We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tucked away..”
Review of number 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
number 17
Ranked #17 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

In a quiet little street in the picturesqueTombland area, a short taxi or bus ride from the station and near the shops and market, as well as the cathedral and lanes area. An unusual and imaginative layout, using the orginal building and the old workshops (?) at the back. The rooms are fairly small, but comfortable and well-furnished. The bath/shower rooms are of a high standard and the breakfast is lovely, with fresh fruit and breakfast cooked to order. The family room is very tastefully decorated and spacious. If it gets too warm, you can open the window. Near the Rib of Beef (great beer and riverside drinks) and the Spanish restaurant. (forgotten its name!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frimz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for number 17
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have just had yet another really lovely stay at Number 17. Love Norwich but Number 17 is the icing on the cake - was very upset when I couldn't get a room there a couple of trips ago!!!
Standard of decoration, attention to detail etc is all of the highest quality. The whole place always smells wonderful and is spotless. Thicker towels than most top quality hotels I've stayed out.
I'm surprised by other reviews that complain about noise as the tranquility of the location is one of its real bonuses. It is a few minutes walk from the city centre, crossing the river Wensum and past the local theatre - great ambience in this area. Also only about 15 minutes walk from the rail station which is a godsend. I have never been kept awake by any noise at all and have stayed in various rooms both in the main building and the outside "annexe".
I can see that some people might find the owner less than gregarious, but he is always helpful and pleasant whenever I have stayed there. One doesn't have to be able to talk for England to be a good host and I hate staying at places where the hosts prattle on incessantly whilst I'm trying to eat breakfast or get back to my room after a long day!
For a relaxing, luxurious stay at resonable rates you cannot beat Number 17...I am already looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All rooms I've stayed in have been great
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJMMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

As we were travelling with relatives we were offered shared accommodation: two bedrooms, one with lovely sitting area, and second room upstairs with shared bathroom. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The shared accommodation gave us a big price reduction. The owners were extremely helpful and the breakfast was super. Highly recommended and would stay there again if visiting Norwich.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieDRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

arrived for one night stay not much of a welcome,room small but clean,bathroom very small sink to small to wash your face in ,but the biggest problem was the noise from the road and people coming back from the pubs and clubs we were kept awake till after 3am ,breakfast was good and we were given a car park pass which was very helpful .I think £80.00 for room 2 is to expensive especially with the noise you have to put up with dont stay in room 2.

Room Tip: dont book room 2 if you want to sleep
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joePenkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Rang the day before arrival to make sure of check in time, got a very abrupt and unhelpful man who said coming early would be 'fine' and wouldn't tell me where the car park was.
There is no reception area, guests arriving have to wait in the breakfast room. The guest toilet door is broken and can only be opened with a screwdriver.
On arrival, found that the room was not ready and eventually got in 1 1/2 hours after the time I had been assured would be 'fine'.
Parking is at the back in a Pay and Display, though you can move the car for a few hours to a nearby hall, then back to the Pay and Display.
To be fair, the room was beautiful and I was very pleased, though if I had been bigger than a size 10 I doubt getting in and out of the shower would have been easy.
We didn't sleep a wink, due to the room being so hot and drunk people coming past the window screaming and shouting at each other all night.
Breakfast was nice but customer service left a lot to be desired, not my idea of politeness, and the owner told guests nearby that "all toast is brown when it comes out the other end". They weren't amused.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pentatonictherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
0.6 km away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
646 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.6 km away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
1.3 km away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#16 of 50 in Norwich
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to number 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about number 17

Address: 17 Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: €107 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — number 17 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
number 17 is positioned in the historic heart of the city, within 5 minutes walk of the main shopping area. Our contemporary styled rooms offer en-suite shower or bathrooms, LCD satellite TV's, free internet access, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryers.Guests are offered a full service breakfast including cereal, seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, patisserie and "full English." Whether your stay is for business or pleasure expect a warm welcome at number 17. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your number 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 17 Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing