We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in London.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
Ranked #954 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sleepless in London.....”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

If you like to go back to basics, this is the place to be: tiny rooms (max width 2m), lukewarm water only and the shower has no water pressure so it takes about 15 minutes to rinse your hair. No hairdryer that works, no lift, no comfort, lots of funny smells, traffic noise 24/7 and you can hear everything your neighbour does. If you want all this, please go ahead and book. If you wish to stay in a real hotel: please reconsider and try something else. Definitely not somewhere where I want to go ever again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    83
    100
    85
    128
See reviews for
64
107
57
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We booked a triple room for 3 adults and ended up with a double bed and a
pull out sofa which was unbearable and should have been thrown out years ago. There was only 2 cups. The breakfasts that came were not what we ordered and the waitresses struggled to understand. The room was very expensive for what we got. We would not go back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cannes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I would never even put an enemy in this hotel - it's the worst I have stayed in in the whole world, and I've stayed in some terrible places! The rooms are tiny (there was no room to put my suitcase down in the room), the manager won't speak to you when you want to complain and they call themselves (fraudulently I believe) a 4 star hotel. When I questioned their 4 stars, they told me they were 'self acclaimed' - I say they are simply liars. Even though the non British staff attempted to advise me that this is what hotels in London are like, I am British and have a good (monthly I might add) experience of hotels in London and the UK, and know that thier information is incorrect and so I am contacting the tourist office, Advertising Standards Authority and the Office of Fair Trading as these people need to stop selling themselves as something they are not! Thank God I didn't turn up with my wife for a romantic weekend in ths dump, and was luckily only visiting on business, alone! I asked for a refund for my second night (as I could not spend another night there), but they only agreed to refund half - I don't believe I should have been charged for the first nigh either, so I am now pursuing a total refund and will start county court proceedings against them in order to get my money back. These people are over selling what they have to offer, which means that if you go onto a booking site like Booking.com where I booked, and select 4 star hotels, this one will come up, so you think you'll be in a 4 star hotel - BUT YOU WON'T! This is a very VERY NASTY place!!!

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms in his hotel - go or a one or two star hotel and you'll find it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nico_Cannes_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

On walking into my room I thought I had gone into the broom closet by accident. There was just room for a 6 foot bed no room for me and my bag in what little floor space was left. The shower stank of dampness and had the musky smell of a room left without any ventilation. The extractor was not working and found it had been switched off at the master switch. On turning it back on and using the bathroom at 4am found out why it had been switched off. If I woke my neighbour in the next rook I apologise.

There was black mould on the wall of the shower, the cable for computer access was broken and had been like that for sometime as someone had repaired it was black masking tape and the repair was so old that the tape had lost all stickiness. The blinds in the room wear badly worn as was thread bear stair carpet. The hotel advertises cable television I could only find three channels which is less that you can get from free to air.

Did report the faults and the receptionist on checking out was dismayed they had not been fixed.

Would not recommend this hotel but have stayed in worse.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed in this hotel on business in October, and was never so glad to leave. The hotel is dirty, the room standard is below that of a two star and the staff are indifferent if not ignorant, using the 'we don't understand' card constantly. The room considering the cost of the hotel is very small and the bathroom the size of a cupboard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlissCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#832 of 1,067 in London
44 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#634 of 1,067 in London
213 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#114 of 1,067 in London
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#539 of 1,067 in London
337 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#543 of 1,067 in London
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury

Property: Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
Address: 75 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #954 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing