We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Ranked #174 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Well placed, clean and very comfortable. Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucian V, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Dmens,

I appreciate the time you took to post you feedback. It was encouraging to read your comments and I hope I get to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Lucian Voicu
Building manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here for one night and paid for late checkout and a car space. We were telephoned and woken up and told to check out despite paying for a late checkout. Understandably mistakes do happen and the lady apologised. HOWEVER the complaint was handled in a very poor manner. We were argued with at the front desk by the duty manager upon checkout. He was very rude and did not care that we were unhappy with being woken up. The apartment was also not very clean. After 3 written complaints our late checkout fee was finally refunded, which I had to ask for. Don't bother staying here, our friends stayed at the Novotel nearby which gave them a free late checkout at 5pm and great service, they even gave them a free cot! The Marlin staff have no clue about customer service and repeat custom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucian V, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear lovtravelbug,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apology if you were not treated in an acceptable manner and we have disappointed you by our level of customer service. We do value your business and I am addressing the late check-out issue personally by implementing a few changes with my team. Please let me know if you are returning to London in the near future because I would like the opportunity to provide you the service that we are known for and hopefully you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Sincerely,
Lucian Voicu
Building manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

On checking into the apartment i was then informed that £200 would be frozen in my account! i was incredible shocked about this because nothing was clearly stated on their terms and conditions. I was then informed quite rudely that it was stated very clearly on my reservation form. I pulled out my reservation form and looked at their terms and conditions which stated ' Please note that Marlin Apartments MAY request a pre-authorisation of your credit or debit card at a time of check in. ' May does not mean compolsury and also no mention of £200 pounds. This resulted in them telling me that if i did not have the fund i could not stay at the apartment. I was so upset by what was happening after numerous attempts to speak to someone who could help me with this situation (as the receptionist acted as if they couldnt give a toss). I ended up ringing the Marlin apartments which then agreed to £100 pre-authorisation which i HAD to agree to else i would lose my money on the apartment, parking and petrol. This had now ruined my trip as i was not able to do any of the activities i had planned for my weekend as i had zero money. My weekend was a very traumatic, upsetting miserable one.

To top it all off the pots and pans in my room were vile. There was a white, smelly gunky substance on one of the pans and on the other mould! When the bathroom light was switched on it made the most horrendous sound. The bedside lamps which were horrible didn't even work. The bed came with a thin horrible duvet and the bed (which was two singles pushed together) was horrible to sleep on. I have never experience such bad service EVER! This has been an experience that has not only put me off staying at Marlin Apartments but any apartments or hotels for a very long time. I shall not be going for weekends away unless i can find a friends couch to kip on as this would be a million times better than my stay at the Marlin Apartments.

Room Tip: Do not choose these apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlinaNokomisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucian V, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Alina,

My name is Lucian Voicu and I am the building manager of Marlin Apartments Empire Square. Thank you for providing us with feedback pertaining to your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered.

I trust you will accept that the issues you experienced are certainly not reflective of our standard of service and be assured that corrective actions have been taken with both the reception and our housekeeping department.

Regarding the pre-authorisation process, please understand that the reception is just following company procedures and policies. The team is instructed to complete the process for all our guests. I understand that for some this may be an inconvenience, but the company has this in place to assure our apartments are and will remain up to standard.

Thank you again for your review and I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marlin Apartments in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lucian Voicu
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I used these apartments twice in Dec 11 for overnight business stays in London. Whilst the check-in process is a bit amateur the apartments themselves were a revelation. Comfortable clean beds, great living room & kitchen - one even had a balcony.

I was initially nervous given that the price (circa £100 per night) was around 60% of that for a similarly located budget hotel, but all my expectations were exceeded. A really great alternative to a conventional hotel where you can cook yourself something properly if you wish and relax in an armchair in front of the TV rather than the dreaded "table for one" alternative.

Room Tip: Choose a proper 1 bed flat rather than a studio to get a bigger bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I've stayed here before, and this stay was as usual good. Helpful staff at reception. Clean, well equipped apartment, and well located.
A superior alternative to a traditional hotel for a business trip!
Will returm I'm sure...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucian V, Manager at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear travellingchef,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your stay with us. I am Lucian, building manager of Marlin Apartment Empire Square. Thank you for choosing our hotel whist staying in London. We appreciate the feedback and I am pleased that your experience was positive. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please let me know if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lucian Voicu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London City Hotel
#226 of 1,076 in London
735 reviews
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#78 of 908 in London
512 reviews
Marlin Waterloo
#39 of 908 in London
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments - Empire Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Address: 34 Long Lane | 5-8 Empire Square South, London SE1 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: €114 - €315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Apartments - Empire Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at London Bridge, just minutes from London’s financial district, this landmark development provides unrivalled access to London’s City centre and it’s most inspiring attractions. These cutting edge apartments fuse London’s cosmopolitan culture with award winning contemporary design, encompassing a vast internal courtyard and private landscaped gardens. Modern furnishings complement the large living space in each apartment, with many offering striking views across London. The emphasis is on light and space, with most apartments boasting large scenic windows and floor-to-ceiling glazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marlin Apartments - Empire Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Empire Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing