We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub in a quaint little street”

North Star Leytonstone
Ranked #278 of 1,343 Nightlife in London
Attraction details
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This is a proper traditional independent pub, set in the stunning surroundings of Browning Rd, a preserved area of tiny cottages. The North Star is not large, but has the proper feel of a pub- it also had really inexpensive delicious Thai food and if that doesn’t grab you, in the dear little garden there’s a wee pizza kitchen where you can create your own spectacular fresh pizza. If this is your neighbourhood, add this little gem to your dining experiences

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank G6676VHhelenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

7 - 11 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We are regulars at this pub. We live locally and have been coming to this pub for over 10 years. The landlord, his brother and sisters who serve behind the bar and most of the bar staff are lovely. However, there is a Spanish bar maid who was rude to us tonight. I love this pub but do not want to be served by this woman again. ( I point her out because there was a lovely new blonde barmaid and there was a huge difference between them) We left the pub because we felt treated badly. Landlord! Please sort out your bar staff!!

Date of experience: November 2017
6  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit visit here as part of the Leytonstone Festival. The pub, staff and fellow drinkers were very friendly and the food looked really nice. However our evening was spoiled when the landlord started stacking tables around us 45 mins before closing time. When challenged about this his response was that he'd been running the pub this way for 16 years, which is great, except we have have been frequenting pubs & restaurants for 40 years and do not expect to be drinking our wine in an establishment that looks like it has already closed for the night. We were likely to have ordered another bottle of wine but the dismissive response from the landlord (Kev) means that we will not be back.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank FABL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Hot Chicken wings I have had before from every other weatherspoons chain with the very similar menu same food, it was clear that the sauce was made cheaper by mixing with Peri peri it was thicker and tasted off and tangy, not the franks hot sauce I ordered them for. Disappointed. Sticky sloppy tables.

Staff were nice and helpful and burger was good.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank luce346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

The North Star is a real traditional local pub, small but beautifully formed ! One bar, two rooms and a good selection of cask and keg ales. Good atmosphere in the early evening when we visited with a very mixed clientele creating a buzz.
Definitely one to return to.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank NeilAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Star Leytonstone also viewed

 

Been to North Star Leytonstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing