We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for tourist and business people alike, nicely put together semi-luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #81 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I liked this one. If I get a good rate I will come back; if you want easy access to Whitehall / Victoria / West End, but would like to be a little tucked away, this is a good choice. Didn't feel it was a full on luxury hotel, but the room was full of nice touches like international plug sockets; decent sized etc.

It has a bad reputation amongst some, but I think must have been refurbished or changed hands since. I was impressed - and if you can get a reasonable price, worth it. Breakfast a little odd - they can't seat everyone in one room so there is a second one; not a problem but worth noting if you're with a group and want to be sat together, but come down at different times!

Overall not quite top end but good choice if price and location suit and you need a little more than your corporate standard anono-hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very lucky to be in such a convenient position and as you mention we are in a quiet but central location. The hotel was indeed taken over by a new company and totally refurbished in 2011 hence the transformation. Regarding our breakfasts, they have become incredibly popular and this is why we have opened up to two rooms, I hope you were able to find your party!

We truly hope that you will return to visit us again very soon,

Best regards,

Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,509 - 4,513 of 5,874 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

My family and I stayed here on our first trip to London. This hotel is gorgeous, especially all lit up at night. Our room was on the small side, but I still felt like we had plenty of room. You didn't need an adaptor because they had plugs for U.S. appliances, which I thought was a nice touch. The decorations were modern and beautiful, and we had a waterfall shower :) The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location could not be better. Right around the corner from a drugstore and plenty of places to eat or grab a coffee. About a 5 minute walk from Westminster Abbey and Big Ben, as well as the tube. The only thing I didn't care for was the 5 pound breakfast, which was basically fruit and a pastry (pricey!), but right around the corner is a little shop that sells delicious breakfast sandwiches for like a pound or 2.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of London's main attractions!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asellers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

St. Ermin's Hotel is a real find. Very nicely designed public spaces as well as guest rooms. Way better than what one would normally expect in a reasonably priced hotel in expensive London. You can't go wrong by choosing this property. Location is excellent, tube stop less than one block away, the personnel handle all matters effortlessly and with grace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Sir,

I hope that you had a safe trip back to Florida. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay and we really appreciate being given top marks for value, location, sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service!
We hope that you will return to St Ermin’s on your next trip to England,

Warm regards,

Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in June and paid an exorbitant rate. Good location just around the corner from the St. James's Gate tube station and close to Buckingham Palace, which met our needs very well. Very grand entrance and lobby area.

There is free wi-fi in the lobby only and you had to keep asking for a new code when you wanted to use it. (Some codes expired in 1 hour, others seems to last for 24 hours.) You had to pay to get wi-fi in your room, which is completely unacceptable at these prices. (Every other
place we stayed on this trip was MUCH cheaper AND had free wi-fi in the room!)

The room was a little small, but very nice and tastefully decorated (modern style). The bathroom very new and clean and had the shower head in the ceiling (cool!) However, there was no counter space in the bathroom, which was a little inconvenient. Also, the toilet paper was weirdly located almost on the floor - you had to awkwardly reach down to get it and it sometimes got damp from the shower.

The staff was generally good but they didn't replace our glasses in our room one of the days... Also, there was no guide to the hotel and no menus, etc. in our room, which was kind of odd.

The restaurant was very expensive for dinner but the food was excellent. Make reservations - we showed up without one and had to come back a couple of hours later.

Breakfast is an okay (but not great) cold buffet, with the option to also order a hot item off the menu for an extra charge.

Overall, this was a nice place and it met our needs in terms of location for this particular trip. However, it is severely overpriced (even for London) and the wi-fi situation is really completely unacceptable at these prices, so I wouldn't particularly recommend it for those reasons. You can do better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtrip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on Trip Advisor. We welcome all feedback as it is helpful in ensuring that we know what we are working towards and enables us to achieve our high standards. We are very fortunate to be in a superb location and I am glad that you found the design and decoration of the room to be to your taste. I am happy to read that you were impressed with the food at our restaurant and I would also recommend booking as the Caxton Grill has become incredibly popular with our new summer menu!
Regarding the Wi-Fi, we have listened to our guests feedback and have agreed that we will now supply free internet in the public areas for 24 hours, so that only one voucher is necessary.
Thank you for your feedback,
Yours sincerely

Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and the place was very central to London and was very close to the underground metro. The customer service was excellent and we stayed in a double double room which was excellent. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfy and the hotel lobby was very beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssxmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,293 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,077 in London
4,333 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,038 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#371 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: €166 - €484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing