We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My room = earthquake simulator; but that was not the only issue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brewers Inn
Ranked #498 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“My room = earthquake simulator; but that was not the only issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed from 2 to 7 April 2010 on my second trip to London. Approximately 10 minute walk south of Wandsworth Town Station (National Rail - South West Trains) in TravelCard Zone 2.

My room was on the 2nd floor at the end of the hallway facing the main intersection. From the ground floor, there are 36 steps on 6 short flights of staris. There is no elevator, so this should be considered to booking.

First, the amount of road noise / vibrations was extremely loud. There were 2 panes of glass, but 10 to 20 times/hr, I could hear and more importantly feel the vibrations of passing traffic. The bed, headboard attached to the wall opposite of the window, and nightstand vibrated, I live in Tokyo and reald earthquakes are not that bad.

Second, the majority of the room was fine. Comfortable bed, nice TV, but the majority of the bathroom appeared to be in the middle of a restoration, Three of the four walss needed to be painted because the exisiting paint was bubbling up and peeling off. There were 2 large holes in the wall where a towel rack had broken off the wall. One of the holes, the size of my palm, was stuffed full of toilet paper--very tacky.

There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure---except when the actual shower was used. Seperate controls to fill the tub vs using the shower. The water pressure and quantity of hot water seemed to be restricted when using the shower.

Third, my towels were not changed the last 3 nights. There was a sign in the bathroom about water/energy conversation--if you want your towels changed, please place them in the bathtub. Only had 2 towels, and one had a distinct smduge on it. That smudge was the clue the towels were not being changed. Understand that I stayed during Easter holiday weekend and there are only 15 other rooms, so they were not packed. Makes me wonder if the towels and bed linens were clean when I checked in.

Fourth, there was a heater on the wall (Americans would call it a radiator) There were distinct soot maks on the wall directly above the heater. Easy to see against the white wall. Took a tissue dipped in water, rubbed the soot, and it came right off. If I could do that, housekeeping could have done the same. The lights in the room's chandeiler were burning out at a rate of 1 per day. Four of the 5 bulbs burned out during my 5 day stay. The electrical outlet near the desk could not be used because part of an eletrical plug was broken off in the outlet.

There are a couple of pubs, coffee shops, Chinese, and fish/chips shops near the Wandsworth Town Station. About a 10 minute walk from the inn are a couple of grocery stores--Sainbury's, White Rose, a Starbucks, etc.

Free WiFi signal was strong, fast, and stable. There is a train that runs at least twice an hour from Wandsworth Town Station direct to Waterloo station. Ride takes 10 minutes and once at Waterloo, you have access to entire London Underground system. Recommend a multiple day TravelCard to save money, time, and effort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TokyoBob1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    51
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
47
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

After travelling across Scotland and England we were lucky enough to spend our final days at the Bewers Inn. It's well located and easily accessible by bus - day and night, and there's a range of convenience shops nearbyby as well as a major shopping centre about 300 metres away.
Our room was large and well appointed, with a smart bathroom as well - we lacked for nothing. There were some stairs to climb, but they weren't too bad.
Downstairs is a large bar area with a good atmosphere, and the restaurant is attached. We ate a hearty breakfast there each day, and dined there on several nights as well; food was good well cooked English staple fare, but tasty and good value.
The place was very clean, and the staff were amongst the most engaging of any we found on our entire trip. I would heartily recommend the Brewers Inn as a place to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Universal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Quite cosy. Nice bathroom. Great beds. Excellent breakfast. Good pub hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank espeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Just to confirm the other reviews. A really excellent hotel, the rooms were tastefully furnished and made us feel that we were staying at a more expensive establishment. Again, very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast served freshly cooked. About 10mins walk to the train, partly along the attractive high street.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Easy to locate, smooth check in, extremely helpful staff especially Emilda the hotel receptionist (Emilda was bubbly, friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much trouble – thank you), Stylish and cozy restaurant with excellent food at reasonable prices, friendly atmosphere in the bar, good sized room for a London hotel. Breakfast was included in our room rate. This was served in the main restaurant with a selection of about 5 dishes including either a continental or full english breakfast. The food was hot and fresh with a decent sized portion. We also ate lunch in the bar area during our stay, this too was very good quality and great value for money. We read some reviews before we booked that mentioned the noise from the main road, our room was at the front of the hotel but we were not disturbed by the traffic. It is a busy road but is not so bad in the evening, plus all of our windows had been sound proofed which kept the noise to a minimum. The hotel is just a short walk from the town centre and shopping mall. The bus service is regular and you can get to central london easily within 20-30 minutes depending on traffic. Or the train station is a 5 minute walk away where you can get a direct train to London Waterloo in just 15 minutes. We found nothing to dislike about the hotel, although the parking could be an issue. The hotel is advertised as parking available but there are only 3 spaces for 16 rooms. We arrived early so had no problem, but late arrivals my struggle. There was no charge for parking on site. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family as we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#100 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#326 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Glenlyn Hotel
#482 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewers Inn

Property: Brewers Inn
Address: 147 East Hill | Wandsworth, London SW18 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#239 Family Hotel in London
#341 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brewers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brewers Inn has 16 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms offering all you need for a relaxing & comfortable stay. All our rooms include:•Flat Screen TV’s with Freeview•Direct Dial Telephones•Hair dryer•Ironing Facilities•Tea & Coffee making FacilitiesThere are armchairs for you to relax in, and desks at which to work. In the bathroom, there are luxury towels and complimentary toiletries. Extra beds are available for children sharing a room and Cots are free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Brewers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewers Hotel London
Brewers Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing