We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky excellence in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #86 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Myself and partner spent one night at the CitizenM London Bankside prior to its launch as a 'tester'. Having already stayed at the CitizenM in Amsterdam City Centre in 2011 we sort-of knew what to expect....but the CitizenM London exceeded our expectations and we absolutely loved it!

Outstanding location, seamless service, well-designed funky interiors, well-appointed rooms with outstanding showers and in-room entertainment, perfectly mixed cocktails and a great selection of food. What more could you possible want?

CitizenM is different to any other hotels I’ve stayed in – offering what I would consider to be “boutique luxury at an affordable price”. The service provided by the staff at CitizenM could rival any luxury hotel in London. Likewise the finish on the room was second to none. Whilst it might not be everyone’s cup of tea, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHeartTravelling33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,366)
There are newer reviews for citizenM London Bankside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,577 - 2,581 of 3,367 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Every little detail it examined, the rooms are small, but very functional. Everything including temperature, mood lighting and movies is controlled through a tablet. Probably the nicest hotel I have stayed in a still very affordable.

Room Tip: choose city view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Hi "Johny69",

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay here. We created citizenM to bring a fresh new hotel experience, focussing on the needs of mobile citizens like you.

Safe travels and dream of soft pillows.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

CitizenM London Bankside is a nice hotel. Excellent staff, very helpful and alway willing to do the best.
It was really easy to do the check in. Everything quickly in their electronic system, which is so cool to play!
The rooms are really clean and lovely. Nice decoration, PERFECT!
Also, the TV system is really good, with great selection of channels and films to watch. Actually I have never seen in ANY hotel such a selection like they have in citizenM!
Internet just works! I am tired of going to hotels and internet not working properly. But with citizenM the internet just works perfectly, and without having to put any password (I hate those when you have to reenter the password all the time).
There's plenty of things to do in the hotel too, the reception, bars, restaurant, they are all just really nice! Great atmosphere.
The only thing I didn't enjoy totally was the breakfast. The british breakfast was there, but it's not the best, also there's not a good continental breakfast type. Just one type of juice, I didn't see normal bread, slices of ham and cheese for example. But other than that everything is just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunblue289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Hi "sunblue289",

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers here on TripAdvisor.

Our philosophy is bringing luxury where it counts, at an affordable rate. We got rid of things we don't really need in a hotel, and hotel room and put our efforts towards a contemporary ambient to work and lounge, with free wi-fi, 24/7 food & beverage so that your hotel stay can be a fun experience too, other than just a regular night sleep.

We have just opened this week and working on fine tuning our food & beverage options, I appreciate you shared with us about the breakfast, which we are currently testing different options.

Wish you safe travels and hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very attentive staff, nothing too much trouble.
I had one of the best night's sleep ever in the most comfy hotel bed ever experienced.
Loved the technology, but good job my computer savvy daughter was there to help. Think this is definitely a hotel geared for the young. Did miss not having tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but perhaps that's just 'a generation' thing!
My son seemed to think so when I mentioned it to him.
All in all a very pleasant stay as it was very handy for sightseeing.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and experienced no noise disruptions at all
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Hi "Annie190762",

I'm happy you and your close ones enjoyed the experience with us here at citizenM. Being 8 or 80, we believe we can all be young at heart, experiencing refreshing new experiences.

I understand your comments about not having coffee & tea facilities in the room. Just like we don't have a kettle on our own bedroom at home, is the same at citizenM. We created our hotel to give that home feeling: "home away from home". Eliminating an outdated-unninviting hotel lobby, overpriced restaurant and huge rooms we don't need to pay for and instead, creating a contemporary living room that can actually be used to work & lounge, a canteenM that feels just like the kitchen back home - just grab a drink out of the fridge and a snack, and a room that is smart in size, and technology, with free Wi-Fi, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates and the best bed we could think of, big in size and with the comfort of great sheets.

Wish you all the best and see you back soon at citizenM,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

‘Welcome citizen Ploughmans’ read the self check-in kiosk screen in the reception of citizenM’s brand spanking new London Bankside hotel. This self check-in kiosk business cuts out queues and is so easy to use even a technophobe like me (who once tried to free some trapped toast by sticking a metal knife into the toaster, blowing it up and narrowly avoiding electrocuting himself) can do it. And should you have any difficulties, the friendly staff are quickly on hand to help).

The lobby lounge area is spacious, contemporary and cosy with comfy sofas and armchairs, free Wi-Fi, iMacs for guests to use, and huge floor to ceiling high bookcases full of books from classics to art and design.

On the way to our room, The Girlfriend noticed the subtle but very cool Google Earth inspired hallway carpet design (which still had that new carpet smell). The room itself was compact, clean and modern and had been well designed to make use of the limited space available, including one of those open bathrooms – where you step out of the shower into the main room. The bed was large, spacious and literally the width of the room, meaning you had to clamber over it from the front to get in and out. However, it was extremely comfortable, as were the duvet and pillows. But the best bit by far was the touch screen ‘Moodpad’ tablet gadget thing with which you control the entire room, including the wall mounted flat screen TV, window blinds, temperature, lighting, wake-up alarm, as well as browse the web too, all from the comfort of the comfy bed. And don’t worry; it’s so easy to use even a fat fingered touchscreenaphobe like me got the hang of it pretty quickly. There’s more free Wi-Fi, free movies - including a vast selection of porn any back street Soho establishment would be proud of (but I wouldn’t know anything about that, of course), and a generous sized safe, which The Girlfriend threatened to lock my phone inside if I didn’t “stop taking pictures of everything every five seconds”.

The shower had the choice of conventional or ‘rain’ showerhead and was so powerful it blew my (according to The Girlfriend) “considerable frame” against the cubicle wall making The Girlfriend scream as my large, pale, pasty buttocks suddenly bashed against the frosted glass. Whilst comforting her and trying to get her to stop weeping I noticed how large, fluffy and soft the towels were. Another nice touch was the choice of two shower gels, citizenAM and citizenPM - depending on what time of day you are showering.

The whole place has a fun, friendly, and un-corporate feel to it like the ‘Don’t come in, there’s someone naked in here’ do not disturb door sign. Having said that, the comfortable looking meeting rooms were filled with books and quirky objects like wall mounted, old-fashioned typewriters and looked like just the sort of place you’d want to have an important meeting in.

Breakfast was reasonably priced at €9.95 (or €12.95 on the day) and included as many delicious freshly baked pastries as you can manage, fresh fruit, muesli, yoghurt, toast, cooked options, orange juice and freshly brewed coffee. All served by friendly and smiley staff (considering how early it was).

citizenM is a brilliant concept hotel chain full of innovative design and quirky humour with hotels in several major cities, and I, and my large, pale, pasty buttocks would definitely stay in one again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ivor_Ploughmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Fellow citizen "Ivor_Ploughmans",

citizenM is not the typical hotel. Our entire team are flattered reading your review, you are THE true mobile citizen.

Just as you described, we believe a hotel can be a fun experience too, not sacrificing comfort for the price tag and removing the bits we don't really need. The result was a refreshing new concept, let's say bye-Auf Wiedersehen-ciao to Wi-Fi charges and outdated huge rooms and hi to luxury where it really counts.

Currency conversion apart, breakfast is GBP9.95 if booked in advance or GBP12.95 on the day, thank you again for taking the time to share your kindest words regarding us, it gave our team a great pleasure and joy to read your lines, and pursuing our takings of what a hotel can be.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,072 in London
3,225 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €127 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing