We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, pay some extra ££ and stay in decent place, horrible experience”
Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arran House Hotel
Ranked #371 of 577 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got a basement room with no windows, entrence to room through bathroom, never seen such a place, mould in every corner, bad bugs, can't imagine I'd have kids with me, rude reception staff, missing good manners such is hi, sorry and thank you. Polish guy locked us out once, couldn't get inside, had to wait outside for 20 min to get in. Can't believe this place is open. Please spend some extra ££ and get decent hotel, this was terrible experience. Would never return or recommend.

Location was good, and breakfast too. Nice ladies work in kitchen.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LivIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

We had stayed at the Arran House on two other visits to London, but this is the first stay since it came under new ownership/management. Very Disappointing!! We had a large triple room and the size of the room was great....but it was soooooo dirty! Carpets were stained and soiled; walls were unclean; refrigerator was not on (took a long time to get cool) and not clean. The bathroom was pretty disgusting..... there was a leak in and around the toilet so staff just piled towels on the floor to sop it up...they changed them daily! The frame around the door of the bathroom was dry rotted and moldy; the sink faucets would not turn off and if you turned them off hard, you could not get them on again; bulbs in the lamps were burned out...and so on, so on! Very poor condition.
the hallway floor outside our room had clearly not been washed in a very long time...filthy! The entry stoop into the front door of the hotel was filthy, the trash receptacles were overflowing with cigarette butts, trash, garbage the entire 5 days of our stay. The breakfast was poor, service was unfriendly and even a bit caustic...EXCEPT for the very nice Indian young man at the reception during the day...he was quite helpful; though when we brought up the unclean state of things, the leak in the bathroom, burned out bulbs...his response was "yes" ??!! Will absolutely never stay here again. The Arosfa Hotel next door looks like the one.... because this location is just excellent!

Room Tip: Do not book a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Konnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We came for 2 nights during a midweek stay. We booked online and saw more bad reviews than good, but as we was budgeting and it was the cheapeat we could find we just booked. We booked 3 adults for B&B at a price of just over £250.
Check in was great, service was good and the man was polite and friendly. We had the key and made our way to the room. We was greeted with staines near the telephone and kettle (ive taken photos) and a very small bathroom that looks like its very rarly cleaned. Damp on the walls and dirt around the taps. The bathroom was ever so small.
Breakfast is actualy ok. Full English, toast and cerials with tea coffee and juice and you can just keep helping yourself.
If you are prepared to make do for cheapness then book like we did but i would recommend paying that little bit extra and look somewhere else.
This hotel is about a 15 minute walk frim Euston/ Euston Square and bus stops all outside along the main road

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovetripsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Old, dirty, decadent, rude east European staff, noisy rooms!

The worst experience in long time!
I do not understand why on Booking I found this awful place in 3* hotel section for my research!

It's better to go in Hostel at least you know where you're staying !

R U B B I S H !!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank jesusbazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Toilet seats not fitted and toilet/bathroom doors that don't lock. Uninviting cooked breakfast on what appeared to be unheated Hot Plates. Much room for improvement. The then price, and location, on balance, were good.

Room Tip: Another Hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _inspiredtocomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,077 in London
1,280 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#785 of 1,077 in London
57 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#539 of 1,077 in London
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#79 of 1,077 in London
1,841 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#620 of 1,077 in London
238 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#570 of 1,077 in London
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Address: 77-79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: €54 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing