We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
117
226
117
67
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
226
117
67
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goodge street gower st shared bathroom breakfast room tottenham court beans small bathroom no lift full english breakfast tube fireplace kettle
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We had stayed at the Arran House on two other visits to London, but this is the first stay since it came under new ownership/management. Very Disappointing!! We had a large triple room and the size of the room was great....but it was soooooo dirty! Carpets were stained and soiled; walls were unclean; refrigerator was not on (took a long time to get cool) and not clean. The bathroom was pretty disgusting..... there was a leak in and around the toilet so staff just piled towels on the floor to sop it up...they changed them daily! The frame around the door of the bathroom was dry rotted and moldy; the sink faucets would not turn off and if you turned them off hard, you could not get them on again; bulbs in the lamps were burned out...and so on, so on! Very poor condition.
the hallway floor outside our room had clearly not been washed in a very long time...filthy! The entry stoop into the front door of the hotel was filthy, the trash receptacles were overflowing with cigarette butts, trash, garbage the entire 5 days of our stay. The breakfast was poor, service was unfriendly and even a bit caustic...EXCEPT for the very nice Indian young man at the reception during the day...he was quite helpful; though when we brought up the unclean state of things, the leak in the bathroom, burned out bulbs...his response was "yes" ??!! Will absolutely never stay here again. The Arosfa Hotel next door looks like the one.... because this location is just excellent!

Room Tip: Do not book a room here!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Konnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We came for 2 nights during a midweek stay. We booked online and saw more bad reviews than good, but as we was budgeting and it was the cheapeat we could find we just booked. We booked 3 adults for B&B at a price of just over £250.
Check in was great, service was good and the man was polite and friendly. We had the key and made our way to the room. We was greeted with staines near the telephone and kettle (ive taken photos) and a very small bathroom that looks like its very rarly cleaned. Damp on the walls and dirt around the taps. The bathroom was ever so small.
Breakfast is actualy ok. Full English, toast and cerials with tea coffee and juice and you can just keep helping yourself.
If you are prepared to make do for cheapness then book like we did but i would recommend paying that little bit extra and look somewhere else.
This hotel is about a 15 minute walk frim Euston/ Euston Square and bus stops all outside along the main road

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovetripsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Old, dirty, decadent, rude east European staff, noisy rooms!

The worst experience in long time!
I do not understand why on Booking I found this awful place in 3* hotel section for my research!

It's better to go in Hostel at least you know where you're staying !

R U B B I S H !!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank jesusbazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Toilet seats not fitted and toilet/bathroom doors that don't lock. Uninviting cooked breakfast on what appeared to be unheated Hot Plates. Much room for improvement. The then price, and location, on balance, were good.

Room Tip: Another Hotel?
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _inspiredtocomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Arran House Hotel on a overnight trip to London. Allocated top floor room for four - double and two singles. Beds good and bedding clean. Room looked like it could have done with a deeper clean but not horrendous
Strange thing was that a small fridge unplugged in room had a mouldy smelly half eaten sandwich and several bottled beers in it - we left well alone and reported to staff.
Shower across corridor - clean enough but some mould evident - functionable.
Breakfast was adequate - quite full at 8.45 so sat on two tables of 4. Serve yourself bacon, beans, sausage and egg. Toast as much as you could make to eat. Usual juices and cereals. Only gripe/ observation was chipped crockery.

As we were on 3rd floor ( no lifts) it was good to open window - no issues with odours but two airfreshner sprays observed in wardrobe.

Basic but adequate. Some parts of hotel tired and appeared in need of spruce up - stained wallpaper etc in breakfast room.

All in all basic but at only £120 for four sharing including breakfast - not worth worrying about.

Note - no lifts and lots and lots of stairs..But in walking distance from tourist attractions - lots of shops in Goodge Street area too

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank MommaP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews