We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem with the Hotel whatsoever”
Review of Troy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Troy Hotel
Ranked #600 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No problem with the Hotel whatsoever”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband (late 50's and a seasoned traveller) needed to go to London on business for a couple of days so I booked him into The Troy. Being his 'Chief Hotel Booker" (but also keeping an eye on the budget and the room was a good price for central London) I had read some of the bad reviews but equally had read some of the good so as husband was in meetings all day and only needed a bed to sleep in I booked it. I didn't tell him about any of the reviews so that I would get unbiased feedback. When asked how the hotel was he said it was absolutely fine. The room was on the large size for a single, it was very clean as was the bedding and bathroom and the hotel in general. The room was quiet (even though he was at the front), the staff helpful and breakfast, albeit continental, was nice. I think the fundamental question is that when asked if he would stay there again he said Yes. Keith's experience of this hotel was the opposite end of the scale to that of the bad reviewers - odd!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    270
    146
    38
    28
See reviews for
78
243
68
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Having read other reviews of this hotel I can't believe it is the same place! Our room was enormous - king size bed, very comfortable. Lovely warm bathroom, with jacuzzi bath and power shower. Plenty of toiletries and towels, clean linen and plenty of storage space. Flat screen digital tv. Tea and coffee in room as well.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was a buffet (which we were expecting) plenty of fresh coffee and breads, cheese, olives, fruit salad.
Can't see anything wrong with the place.

Room Tip: Book through Airmiles
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christyfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at Troy for 3 nights. The first night was a terrible experience,- we had two single beds, both extremely uncomfortable. The next day the staff was really helpfull, admitted to have problems with the beds, and changed our room. (-maybe taking notice that we booked our stay 3 months before). Here we had one bed, just a little bit more comfortable.
The room was small but ok, as we were out all day, but unfortunately the room was not at all clean,- not the one we had the first night and not the next one. We did our best to avoid looking at the carpet,- specially in the corners, and put newspapers on the floor to avoid contact.
The shower was another problem. Difficult to handle. The breakfast was a bit poor.
Maybe the executive rooms have another standard, but we were rather disappointed for what we got for our money.
The best of all : The location is very, very good. Easy to get around with bus or underground.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liv2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We read quite a few positive reports of this hotel, so were looking forward to staying - mistake!

We checked in at lunchtime and left our bags as the room wasn't ready, fine. We spent the afternoon and evening in town, then returned after dinner at about 10.30pm. When we were shown to our room, the overhead lights didn't work - well, one of them flickered on and off! There was also only 1 bedside lamp (in a twin room) and the 'view' was out of tired net curtains onto a wall.....

BUT - we decided since we would only be there to sleep, we would make the best of it. Until we sat on the bed.

The matteresses were, in our opinion, prehisotoric. You could feel every spring and the bottom had pretty much collapsed to the point that you could feel the wooden bed baord underneath. We rang down to reception and spoke to the receptionist who came up and didn't really know what to say to us. He said there was 1 other bed in the hotel that was free (a single - there were two of us), but that, to quote, 'the mattress was the same as these'.

We decided we were not prepared to pay £120.00 for the privelige of not sleeping and rang the Comfort Inn across the road to see if they had any rooms free. They did, it was newly decorated, clean and contemporary and £25 cheaper!

To sum up - the reception is nice, the staff are ok, but not great and if our room is anything to go by the rooms are DREADFUL!! The only redeeming quality we could find was the location (and a very nice central staircase!), but for my money, I'd head to the Comfort Inn opposite : ) Somebody else on here mentioned the noisy disco next door and I can say that it was happening when we were there - if youhad a room at the front, you'd have the noise to cope with too.

If they are full most of the time, with people paying over £100 per room, they can afford to the get the basics - a decent bed in a *hotel* right.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katieinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My husband and I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Troy Hotel and I can't lie to you this is not a great hotel at all. The location is amazing as it is a few minutes walk from the Queensway tube station which brings you to the heart of London in a few stops so for that I cannot complain but for everything else it's just awful. The staff are rude and really don't give a toss about whether you're happy, comfortable or otherwise it's almost as if you're an imposition to them by just being there.

The worst part for us was the fact that throughout the entire duration of our stay we had no hot water in our shower which is a nightmare. When we brought this to the attention of the guy on Reception he fobbed us off and tried to pretend that he didn't speak good English and didn't understand what we were saying even though his English was perfect at all other times. Also the walls are like paper, you can hear everything that's going on so a peaceful nights sleep doesn't really happen there either unfortunately.

Oh well at least the thing with London is you spend a very small amount of time in your room overall as you're usually out and about taking in the million and I things that you can do there.

If you're thinking of booking this hotel just think about whether you are willing to compromise good service, hot water and a quiet peaceful nights sleep in favor of an excellent location and if the answer is "Yes" then go for it but if these things are going to be issues for you then don't bother as trust me things will never change in this hotel cause nobody could care less!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank littlepinkdynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#509 of 1,068 in London
556 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#535 of 1,068 in London
878 reviews
Caring Hotel
#515 of 1,068 in London
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#476 of 1,068 in London
217 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#288 of 1,068 in London
1,624 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#635 of 1,068 in London
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hotel

Property: Troy Hotel
Address: 68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Troy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing