We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Value For Money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aswad Barn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Outside setting area with barbeque
Entrance to property
Garaging under carport
Bathroom with large shower
Cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
winstonwe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed for four nights with my partner and young baby, while visiting family in Norwich. It was the perfect place for us. Our own space with two bedrooms, lots of nice touches that you won't get in a B and B and a good price. A very quiet area to boot. We will be back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarjma...
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well appointed cottage, near to lots of beautiful places.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just had a perfect week at this charming cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone exploring the beautiful Norfolk and Suffolk areas. The cottage is very well equipped and the owners, Melvyn and Linda were very warm and welcoming. We could not fault our stay in any way. It would also be a very safe place for children as it is situated in a gated courtyard. We plan to return again next year, if all goes well.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hils120
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cottage- everything we needed- great base for exploring Norfolk”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Hosts Linda and Melvyn were very welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Aswad Barn had everything (and more) than we needed. A great place to come 'home' to after days exploring. Good base, good facilities close by, P&R, market, pub etc. Highly recommended. Thanks for the memories and goodies!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Self catering, feel of the cottage, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal L
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I would highly recommend this wonderful cottage to anyone looking for a warm relaxing place to relax. Melvyn and Linda both welcomed us on our arrival and were so warm. The cottage has been converted to a very high standard with everything you need. We have 2 young kids so the property opens out onto a secure closed courtyard and also there is a wonderful play area for kids. We will definitely be going back to stay again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property and the welcome we received
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Z
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and lovely”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is very clean and modern yet it has character. The owner, Linda, was very friendly and even left us some milk and eggs for the morning. We used our Satnav GPS which brought us to the wrong address (beware that Google Maps does not show the right location for this address and it's difficult to see at night!) The owner was kind and had offered us directions.

We definitely recommend this accommodation if you're staying in the area - it even can have more people than four if you're ok to sleep in the sofas. Just make sure you talk to Linda to get the directions right!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing