We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, urine smelling room, not worth it”
Review of LSE Passfield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LSE Passfield Hall
Ranked #85 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The room was smelling of urine and the bed had hairs, long and short hair and I was surprised to see a note in the room that the bed linnens are changed once a week.they left instructions saying that the receptionists are working till 10:30; afterwards the security take over and can offer limited assistance.
I was upset as my room was given to someone else and I was given this bad smelling dirty room.
The room was so hot ...sauna like .. I opened the door and window but did not help and couldn't sleep till 2 am and woke up at 6 ... cars sounds are very loud.
The toilets were floaded and wanted to grab my phone and take picture but couldn't withstand the picture and was going to throw up.
The room is too expensive and doesn't worth it. If I did not arrive late at 10 pm, and if I did not have to stay few hours till the morning I was going to leave. I would never return and would never recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: Not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi Angelgog

We are terribly sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay at LSE Passfield Hall. Unfortunately we do not install air conditioning in our rooms which we can understand can be problematic during the hotter Summer months. Housekeeping should also be undertaken every 2-3 days and are perplexed to a note suggesting otherwise. Due to central London location we also do have some noise pollution from passing cars on occasion. We are sorry to hear of flooded toilets and would suggests any issues to be reported to our front desk team for immediate repair.

Regardless, we apologize again and we hope you return to London again soon.

Thanks,

LSE Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

I have previously stayed in Bankside House and was very impressed. Not able to book there for this trip I chose Passfield Hall as an alternative. The location is excellent for anyone arriving at Euston or Kings Cross stations - a very short walk. Entry is secure and the admin/ check-in procedure was friendly and quick. It would have been very difficult to fall out of the single bed given the compact style, but the room was only a place to sleep, not a suite at the Ritz. There was a desk and sink. A shared toilet and shower might not be everyone's cup of tea, but proved not problematic. The breakfast was brilliant - really anything you might require to set you up for a day about town and there were very helpful staff in the canteen area. I slept soundly every night of my stay and found the surrounding area quiet and salubrious. The British Museum is close, as is the British Library. Residents of nearby streets in days gone by include J M Keynes, Virginia Woolf and Kenneth Williams. There is a facility allowing one to leave luggage in a secure room, which was very useful as my train was not until 20.00. This accommodation is well-run and offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CJPH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi CJPH69,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us - particularly our breakfast, location, value for money and customer service.

We hope you enjoyed London and that you come again soon!

Thanks

LSE Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed for 2 nights. Although the communal toilet and showers was a bit of a put off, the rest of the facilities are great. The breakfast was abundant and tasty. The games room was a definite hit, we played table tennis, table football and pool. We also had games of monololy, chess, draughts and dominoes. When you have a small child it's difficult entertaining them at night so this was a nice change. The rooms are big and the beds comfy. We were next door to the loos so that was fine. All in all a good deal. We'll be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi Angela,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Passfield Hall. We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast service and additional features. We hope you return to London again soon.

Thanks,

LSE Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Passfield Hall was so hospitable - way more than I expected from what is a student hall most of the time. The bathrooms are shared but you get your own little set of free toiletries, clean towels, and there's coffee mugs in the kitchen. This was my first experience of shared-bathroom holiday accommodation and I was really impressed at the clean, quiet shower rooms and toilets. My bedroom was also generously sized, with a wash basin and writing desk, and as it was a hot August I appreciated the desk fan.

You get 24 hour access to the building with your key card. There is also use of a luggage room, just ask at the front desk. That was very useful for me as it meant I didn't have to carry my bag around London on the last day of my trip.

They do breakfast but I was too busy to try it. And oh yeah, the wifi's free and REALLY fast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi Lauren,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Passfield Hall. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us - particularly our amenities, Wi-Fi and other features.

We hope you return to London and LSE Vacations again soon.

Regards,

LSE Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is basic clean accommodation, some rooms have shared bathroom and toilets (which are kept very clean)

Reception staff excellent
Rooms very comfortable
To lift to third floor
Breakfast was amazing and the choice fantastic
Location central
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveSou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Davesou123,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay at LSE Passfield Hall. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us - particularly our customer service, breakfast, location and lots more.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,

LSE Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#686 of 1,081 in London
178 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#481 of 1,081 in London
534 reviews
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#69 of 956 in London
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#16 of 956 in London
1,247 reviews
Westminster
LSE Northumberland House
LSE Northumberland House
#181 of 956 in London
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Passfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Passfield Hall

Address: Passfield Hall 1-7 Endsleigh Place, London WC1H 0PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: €52 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Passfield Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Passfield Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in Bloomsbury. The hall boasts a unique mix of classic Georgian architecture and modern facilities in central London.Passfield is well-placed for the West End and all of the main attractions of central London. The British Museum and British Library are only a short walk away. Rooms at Passfield are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LSE Passfield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passfield Hall Hotel London
LSE Passfield Hall London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing