms comfortable and ensuite

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank stephennorris1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liza Dunnell, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Good Afternoon stephennorris1230,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review, and a lovely one at that.

We really appreciate guests sharing their thoughts and experiences (good or bad).

I will be sure to share this with all of the team.

You have a very Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews