We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but super compact”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Ranked #752 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The hotel's location is superb as it is less than 5 minutes walk from Earl's Court Station where you can board tubes for the Picadilly line (which takes you to the Heathrow Airport) and the District line. I would have given it a higher score if the room we had (double) was just a bit bigger. We hardly had place for our two suitcases and there is hardly room for two people. It would have been fine with a single bed for just one person. The worst thing about the hotel was the toilet. When you sit on the toilet seat, your face is practically right up against the wall. The shower is no better. The shower curtain keeps clinging to me as I bathe in the tiny cubicle. Apart from its location, the saving grace is the woman manning the reception desk, Kasha, who was kind enough to let us check in early. She is super nice and friendly. Another plus point of the hotel is that it has a lift (albeit a small one). I don't know about the breakfast as we didn't eat in the hotel, opting instead for the nice French bakery opposite the tube station. Will I stay at this hotel again or recommend it? Probably, and it's only because of its superb location.

Room Tip: Try and get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchengtuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

I travelled with my mum and we stayed seven nights. Our room was small, but we weren't expecting anything else. We had to live out of our suitcases as there are no shelves in the wardrobe, only a couple of hangers. The beds are comfortable, but we didn't get fresh sheets throughout our stay. The walls and ceiling are very thin, so it was impossible to get an uninterrupted night of sleep.
The bathroom was also incredibly small and uncomfortable, it didn't have a cupboard or a shelf, there was nowhere to put toiletries. We had fresh towels every day, but surprise, surprise, those were tiny too. For some reason, the cleaners were frugal with toilet paper and we had to go up to reception to ask for more.
The breakfast is very basic. Nutella, jams, honey, butter, baked beans and boiled eggs and you could make yourself toast. I overheard the receptionist saying to someone that it costs six pounds. Our booking included the breakfast, but I'd advise anyone staying here to go and spend that six pounds at Pret or Greggs on a more balanced breakfast.
All these shortcomings would have been forgivable if our room wasn't constantly damp and cold. It was in the basement so I'm guessing that all basement rooms are the same. I'm prone to respiratory infections so having to stay in a damp room was more than unfortunate.
The one great advantage of this hotel is its location, but otherwise it is below average and in need of refurbishment. The staff was very kind and attentive.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the basement.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank EmmaSally_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a dump

Awful

The rooms are tiny. The whole place is badly damaged and broken. The room we had was so small. The lift bangs all night The bathroom was broken. Toilet broken shower broken

I would seriously recommend to find somewhere else. The receptionist was nice. But it could not take away from the place being a complete disaster.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank alastair w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I was quite happy with the location of the hotel, very close to the underground, and restaurants.
Everything else was lacking:
- The room I stayed in (108) was tiny.
- The bathroom needed a scrub (see pic of basin attached)
- There is no shower door so the bathroom floor flooded when I showered.
- The walls are incredibly thin, so it was quite noisy (I could hear every sound from the people above me); and people in the hallways.

I would stay in the same area, but never again will I stay at Westbury.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Though the room was a bit cramped for four of us (myself, my wife and my daughter and son aged 22 and 18), best thing about the hotel was its location. Very conveniently situated walking distance from Earls Court station, for easy commute by tube to anywhere in London. Well maintained and clean rooms, though corridors were cramped and stairs a bit steep (had to lug along heavy luggage while going up the room as lift was malfunctioning at that time!)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Arunkumartn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#552 of 1,077 in London
802 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#767 of 1,077 in London
463 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#813 of 1,077 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,077 in London
1,078 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,077 in London
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Hotel Kensington

Address: 22-24 Collingham Place, London SW5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #752 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: €42 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westbury Hotel Kensington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, newly refurbished hotel with friendly staff - close to museums, Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition centers, underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westbury Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Kensington London
Westbury Kensington Hotel London
Westbury Hotel London
Westbury Hotel Kensington London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing