We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service par excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #75 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service par excellence”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 11 nights. The hotel succeeds in providing the service of a privately owned hotel with all the conveniences of a modern city hotel. The room we had was Queen pPus and was extremely comfortable and very well appointed with every available space used for storage and comfort. t was unbelievably quiet overlooking the courtyard-able to sleep soundly on arrival from Canada in the middle of the day. It is central to Tube, river boat, bus, especially bus 24 which takes you everywhere!!!

Most of all I applaud the service offered by the lobby staff. We knew where we wanted to go but they were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful (helped my husband replace screw on galsses). I wish the hotel well but don't become too popular as we may not be able to afford another visit.

I hope all the lobby staff get duties during the stay of the Brazilian Beach volley Ball team in July. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bordertart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Madam,
What a splendid review, thank you! I shall pass on your kind comments to concierge, who are indeed very friendly and I am glad they were able to help. I hope you had a pleasant trip back to Canada and we hope to look after you and your husband again in the near future,
With best wishes from London,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,845
    1,373
    258
    84
    37
See reviews for
1,705
2,167
183
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

After a busy morning in the local area, we visited here for afternoon tea. Although we changed our reservation time, it was not a problem for staff.
Service was exceptional; a leisurely afternoon of perfection.
Good locality to transport links.
Definitely a place we will revisit when we are in London again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digger93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Wow, thank you! We strive for excellence in our service, but I am delighted to read that my team were exceptional! You have made my day. We hope that you will return soon and perhaps sample our menu at the Caxton Grill on your next visit?
Warm regards,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I recently took our two sons to London for their first trip to Europe and stayed at St. Ermin's Hotel. It is perfectly located just around the corner from Buckingham Palace and a few steps away from the St. James tube station. The lobby is gorgeous, the restaurant is great and the rooms are sparklingly clean and while a bit small, quite comfortable.
It is the service, however, that makes this hotel so special. From the moment we arrived to our final goodbyes, the staff treated us more like old friends than simply hotel guests. Everyone made an effort to make a connection with us.
Head consierge Lee Wood and his staff were especially helpful finding us hard-to-get theater tickets, giving us detailed directions to sites we were interested in seeing, answering our endless questions and going above and beyond anything we could have expected in terms of service.
For instance, one morning I inquired about getting dinner on Brick Lane. Lee Wood not only recommended a perfect restaurant for our family, but he also printed out a menu for us. But that's not all. That evening he had his car ready to drive us all to Brick Lane. He said it was on his way home and wouldn't even accept a tip. It was a memorable gesture that I'm sure my sons will be retelling for years to come.
St. Ermin's is a great hotel in a great location, but it is our connection to Lee Wood and all the employees there that we will remember and will keep us going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Madam,
It warms my heart to read your review. Head Concierge Lee Wood certainly is a gentleman and he has been known to go out of his way to help our guests, I am glad that he was able to deliver exceptional service for you and your family; there’s nothing quite like being shown a great Brick Lane restaurant by a genuine Eastender!
Lee has asked me to pass on a big “Hello” to your sons (and will be forwarding the special ingredients to you as promised!)
Kindest regards,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I got the chance to stay at the St Ermin's Hotel for a week while travellling on business. Just a great overall experience. Rooms were comfortable, great location, and I liked the restaurant and bar. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanjosephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've stayed several times since the hotel was refurbished. On each occasion I've been impressed by the genuine friendliness of the staff and quality of the accommodation.

The room service (haven't sampled the restaurants) was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard in central London.

I suspect that people have yet to crack on to the fact it's in a brilliant location with many of the main tourist sites within walking distance. Alternatively, St James' Park tube station is just round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,021 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,068 in London
834 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,715 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,068 in London
4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#71 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing