We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a wonderful house for Christmas”

Review of Hill House Norfolk

Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk
Drawing Room
Dining room seats 16 to 18
En-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Designer furniture
Morning room with multimedia system
Games room with lots of toys
Bedroom 1
Four-poster bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Walk through shower/en-suite bedroom
www.hillhousenorfolk.com
Free use of leisure and golf club
Free use of leisure facilities at a local country club 5 mins away
Tennis court and the HH Kids Club
6 acres of gardens and grounds
Lots of catering options including fish and chips
Children's tea in the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leigh C
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“a wonderful house for Christmas”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Having such a large extended family we always rent a large property for Christmas. Hill House has to be our favourite one yet ! From the lovely warm introduction from Tara (homemade cakes and champagne) the wonderful decorations and Christmas trees,even putting away all the food delivery ! everything had been thought of. A wonderfully comfortable house with open log fires, a great family kitchen and of course the games room where we spent many an hour playing pool and air hockey. The modern art we loved and it works really well in such a beautiful old property. We loved every minute of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the open fires and wonderful sitting room
Liked least: not being able to walk to a good pub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Guests find it so useful !! Have a great 2015 and hope we can see you again, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0sie22
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Winter Weekend”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Hill House for a long weekend from the 28th November to the 1st of December for a very special occasion with a group of girlfriends. I am so glad that I picked this place over the others I was considering as it really does have the 'Wow!' factor and the staff made us all feel incredibly welcome and created a really special experience.

The process of booking and arranging the weekend was incredibly smooth due to prompt responses from Darren and timely invitations to review the in-house dining experience and many other treats on offer at the house.

I would thoroughly recommend the Bespoke in-house dining experience, a wonderful evening was put on for us full of surprises that I won't give too much away about! We also had Yolande with us for 3 hours on the Saturday and enjoyed some fabulous treatments.

The house, although large, is very cosy in the winter and there is plenty of surrounding countryside to enjoy on the doorstep. We walked to the village of Stoke Holy Cross on the Sunday which is roughly 3 miles away and had a very enjoyable lunch at The Wildebeest pub.

One point to note! If you do intend to do your own cooking, bring oils & condiments etc as the only cupboard ingredients there are salt and pepper.

Thanks for a truly fab weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for the review - it really is appreciated and helping us get the word out !! Really hope we can see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Truly Bespoke Experience”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from our stay at Hill House. We went with 12 other couples and two teenage lads to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. The care and attention put into making your stay exceptional is amazing. Everything is carefully thought through. Bills fish and chip van on Friday night (bootiful), golf organised for the lads on Saturday and beauty treatments by the fabulous Yonlande for the ladies. We opted for the bespoke evening inhouse dining on Saturday evening which was absolutely amazing starting off with Tara's cocktails and finishing off partying into the early hours of the morning!!! (A few sore heads in the morning). We played croquet and tennis on Sunday morning and walked to Stoke Holy Cross (which took about an hour and a half) and enjoyed a fabulous Sunday Roast at the Wilderbeest. We all sat down with popcorn and a film to finish a packed and exhausting weekend. We were made to feel like we owned the house and hats off to Tara, Dorkas and Yolande and the rest of the team, especially Darren who provided the venue!!!!. We loved our stay and will cherish many many happy memories. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you Julie for the review - it's really appreciated. We're so glad that you had a great stay. The team really enjoyed looking after you. All the best, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaileyTri...
Bray
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Do it - you will have the time of your life !”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There are so many reviews that just ooze with compliments for this amazing venue and this will be no different, but I hope I can add in a few bits of info that may help you decide and prepare for your visit.... But what ever you do, if you are looking for a celebration venue with family and friends or just somewhere to totally relax with the company of your chosen guests ... Hill House delivers .... and then some...just go ahead and book it.

We were a group of 4 families, 8 adults, 9 kids (from 2 yrs to 12yrs) - all there to celebrate a 40th birthday over the August bank holiday weekend.

In the lead up to the event Darren provided us with an array of options to enhance the stay, we chose to go with the Fish and Chip van on the arrival night, Yolande beauty treatments on the Saturday, the complimentary golf at the local Dunston Hall course and the Private Dining in-house chef for the Saturday night.

Darren and his team have everything in hand and all gets smoothly organised, it's all well rehearsed.

We were welcomed by Tara (part of Darren's team) as we arrived - she was amazing, making us feel instantly like we had arrived at our dream home ... Ours.. the place to relax and have fun. The kids explored at speed throughout the property with screams of delight as they uncovered every room and found little surprises along the way... Tara took time with us to take a full tour of each room and made us aware of all the features.

Tara had unpacked and put away our rather large Sainsburys order (which had minimal substitutes !) into the two Smeg fridge freezers and large larder. Tara showed us to the welcome champagne and amazing meringue cupcakes and left us to it... With the promise of returning to be the front-of-house rep for our Bespoke Private Dining meal the next night.

So, let's give you a brief rundown of the property:
-Kitchen+Lader+Utility: 3 rooms all adjacent. Oil fired Aga in the kitchen, accompanied by a conventional dual electric oven and hob. Loads of utensils, mugs, glasses, serve-ware, Global knives(inc sharpener), nespresso coffee pod machine (with pods supplied) + filter coffee machine (with complimentary pack of coffee). The kitchen has an 8 seater table for casual dining. Dishwasher is in the kitchen (complimentary dishwasher tablets), bin bags, cleaning products ..... Everything your home would need for weekend !!! In the utility room is a washing machine and the most incredible array of baby changing products: nappies, talc, wipes, steriliser, baby monitor....amazing !

-games room: kids had loads of fun in there (air hockey, pool table, pinball, multi-retro-game arcade machine)

-formal dining room: huge table, lovely log burning fireplace (most formal rooms have a fireplace, with each fireplace stocked with logs, kindling, matches and firelighters). Mood lighting chandelier - controlled by the House iPad.

- TV Lounge: B&O TV + surround / audio system (Darren has invested throughout the entire house in B&O and has set it up to allow you to pump music throughout all rooms from one central source - eg your phone). Comfy sofas, lots of bean bags - kids helped themselves to various movies that Darren provides .... As well as the complimentary movie night popcorn.

-reception room: this is where the adults took our relaxation time ... Roaring fire comfy sofas, B&O music, drinking, chatting, chilling... When Tara returned for the Private Dining night she setup the cocktail reception in this room, and made use of the disco lighting system to give it a cocktail lounge ambience ... Cocktails were amazing as were the canapés.

-bedrooms: great sizes, clean and fresh, comfortable nights sleep guaranteed (pillows and mattress combo worked very well). Lots of storage in most rooms. En-suites for the 4 adult rooms were great - good stock of products, towels and toilet rolls.

- grounds: lots of space, tennis court + outdoor table tennis (lots of racquets and balls available), great areas for everyone to explore

- bbq+pizza oven: we loved the pizza oven ! We ordered pre made bases from Sainsburys and then got the kids to invent toppings... We got the oven going with the complimentary logs a few hours before cooking... It was amazing.

- Fish & chips: Bill arrived exactly on time... And within 15 mins was dishing out an endless supply of top-draw English cuisine ... We had a few special requests that we had passed on to Darren in advance (Saveloy, pickled onions, curry sauce, mushy peas) - we were overwhelmed with the quantity, the service, the quality and the banter that we had with Bill - real value for money (especially as it was on our arrival day, when the last thing you want to do is cook)

- Golf: Dunston Hall, good course (very busy - but was a bank holiday), but buggies and a hire clubs were all ready... Course was in good shape and the Marshall and Pro Shop were very helpful.

- Yolande: house visit by Yolande the beauty therapist is thoroughly recommended (she was requested at short notice to attend and was highly professional), pedicures, facials all of the highest quality.

-Bespoke: the private dining experience - team starts to arrive from 6pm, setting up the dining room and the reception room and commence food prep. By 7:30pm cocktails were flowing and tasty canapés in-hand. Kids even had Mocktails... The meal was truly superb, we are a group of foodies and have had the opportunity to dine at some of the best eateries at home and abroad....and the total experience (service, food, atmosphere) was up there with the best of them.

We all had such a fantastic time, yes the cost of the rental is in the luxury range, but that's what you get - a luxury venue with everything thought through to make sure you get the break you are looking for.

Epic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thanks for taking the time to put down such a comprehensive review Sam. It's really appreciated - guests have told us how helpful recent reviews are. I will make sure the team gets a copy of this now....Thanks again for choosing us, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hill House delivers, it was amaze balls ;)”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I was looking for a house to share with a group of friends to celebrate my 50th birthday, I wanted a house where we’d all have some luxury & comfort, somewhere we could come and go as we pleased and do what we wanted to do when we wanted to do it and to not be on top of each other, with the exception of coming together as a group for a meal. As soon as I saw Hill House I knew I’d found ‘the one’ and booked it without hesitation or without reading any reviews (I read them about 3 months after I’d booked it), Hill House did not disappoint, we were all, quite literally, blown away.

We received an extremely warm welcome from Chris. As she gave us a tour of the house, I stood back a little and watched the expressions on our friends faces, their jaws literally dropped and their eyes widened with each corner turned, with each room they peered into. Within probably 20 minutes of arriving we were enjoying champagne and cupcakes on the lawn, an absolutely perfect start to our weekend, a real treat.

We continued relaxing and enjoying each other’s company, we’d all stopped clock watching, we had fish & chips to look forward to, Bill arrived to cook for us in front of the house, he was extremely professional, polite and funny and the food was delicious, please don’t hesitate to book the fish & chip supper, you don’t have to go anywhere, you don’t have to get cabs or drive, you just stop what you’re doing 5 minutes before, get yourself a plate and a drink and enjoy…

We had 3 nights here and if you have a busy clock watching life there’s absolutely no better place to spend your time, we didn’t venture out too much as the house had everything we could have possibly wanted, and it really felt like home, albeit on a rather larger, grander scale. No one used Dunston Hall, but when we return, and we will return to stay longer next time, then I’m sure we will, it certainly is a welcome addition.

We would also thoroughly recommend the Bespoke meal on the Saturday evening, I won’t give away too much as I wouldn’t want to spoil it for anyone thinking of doing this as there are little surprises that make it extra special. The food and service faultless, very professional yet fun and friendly. I wouldn’t want this to come across as a negative comment, it was just an observation, the Bespoke meal was certainly more than adequate for the ladies but I felt that maybe the men were still a little hungry, although they didn’t say, the portions are not huge for hungry men, however I understand it’s very much quality over quantity, but I think maybe a bowl of small roast/pan fried herby potatoes to perhaps go with the main and maybe some vegetables for the ladies would have been very welcome, something that can be left on the table to top up your main meal, maybe offered at a small additional cost, at least people then have the option to add this if they need to, the Norfolk fresh air certainly gives you an appetite.

I personally wanted to go back to Hill House even before I’d stayed there and when we did finally arrive we certainly didn’t want to leave, it’s a stunning house in a stunning location, it had a great energy and presence to it.

Heartfelt thanks to Darren and to your amazing team, I could have chatted all day to the lovely lady who came on the Monday morning to bag up the linen.

My birthday weekend is full of happy memories and it was all I hoped it would be, my only regret is we should have stayed longer, I personally didn’t want to pry myself away from the house for longer than I had to as I felt so at home and I didn’t want to regret not spending time there. We won’t, and actually haven’t hesitated to recommend Hill House to friends/family, it does exactly what it says on the tin and some!!! Keep doing what you’re doing as you have a winning team & formula ;-)

Very best wishes,
Paula & Lee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we all felt thoroughly at home & were totally relaxed within 30 seconds of arriving
Liked least: leaving :(
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Hi Paula, Thanks for coming to stay and thanks for writing a comprehensive review - it's really appreciated. Love the photos and love the wigs :) Hope we see you again, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,107
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing