We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, not very interesting area”
Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #290 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
255 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not very interesting area”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here for one day only on a recent business trip and got a very good deal through one of those hotel sites which included a room upgrade that made all the difference for me. Everything looks very neat, very new, sparkling new. The linen, the minibar, it's all there. But the area is boring. It's in the middle of Crommwell Road, and there is nothing really interesting at walking distance. But London being London, this turned out to be a very good deal, considering what I paid and what I got in return. But you'll need transportation to and from here.

Room Tip: Look for room upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We are very glad that you liked the hotel and thought it such good value.
Although it may not appear to be a particularly interesting area. There are may things to see that are within walking distance such as: Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, The V and A, Science Museum, Natural History Museum. We are also very close to Kensington High Street one of London's best shopping streets.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    219
    73
    38
    18
See reviews for
71
218
119
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights. Booked a double standard room after reading one reviewers note that single-bed rooms have no windows. If you've ever stayed in London, you already know that you shouldn't have high expectations from a hotel unless you pay very top dollars. (Even in that case, the result may be a bit disappointing but that's another review). With this in mind, I can comfortably say that Rockwell is worth the money you pay. My room had decent space (again, for London standards) and was clean, nicely decorated. Bathroom was nice too but the shower cabin was too small - it reminded me of airplane lavatories in terms of space. The hotel is located in a very nice area, you have a nice walk up to Knightsbridge probably in about 20-25 minutes, visit the Natural History museum nearby or take the subway via Earl's Court (Piccadilly line - the line that most tourist use) metro station which is minutes away from the hotel. Overall, it is a good London hotel. I plan to stay there next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review, paritcularly with regards to the cleanliness. Our showers vary in size so if you want a larger shower please ask reception.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed at the Rockwell for one day only in December. The staff was very helpful and friendly. (I booked for the wrong day and so I arrived without proper reservation and it was no problem.) The hotel's decoration is very nice, comfortable, it has a homey feel. My room was quite small (it was a single room) and the only problem I had was the lack of hot water when I wanted to take a shower at night. (In the morning, there was hot water.) I guess that must be some issue with the capacity of the water heater. Anyway, my overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: single room is small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for you nice review. The 'problem' with the shower has been remedied.
Regards, Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Only stayed one night but what a great find in London. A lovely hotel, clean, fresh, no clutter and a refreshing chainge from the dreary London chain hotels. I thought the price incl breakfast for the location and the quality was value for money and I will defintely stay at the Rockwell again. Lovely reception area and very nice communal spaces. Weather was cold and disappointed I could not sit in the garden - maybe next time. The room although it was a single was very nice. A little tight on space particularly at the desk area and in the shower cubicle but it was a single and despite that I would stay again. Staff do not try and fuss around you and nice when you've been working all day and travelled to check in and relax without any pressure to do the bar, eat in the restaurant, fill mout surveys etc.. Staff were all great, helpful and genuine. Everywhere is beatifully and tastefully decorated and the hotel is a joy to stay in. Breakfast was very stress-free and had an 'almost-like-home' feeling. The standard of customer service as very good.

Room Tip: My superior single did not have a window just 2 very high sky-lights so if you like a window go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCheese11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel so much and gave us 5 stars overall.
There is only one room in the hotel that has a skylight so if in future you would like one without a skylight please ask at reception.
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I loved the Rockwell and would definitely stay here again. Yes, the room was small, but it was well kitted out, bright, airy and nicely decorated. The White Company toiletries are a nice touch and the shower is good. I thought the bed was exceedingly comfortable too, and I had a nice view from my room (proper old fashioned windows that I'm sure you can open in summer).
The people at the front desk could not have been nicer, they showed a visitor into the bar for me and let me stow my bags for a couple of hours after I had checked out. Nothing was any trouble.
Breakfast was good and plentiful with a good choice and everything was fresh.
The decor and general atmosphere at the hotel is quiet and restful, just what I needed. The location five minutes walk from Earl's Court is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sogormande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the staff.
Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#291 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,615 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London
The Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing