We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price and poor service.”
Review of Asia de Cuba

Asia de Cuba
Ranked #1,261 of 24,997 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$125
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Long Acre
Transit: Leicester Square, Charing Cross, Covent garden, Picadilly Circus
Description: For global travellers with a cultured palate and a love of variety, Asia de Cuba at St Martins Lane is a destination restaurant with a whimsical, enchanting interior design and a must-taste fusion philosophy. Cuban-born executive concept chef Luis Pous enhances Jeffrey Chodorow’s original culinary vision with experimental combinations and a new twist on old favourites. Inspired by the cultural synthesis of old Havana’s Chinatown, Pous interprets Asian-influenced Cuban fare for a modern crowd and a discerning palate. Reflecting the same authentic preparations, tropical accents and sharing-style presentation, Asia de Cuba is a chic dining sanctuary. For a taste of the tropics and loved by guests and food critics alike, the menu is full of fresh ingredients, handcrafted dishes, as well as our signature ceviche's. Teamed with our eye-catching interiors, Asia de Cuba makes for an unforgettable dining experience with surprising cultural flavours.
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Came here with 8 friends for my wife's birthday. The food was good but was certainly not worth the price tag. We had to keep asking the waiter for a drink which got boring after a while. The cocktails were good but at £15 a go they really were not worth it. When the mains came myself and another one of our group had to wait for ages for ours to be served and when they were the other guests had pretty much finished. Not what you expect from a 'top London restaurant'. My wife complained when we got the bill and they took off the 2 mains we had to wait for and the extortionate service charge. Don't think I'll be coming again.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank christopherlK2023ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 2,375 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018

This restaurant is located in the St Martin’s Lane Boutique Hotel.

We booked on recommendation & selected the 3 course menu with a glass of Proseco. It didn’t disappoint the food was plentiful & of good quality as also was the service received.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansLondon, Supervisor at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Helen W,

Thank you for your lovely review. At Asia de Cuba we try to accommodate all price ranges starting at £25 for a 2-course meal. After all who says that high-end cuisine has to come at a great cost? We are really looking forward to seeing you return in the future. For any other queries, please do not hesitate to contact me on carlos.deoliveira@sbe.com

Kindest regards,
Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

A simple fusion of Asian and Latin American dishes that you and your party will enjoy. This is my second time here and definitely will not be my last. The staff are attentive. If they offer a suggestion on the menu try it. They are always on point. The decor and ambience work well. And it is centrally located. A great place before the theatre.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank pas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansLondon, Supervisor at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear PaulCharlesLondon,

Thank you for your five stars review. We always appreciate feedback especially from our returning guests. We are delighted by the way you described Asia de Cuba ‘Havana in London’. Is good to know that somehow we can transport our guests to Cuba throughout our food, a unique ambience and Latin rhythms that are always on play, even if only for a meal.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Asia the Cuba very soon. For any other queries please don’t hesitate in contact me at carlos.deoliveira@sbe.com

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Really enjoyed the food, service was great it was a shame the live music is only on for a couple of hours over the bottomless brunch! Would have nice to have music throughout, otherwise lots of food and a thoroughly enjoyable meal!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank laurashelley2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansLondon, Supervisor at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear  laurashelley2018,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Asia de Cuba. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed thoroughly both the food and service. We truly believe the live music makes all the difference, however despite the live band only play for a short period of time the Latin rhythms always continue throughout the day in an original and unique playlist combining multiple bands and musicians.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Asia de Cuba very soon.

With kindest regards,
Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Great location, next to Trafalgar Square, nice vibe and attentive service.

My starter was ceviche which was fantastic. My mains was tuna, which was nice but a tiny bit bland by comparison. My friend had the spiced half chicken, which was also good but a tiny bit bland. Dessert was donuts, also good. We also ordered a couple of sides fried rice, Bok-Choy and rice; which were all tasty.

There was was an offer online so price for 3 courses a non-alcoholic and alcoholic cocktail with sides was about £50 pp.

Overall would recommend, the restaurant is tucked inside a restaurant so not well signposted. It has a hipster entrance as you walk in.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansLondon, Supervisor at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Diana M,

Thank you for your four-star review. We really do appreciate our guests taking the time to leave us feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you found a couple dishes to be slightly bland. We always tried to ask for food feedback throughout our guests' meal so we can promptly replace any dish that is not up to standards. Nevertheless, I’m delighted to hear that you enjoy the overall experience and you were able to try our signature dessert, the Mexican Doughnuts.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to show you that we can do much better.

For any other queries please don’t hesitate to contact me at carlos.deoliveira@sbe.com.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asia de Cuba also viewed

 

Been to Asia de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing